Best Liberal Arts Colleges in the Midwest (2026)
Updated
Regional list from Best Liberal Arts Colleges in the United States
This page ranks 103 schools offering Liberal Arts in the Midwest by median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. University of Chicago leads the list at $96,510, followed by Northwestern University at $93,180 and DePaul University at $86,444.
Across the 99 schools with a published figure, median earnings reach $50,968, with a spread of $80,958 from $96,510 to $15,552. For 11 of the listed schools the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
Public institutions make up 65% of the list, with 67 schools alongside 36 private nonprofits. Indiana University-Kokomo posts the lowest average net price at $3,968.
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor ranks 16th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, the strongest showing on the page.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median Liberal Arts Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Chicago · Chicago, IL | $96,510 | $14,860 | -$1,264* | 4.5% |
| University of Chicago reports $96,510 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 4%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (20 graduates) | |||||
| 2 | Northwestern University · Evanston, IL | $93,180 | $29,167 | $1,764 | 7.7% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 95%, Northwestern University posts median earnings of $93,180 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (6 graduates) | |||||
| 3 | DePaul University · Chicago, IL | $86,444 | $30,902 | $27,359 | 75.9% |
| DePaul University, a private nonprofit university in Chicago, ranks 3rd on this list with median earnings of $86,444 and an average net price of $30,902. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (67 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($86,444) | |||||
| 4 | William Jewell College · Liberty, MO | $72,507 | $17,562 | $12,909 | 38.4% |
| William Jewell College graduates 68% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $12,909 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (7 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($72,507) | |||||
| 5 | University of North Dakota · Grand Forks, ND | $71,538 | $18,551 | $13,126 | 76.9% |
| A public university in Grand Forks, University of North Dakota admits 77% of applicants and its Liberal Arts graduates earn a median of $71,538 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (101 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($71,538) | |||||
| 6 | Xavier University · Cincinnati, OH | $69,546 | $32,997 | $26,728 | 86.4% |
| Xavier University ranks 6th on this list and reports an average net price of $26,728 for families earning under $30,000 alongside median earnings of $69,546. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (44 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($69,546) | |||||
| 7 | University of Michigan-Ann Arbor · Ann Arbor, MI | $67,859 | $13,138 | $1,043 | 15.6% |
| University of Michigan-Ann Arbor holds the strongest Azimuth composite rank on the page, 16th among nonprofit four-year institutions, and reports an average net price of $1,043 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (53 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($67,859) | |||||
| 8 | Antioch University · Yellow Springs, OH | $66,596 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Antioch University reports median earnings of $66,596 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (35 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($66,596) | |||||
| 9 | Wayne State University · Detroit, MI | $66,426 | $12,766 | $11,090 | 81.2% |
| Wayne State University admits 81% of applicants and its Liberal Arts graduates earn a median of $66,426 four years after completing, with a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (12 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($66,426) | |||||
| 10 | University of Missouri-Columbia · Columbia, MO | $65,029 | $20,268 | $13,841 | 78.5% |
| University of Missouri-Columbia reports an average net price of $20,268 and a six-year completion rate of 75%, while its Liberal Arts graduates earn a median of $65,029 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (85 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($65,029) | |||||
| 11 | University of Indianapolis · Indianapolis, IN | $64,325 | $21,602 | $15,346 | 66.5% |
| Ranking 11th on this list, University of Indianapolis reports an average net price of $15,346 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (19 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($64,325) | |||||
| 12 | Buena Vista University · Storm Lake, IA | $63,832 | $18,846 | $12,901 | 77.6% |
| Buena Vista University admits 78% of applicants and its Liberal Arts graduates earn a median of $63,832 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (8 graduates) | |||||
| 13 | Oakland University · Rochester Hills, MI | $63,534 | $9,120 | $4,422 | 87.8% |
| Oakland University reports $63,534 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $9,120. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (133 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($63,534) | |||||
| 14 | Quincy University · Quincy, IL | $62,841 | $20,359 | $16,502 | 50.9% |
| A private nonprofit university in Quincy, Quincy University admits 51% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 45%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (7 graduates) | |||||
| 15 | University of Iowa · Iowa City, IA | $61,200 | $22,531 | $15,316 | 83.6% |
| University of Iowa ranks 15th on this list, with $61,200 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and an Azimuth composite rank of 184th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (183 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($61,200) | |||||
| 16 | Aurora University · Aurora, IL | $60,775 | $18,838 | $14,525 | 80.9% |
| Graduates of Aurora University earn a median of $60,775 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $14,525 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (35 graduates) | |||||
| 17 | University of Notre Dame · Notre Dame, IN | $60,369 | $26,780 | $7,244 | 11.3% |
| University of Notre Dame admits 11% of applicants, graduates 95% of its students within six years, and reports $60,369 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (32 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($60,369) | |||||
| 18 | University of Wisconsin-Whitewater · Whitewater, WI | $60,241 | $14,158 | $8,440 | 85.7% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 59%, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater reports $60,241 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (27 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($60,241) | |||||
| 19 | South Dakota State University · Brookings, SD | $60,081 | $19,841 | $14,266 | 98.3% |
| South Dakota State University admits 98% of applicants and its Liberal Arts graduates earn a median of $60,081 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (30 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($60,081) | |||||
| 20 | Baker College · Owosso, MI | $58,921 | $13,157 | $11,976 | 81.9% |
| Baker College ranks 20th on this list and reports an average net price of $13,157. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (48 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($58,921) | |||||
| 21 | University of Kansas · Lawrence, KS | $58,777 | $18,059 | $12,544 | 93.5% |
| A public university in Lawrence, University of Kansas posts $58,777 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $12,544 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (87 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($58,777) | |||||
| 22 | University of Wisconsin-Green Bay · Green Bay, WI | $58,093 | $13,369 | $9,144 | 88.6% |
| University of Wisconsin-Green Bay reports $58,093 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and an Azimuth composite rank of 606th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (128 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($58,093) | |||||
| 23 | Northern Illinois University · Dekalb, IL | $57,697 | $13,391 | $10,126 | 69.8% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 49%, Northern Illinois University reports $57,697 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $13,391. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (75 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($57,697) | |||||
| 24 | Columbia College · Columbia, MO | $57,034 | $22,715 | $23,967 | Not reported |
| Columbia College reports $57,034 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $23,967 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (264 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($57,034) | |||||
| 25 | University of Nebraska at Omaha · Omaha, NE | $55,947 | $13,441 | $10,534 | 87.0% |
| University of Nebraska at Omaha reports $55,947 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $13,441. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (399 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($55,947) | |||||
| 26 | Western Illinois University · Macomb, IL | $55,944 | $12,937 | $6,941 | 71.2% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 45%, Western Illinois University ranks 26th on this list. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (131 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($55,944) | |||||
| 27 | Northeastern Illinois University · Chicago, IL | $55,569 | $14,109 | $13,709 | 74.6% |
| Northeastern Illinois University, a public university in Chicago, admits 75% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 22%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (106 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($55,569) | |||||
| 28 | Saginaw Valley State University · University Center, MI | $55,558 | $10,775 | $9,844 | 72.1% |
| Saginaw Valley State University shows $55,558 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $10,775. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (34 graduates) | |||||
| 29 | Iowa State University · Ames, IA | $54,889 | $18,589 | $10,582 | 88.7% |
| Iowa State University reports a six-year completion rate of 75% and $54,889 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (70 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($54,889) | |||||
| 30 | Ferris State University · Big Rapids, MI | $54,837 | $8,624 | $2,556 | 91.4% |
| Ferris State University carries an average net price of $8,624 and reports $54,837 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (43 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($54,837) | |||||
| 31 | Saint Xavier University · Chicago, IL | $54,826 | $10,970 | $7,572 | 84.3% |
| Saint Xavier University ranks 176th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports $54,826 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (19 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($54,826) | |||||
| 32 | Ohio State University-Main Campus · Columbus, OH | $54,529 | $17,339 | $4,885 | 60.6% |
| Ohio State University-Main Campus admits 61% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 88%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (12 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($54,529) | |||||
| 33 | University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire · Eau Claire, WI | $53,957 | $16,550 | $10,270 | 82.3% |
| University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire reports $53,957 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $10,270 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (7 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($53,957) | |||||
| 34 | Kent State University at Kent · Kent, OH | $53,833 | $20,787 | $15,280 | 86.3% |
| Kent State University at Kent ranks 34th on this list and shows a six-year completion rate of 64%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (93 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($53,833) | |||||
| 35 | Alverno College · Milwaukee, WI | $53,631 | $22,540 | $22,032 | 85.7% |
| Alverno College, a private nonprofit college in Milwaukee, reports $53,631 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (30 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($53,631) | |||||
| 36 | Indiana University-East · Richmond, IN | $53,389 | $8,134 | $5,154 | 67.2% |
| Indiana University-East carries an average net price of $8,134 and reports $53,389 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (39 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($53,389) | |||||
| 37 | Ohio University-Main Campus · Athens, OH | $53,206 | $21,637 | $15,673 | 85.0% |
| Ohio University-Main Campus reports median earnings of $53,206 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 85%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (77 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($53,206) | |||||
| 38 | Fort Hays State University · Hays, KS | $53,176 | $12,569 | $7,661 | 90.3% |
| With an average net price of $12,569, Fort Hays State University graduates 48% of its students within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (174 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($53,176) | |||||
| 39 | Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion · Marion, IN | $52,784 | $22,866 | $19,793 | 88.9% |
| A private nonprofit university in Marion, Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion ranks 39th on this list and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 753rd among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (20 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($52,784) | |||||
| 40 | University of Missouri-Kansas City · Kansas City, MO | $52,117 | $13,310 | $10,576 | 72.2% |
| University of Missouri-Kansas City posts a six-year completion rate of 55% and median earnings of $52,117 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (120 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($52,117) | |||||
| 41 | Eastern Illinois University · Charleston, IL | $52,078 | $12,786 | $9,828 | 65.4% |
| Eastern Illinois University admits 65% of applicants and reports an average net price of $9,828 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (102 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($52,078) | |||||
| 42 | Indiana University-Bloomington · Bloomington, IN | $52,020 | $16,264 | $6,324 | 78.2% |
| Indiana University-Bloomington reports median earnings of $52,020 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate reaches 80%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (189 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($52,020) | |||||
| 43 | University of Central Missouri · Warrensburg, MO | $51,897 | $14,462 | $10,965 | 63.8% |
| Ranking 43rd on this list, University of Central Missouri has an admission rate of 64% and an average net price of $14,462. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (69 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($51,897) | |||||
| 44 | Indiana University-Indianapolis · Indianapolis, IN | $51,718 | $11,668 | $5,701 | 76.4% |
| Indiana University-Indianapolis reports an average net price of $5,701 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $51,718 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (188 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($51,718) | |||||
| 45 | University of Northern Iowa · Cedar Falls, IA | $51,712 | $15,901 | $10,863 | 92.7% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 68%, University of Northern Iowa ranks 435th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (57 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($51,712) | |||||
| 46 | Grand Valley State University · Allendale, MI | $51,497 | $16,317 | $12,272 | 83.0% |
| Grand Valley State University admits 83% of applicants and reports median earnings of $51,497 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (95 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($51,497) | |||||
| 47 | Michigan State University · East Lansing, MI | $51,436 | $19,680 | $7,068 | 84.8% |
| Michigan State University posts a six-year completion rate of 81% and an average net price of $7,068 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (28 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($51,436) | |||||
| 48 | Purdue University Northwest · Hammond, IN | $51,349 | $6,079 | $1,432 | 72.4% |
| Purdue University Northwest reports an average net price of $6,079 and median earnings of $51,349 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (31 graduates) | |||||
| 49 | University of Missouri-St Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $51,187 | $15,071 | $13,031 | 62.7% |
| University of Missouri-St Louis, a public university in Saint Louis, reports median earnings of $51,187 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (70 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($51,187) | |||||
| 50 | Indiana State University · Terre Haute, IN | $50,968 | $10,873 | $6,455 | 80.8% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 43%, Indiana State University ranks 50th on this list and posts an average net price of $10,873. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (54 graduates) | |||||
| 51 | University of Mary · Bismarck, ND | $50,827 | $17,770 | $11,593 | 75.3% |
| University of Mary admits 75% of applicants and its Liberal Arts graduates earn a median of $50,827 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (26 graduates) | |||||
| 52 | Illinois State University · Normal, IL | $50,744 | $19,398 | $11,568 | 88.2% |
| Illinois State University ranks 137th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $50,744 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (91 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($50,744) | |||||
| 53 | Spring Arbor University · Spring Arbor, MI | $50,735 | $19,353 | $14,530 | 51.5% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Spring Arbor, Spring Arbor University shows an average net price of $19,353 and a six-year completion rate of 64%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (15 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($50,735) | |||||
| 54 | Emporia State University · Emporia, KS | $50,717 | $16,261 | $11,452 | 97.7% |
| Emporia State University admits 98% of applicants and its Liberal Arts graduates earn a median of $50,717 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (33 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($50,717) | |||||
| 55 | Governors State University · University Park, IL | $50,703 | $12,329 | $9,563 | 48.3% |
| Governors State University reports an average net price of $12,329 and median earnings of $50,703 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (103 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($50,703) | |||||
| 56 | Maranatha Baptist University · Watertown, WI | $50,521 | $26,005 | $24,786 | 71.9% |
| Maranatha Baptist University ranks 56th on this list, with an average net price of $26,005 and a six-year completion rate of 64%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (8 graduates) | |||||
| 57 | University of South Dakota · Vermillion, SD | $50,306 | $19,858 | $14,921 | 98.8% |
| University of South Dakota admits 99% of applicants and its Liberal Arts graduates earn a median of $50,306 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (53 graduates) | |||||
| 58 | Siena Heights University · Adrian, MI | $50,173 | $17,124 | $15,624 | 68.9% |
| Siena Heights University ranks 763rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $50,173 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (19 graduates) | |||||
| 59 | Indiana University-Kokomo · Kokomo, IN | $49,893 | $3,968 | -$583* | 86.5% |
| Indiana University-Kokomo posts the lowest average net price on the page at $3,968 and reports median earnings of $49,893 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (51 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($49,893) | |||||
| 60 | University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh · Oshkosh, WI | $49,759 | $14,305 | $9,236 | 86.5% |
| University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh reports an average net price of $14,305 and a six-year completion rate of 46%, with its Liberal Arts graduates earning a median of $49,759 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (22 graduates) | |||||
| 61 | Ball State University · Muncie, IN | $49,657 | $14,940 | $7,834 | 85.5% |
| Ball State University reports median earnings of $49,657 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $14,940. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (171 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($49,657) | |||||
| 62 | Indiana University-Southeast · New Albany, IN | $49,376 | $7,888 | $3,782 | 84.5% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 39%, Indiana University-Southeast ranks 62nd on this list and carries an average net price of $7,888. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (80 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($49,376) | |||||
| 63 | University of Michigan-Dearborn · Dearborn, MI | $49,268 | $9,492 | $7,211 | 55.6% |
| University of Michigan-Dearborn admits 56% of applicants and posts median earnings of $49,268 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (17 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($49,268) | |||||
| 64 | Grand View University · Des Moines, IA | $49,263 | $21,774 | $18,512 | 99.1% |
| A private nonprofit university in Des Moines, Grand View University ranks 727th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $21,774. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (21 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($49,263) | |||||
| 65 | Minot State University · Minot, ND | $48,885 | $12,703 | $9,492 | 64.6% |
| Minot State University shows median earnings of $48,885 four years after completing a Liberal Arts degree, alongside an average net price of $9,492 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (24 graduates) | |||||
| 66 | Saint Louis University · Saint Louis, MO | No published median | $24,398 | $22,501 | 75.0% |
| Saint Louis University graduates 80% of its students within six years and ranks 498th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (12 graduates) | |||||
| 67 | Indiana University-South Bend · South Bend, IN | $48,815 | $8,653 | $4,637 | 83.8% |
| Indiana University-South Bend reports an average net price of $8,653 and median earnings of $48,815 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (45 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($48,815) | |||||
| 68 | Missouri State University-Springfield · Springfield, MO | $47,696 | $17,613 | $13,718 | 90.5% |
| With an admission rate of 91%, Missouri State University-Springfield ranks 68th on this list and shows a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (70 graduates) | |||||
| 69 | University of Nebraska at Kearney · Kearney, NE | $47,600 | $16,242 | $13,066 | 89.5% |
| University of Nebraska at Kearney posts median earnings of $47,600 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $13,066 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (62 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($47,600) | |||||
| 70 | Indiana University-Northwest · Gary, IN | $47,530 | $5,130 | $1,419 | 73.4% |
| Indiana University-Northwest carries an average net price of $5,130 and reports median earnings of $47,530 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (35 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($47,530) | |||||
| 71 | Missouri Baptist University · Saint Louis, MO | $47,210 | $27,006 | $21,808 | 68.6% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Saint Louis, Missouri Baptist University ranks 1394th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 69% of applicants. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (17 graduates) | |||||
| 72 | Missouri Southern State University · Joplin, MO | $46,892 | $12,007 | $9,759 | 97.0% |
| Missouri Southern State University reports a six-year completion rate of 42% and median earnings of $46,892 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (89 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($46,892) | |||||
| 73 | Youngstown State University · Youngstown, OH | $46,399 | $12,767 | $9,328 | 84.5% |
| Youngstown State University reports $46,399 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and an average annual net price of $12,767. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (105 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($46,399) | |||||
| 74 | Simpson College · Indianola, IA | $46,237 | $21,936 | $17,941 | 86.2% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 63%, Simpson College ranks 74th on this list. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (20 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($46,237) | |||||
| 75 | Aquinas College · Grand Rapids, MI | $46,148 | $16,626 | $10,725 | 89.9% |
| Aquinas College, a private nonprofit school in Grand Rapids, admits 90% of applicants and posts a median of $46,148 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (15 graduates) | |||||
| 76 | University of Dayton · Dayton, OH | $45,696 | $29,533 | $21,736 | 65.5% |
| University of Dayton reports $45,696 two years after completing and an average net price of $21,736 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (5 graduates) | |||||
| 77 | Southeast Missouri State University · Cape Girardeau, MO | $45,383 | $15,882 | $12,704 | 73.5% |
| Southeast Missouri State University ranks 632nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (118 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($45,383) | |||||
| 78 | Bethel University · Mishawaka, IN | $45,366 | $18,610 | $17,580 | 97.7% |
| Bethel University reports $45,366 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing alongside an admission rate of 98%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (16 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($45,366) | |||||
| 79 | Purdue University Fort Wayne · Fort Wayne, IN | $44,299 | $13,171 | $8,306 | 83.9% |
| Purdue University Fort Wayne posts an average net price of $13,171 and a median of $44,299 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (75 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($44,299) | |||||
| 80 | Ohio Christian University · Circleville, OH | $43,805 | $20,607 | $22,113 | 38.0% |
| Ohio Christian University admits 38% of applicants and reports $43,805 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (22 graduates) | |||||
| 81 | Wichita State University · Wichita, KS | $43,452 | $13,194 | $9,734 | 94.0% |
| Wichita State University ranks 330th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows an average net price of $13,194. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (72 graduates) | |||||
| 82 | Southern Illinois University-Carbondale · Carbondale, IL | $43,236 | $13,297 | $9,415 | 86.9% |
| Southern Illinois University-Carbondale reports $43,236 four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 62%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (44 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($43,236) | |||||
| 83 | University of Illinois Springfield · Springfield, IL | $43,026 | $9,833 | $5,778 | 85.9% |
| University of Illinois Springfield posts an average net price of $5,778 for families earning under $30,000 and a median of $43,026 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (9 graduates) | |||||
| 84 | Bowling Green State University-Main Campus · Bowling Green, OH | $42,463 | $24,022 | $18,396 | 81.0% |
| Bowling Green State University-Main Campus admits 81% of applicants and reports $42,463 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (56 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($42,463) | |||||
| 85 | Anderson University · Anderson, IN | $41,966 | $25,021 | $23,119 | 79.3% |
| Anderson University, a private nonprofit university in Anderson, reports a six-year completion rate of 54% and an average net price of $25,021. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (11 graduates) | |||||
| 86 | University of Akron Main Campus · Akron, OH | $41,900 | $13,946 | $10,413 | 59.7% |
| University of Akron Main Campus posts median earnings of $41,900 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $13,946. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (12 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($41,900) | |||||
| 87 | Friends University · Wichita, KS | No published median | $27,715 | $21,714 | 55.2% |
| Friends University admits 55% of applicants and carries an average net price of $21,714 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (39 graduates) | |||||
| 88 | Shawnee State University · Portsmouth, OH | $41,424 | $14,381 | $12,310 | Not reported |
| With a six-year completion rate of 48%, Shawnee State University reports median earnings of $41,424 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (21 graduates) | |||||
| 89 | Dakota State University · Madison, SD | No published median | $21,057 | $17,317 | 88.1% |
| Dakota State University ranks 1021st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows an admission rate of 88%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (15 graduates) | |||||
| 90 | Lincoln University · Jefferson City, MO | $40,887 | $19,092 | $20,070 | Not reported |
| Lincoln University reports $40,887 in median earnings for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and has a six-year completion rate of 21%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (20 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($40,887) | |||||
| 91 | Purdue University-Main Campus · West Lafayette, IN | $40,017 | $14,600 | $5,098 | 49.9% |
| Purdue University-Main Campus reports median earnings of $40,017 for its Liberal Arts graduates two years after completing, with a six-year completion rate of 83%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (11 graduates) | |||||
| 92 | Mayville State University · Mayville, ND | $38,553 | $11,456 | $5,971 | Not reported |
| Mayville State University shows an average net price of $5,971 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $38,553 four years after completing a Liberal Arts degree. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (17 graduates) | |||||
| 93 | University of St Thomas · Saint Paul, MN | $38,289 | $29,155 | $28,131 | 85.4% |
| A private nonprofit university in Saint Paul, University of St Thomas admits 85% of applicants and reports median earnings of $38,289 two years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (5 graduates) | |||||
| 94 | University of Toledo · Toledo, OH | $34,428 | $17,249 | $13,524 | 92.0% |
| University of Toledo posts an admission rate of 92% and median earnings of $34,428 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (103 graduates) | |||||
| 95 | Bemidji State University · Bemidji, MN | $33,993 | $15,261 | $10,073 | 56.0% |
| Bemidji State University reports median earnings of $33,993 for its Liberal Arts graduates two years after completing, alongside an average net price of $15,261. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (5 graduates) | |||||
| 96 | Graceland University-Lamoni · Lamoni, IA | $33,993 | $18,504 | $15,875 | 80.8% |
| Graceland University-Lamoni ranks 613th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports a six-year completion rate of 42%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (8 graduates) | |||||
| 97 | University of Cincinnati-Main Campus · Cincinnati, OH | No published median | $25,648 | $17,974 | 85.3% |
| University of Cincinnati-Main Campus admits 85% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 75%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (18 graduates) | |||||
| 98 | Lindenwood University · Saint Charles, MO | $33,138 | $19,638 | $15,678 | 56.8% |
| Lindenwood University reports median earnings of $33,138 for its Liberal Arts graduates two years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (30 graduates) | |||||
| 99 | Chicago State University · Chicago, IL | $32,391 | $12,335 | $9,073 | 43.3% |
| A public university in Chicago, Chicago State University carries an average net price of $12,335. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (44 graduates) | |||||
| 100 | Lewis University · Romeoville, IL | $28,309 | $17,028 | $10,382 | 71.3% |
| Lewis University ranks 100th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 67%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (6 graduates) | |||||
| 101 | Cornerstone University · Grand Rapids, MI | $25,194 | $20,301 | $20,177 | 77.8% |
| Cornerstone University shows an average net price of $20,177 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (8 graduates) | |||||
| 102 | Lake Superior State University · Sault Ste Marie, MI | $21,508 | $12,822 | $3,516 | Not reported |
| Lake Superior State University reports median earnings of $21,508 for its Liberal Arts graduates two years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (7 graduates) | |||||
| 103 | Mount St. Joseph University · Cincinnati, OH | $15,552 | $16,530 | $11,689 | 59.1% |
| Mount St. Joseph University admits 59% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 56%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (8 graduates) | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Liberal Arts earnings cohort in the Midwest appear. The figure captures federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after finishing. For 11 of the 103 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 99 schools with a published figure. University of Chicago leads at $96,510, with Northwestern University trailing by $3,330 at $93,180, while the spread from top to bottom reaches $80,958.