College research / Rankings

Best Liberal Arts Colleges in the Northeast (2026)

Updated

Regional list from Best Liberal Arts Colleges in the United States

This page ranks the 80 schools in the Northeast by the median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing. Massachusetts Institute of Technology leads at $147,998, followed by Yale University at $113,788 and Bentley University at $105,183.

Across the 78 schools with a published figure, median earnings range from $147,998 to $21,052, with a median of $52,891.

The list includes 36 public and 44 private nonprofit institutions. CUNY Bernard M Baruch College reports the lowest average net price at $3,033, while CUNY Bernard M Baruch College ranks 2nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology posts the highest six-year completion rate at 96%.

The ranked list

80 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian Liberal Arts EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Massachusetts Institute of Technology · Cambridge, MA$147,998$20,111-$2,5334.6%
Massachusetts Institute of Technology reports $147,998 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing, the highest figure on this list, alongside a 96% six-year completion rate.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (11 graduates)

2Yale University · New Haven, CT$113,788$23,777$17,6333.9%
With an admission rate of 4%, Yale University is the most selective school on the page and posts median earnings of $113,788 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (16 graduates)

3Bentley University · Waltham, MA$105,183$37,930$21,19645.1%
Bentley University ranks 3rd on this list with median earnings of $105,183, and its six-year completion rate sits at 87%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (80 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($105,183)

4Champlain College · Burlington, VT$91,533$35,860$28,88582.9%
A private nonprofit university in Burlington, Champlain College shows an average net price of $35,860 and a six-year completion rate of 65%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (24 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($91,533)

5Drexel University · Philadelphia, PA$84,166$38,509$28,05579.4%
Drexel University reports median earnings of $84,166 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing, well above the list median of $52,891.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (43 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($84,166)

6University of Hartford · West Hartford, CT$80,775$30,282$25,92595.8%
University of Hartford admits 96% of applicants and reports an average net price of $25,925 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (24 graduates)

7University of Massachusetts-Amherst · Amherst, MA$73,242$22,383$10,16459.7%
Reporting median earnings of $73,242, University of Massachusetts-Amherst also shows an average net price of $10,164 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (82 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($73,242)

8Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia · Philadelphia, PA$72,048$29,689$22,57088.8%
Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia ranks 8th on this list and shows a six-year completion rate of 79% alongside median earnings of $72,048.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (22 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($72,048)

9Wesleyan University · Middletown, CT$71,932$30,177$4,87116.5%
Wesleyan University reports an average net price of $4,871 for families earning under $30,000 and a 93% six-year completion rate.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (11 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($71,932)

10Molloy University · Rockville Centre, NY$71,097$24,347$17,54881.7%
Molloy University posts median earnings of $71,097 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and ranks 212th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (26 graduates)

11CUNY Bernard M Baruch College · New York, NY$68,471$3,033$60747.5%
CUNY Bernard M Baruch College holds the lowest average net price on the page at $3,033 and ranks 2nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (22 graduates)

12Sacred Heart University · Fairfield, CT$68,092$46,174$38,69165.4%
Sacred Heart University reports median earnings of $68,092 and an average net price of $38,691 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (22 graduates)

13Seton Hall University · South Orange, NJ$67,522$31,446$19,62373.3%
Seton Hall University, a private nonprofit university in South Orange, reports $67,522 in median earnings for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (123 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($67,522)

14New York University · New York, NY$66,502$37,050$16,9779.2%
With an admission rate of 9%, New York University ranks 14th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 88%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (549 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($66,502)

15Pace University · New York, NY$65,637$30,892$26,47375.9%
Pace University shows an average net price of $30,892 alongside median earnings of $65,637 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (31 graduates)

16St. Francis College · Brooklyn, NY$64,725$18,129$15,700Not reported
St. Francis College in Brooklyn carries an average net price of $18,129 and a six-year completion rate of 55%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (12 graduates)

17Thomas Edison State University · Trenton, NJ$64,011Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
A public institution in Trenton, Thomas Edison State University ranks 215th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $64,011 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (435 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($64,011)

18Rochester Institute of Technology · Rochester, NY$63,845$34,906$24,68066.9%
Rochester Institute of Technology admits 67% of applicants and reports median earnings of $63,845 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (92 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($63,845)

19The New School · New York, NY$62,976$58,741$50,14063.5%
The New School posts an average net price of $50,140 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 69%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (90 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($62,976)

20Providence College · Providence, RI$62,111$48,523$28,15250.9%
Providence College in Providence graduates 86% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $62,111 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (11 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($62,111)

21Carnegie Mellon University · Pittsburgh, PA$62,027$31,944$9,09711.7%
Carnegie Mellon University ranks 106th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $9,097 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (26 graduates)

22CUNY Medgar Evers College · Brooklyn, NY$61,987$5,718$4,36886.1%
CUNY Medgar Evers College, a public institution in Brooklyn, reports median earnings of $61,987 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $5,718.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (10 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($61,987)

23Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus · Teaneck, NJ$60,525$15,404$10,21890.7%
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus admits 91% of applicants and reports an average net price of $10,218 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (233 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($60,525)

24University of Connecticut · Storrs, CT$60,092$25,097$15,19352.4%
University of Connecticut ranks 105th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $60,092 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (105 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($60,092)

25Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus · University Park, PA$58,195$32,875$19,84560.6%
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus reports $58,195 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 86%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (13 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($58,195)

26CUNY City College · New York, NY$58,063$3,776$1,25160.0%
With an average net price of $3,776, CUNY City College ranks 26th on this list and 48th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (87 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($58,063)

27Neumann University · Aston, PA$57,721$27,804$24,46781.3%
A private nonprofit university in Aston, Neumann University posts a six-year completion rate of 54% alongside median earnings of $57,721 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (55 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($57,721)

28American International College · Springfield, MA$57,510$23,274$24,43799.6%
American International College admits 100% of applicants and reports $57,510 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (11 graduates)

29University of Bridgeport · Bridgeport, CT$56,700$27,807$27,23883.0%
University of Bridgeport shows an average net price of $27,807 and median earnings of $56,700 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (39 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($56,700)

30Endicott College · Beverly, MA$55,369$40,654$29,78071.2%
Graduates of Endicott College earn a median of $55,369 four years after completing, and the school's six-year completion rate stands at 76%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (33 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($55,369)

31Worcester State University · Worcester, MA$55,273$13,381$8,79388.0%
Worcester State University ranks 31st on this list with an average net price of $13,381.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (44 graduates)

32Indiana University of Pennsylvania · Indiana, PA$54,958$16,804$12,36490.8%
Indiana University of Pennsylvania reports $54,958 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and admits 91% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (33 graduates)

33Thomas More College of Liberal Arts · Merrimack, NH$54,805$18,489$10,433Not reported
With a six-year completion rate of 62%, Thomas More College of Liberal Arts posts median earnings of $54,805 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (16 graduates)

34Rider University · Lawrenceville, NJ$54,724$24,792$15,82478.6%
Rider University ranks 34th on this page and 852nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $24,792.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (15 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($54,724)

35Stockton University · Galloway, NJ$54,628$20,670$15,13588.9%
A public university in Galloway, Stockton University reports $54,628 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 69%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (136 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($54,628)

36William Paterson University of New Jersey · Wayne, NJ$54,607$18,745$16,17190.1%
William Paterson University of New Jersey admits 90% of applicants and shows an average net price of $16,171 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (68 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($54,607)

37Southern Connecticut State University · New Haven, CT$53,411$20,857$17,73691.5%
Southern Connecticut State University, a public university in New Haven, reports median earnings of $53,411 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (159 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($53,411)

38Rowan University · Glassboro, NJ$53,266$22,408$15,30577.7%
With a six-year completion rate of 67%, Rowan University ranks 38th on this list and posts median Liberal Arts earnings of $53,266 four years after graduating.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (149 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($53,266)

39Villanova University · Villanova, PA$53,181$43,756$17,82327.0%
Villanova University admits 27% of applicants and its Liberal Arts graduates earn a median of $53,181 four years after completing, placing the school 39th on this page.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (49 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($53,181)

40St. John's University-New York · Queens, NY$52,601$29,999$27,78783.4%
St. John's University-New York carries an average net price of $29,999 and its Liberal Arts graduates earn a median of $52,601 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (6 graduates)

41St. Joseph's University-New York · Brooklyn, NY$52,543$19,035$16,87672.1%
An average net price of $16,876 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median Liberal Arts earnings of $52,543 at St. Joseph's University-New York, which ranks 41st on this list.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (43 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($52,543)

42State University of New York at Plattsburgh · Plattsburgh, NY$52,108$17,156$9,40078.4%
State University of New York at Plattsburgh reports a six-year completion rate of 59% and median Liberal Arts earnings of $52,108 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (14 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($52,108)

43Westfield State University · Westfield, MA$51,730$16,721$10,75181.4%
Ranking 43rd on this page, Westfield State University shows median Liberal Arts earnings of $51,730 four years after graduating and an average net price of $16,721.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (129 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($51,730)

44University of Massachusetts-Lowell · Lowell, MA$51,492$17,163$9,94383.0%
University of Massachusetts-Lowell holds an Azimuth composite rank of 142nd among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median Liberal Arts earnings of $51,492 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (87 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($51,492)

45Montclair State University · Montclair, NJ$51,469$15,566$10,88087.9%
With an admission rate of 88%, Montclair State University ranks 45th on this list and its Liberal Arts graduates earn a median of $51,469 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (34 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($51,469)

46University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth · North Dartmouth, MA$51,406$20,927$15,97690.6%
University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth posts median Liberal Arts earnings of $51,406 four years after graduating and an average net price of $15,976 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (17 graduates)

47SUNY Old Westbury · Old Westbury, NY$51,363$11,282$6,64583.6%
Ranking 47th on this page, SUNY Old Westbury reports median Liberal Arts earnings of $51,363 four years after completing and an average net price of $11,282.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (25 graduates)

48Framingham State University · Framingham, MA$50,600$16,114$11,93483.6%
Framingham State University admits 84% of applicants and its Liberal Arts graduates earn a median of $50,600 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (52 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($50,600)

49Temple University · Philadelphia, PA$50,536$28,198$22,69480.4%
Temple University reports median earnings of $50,536 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate stands at 75%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (24 graduates)

50University of Maine at Augusta · Augusta, ME$49,821$10,924$9,421Not reported
With an average net price of $10,924, University of Maine at Augusta ranks 50th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 27%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (94 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($49,821)

51College of Staten Island CUNY · Staten Island, NY$49,129$5,579$3,90392.3%
College of Staten Island CUNY admits 92% of applicants and carries an average net price of $5,579, while its Liberal Arts graduates earn a median of $49,129 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (42 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($49,129)

52University of Southern Maine · Portland, ME$48,909$13,596$9,99979.2%
University of Southern Maine graduates 40% of its students within six years, and the median earnings of its Liberal Arts completers reach $48,909 four years after graduating.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (34 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($48,909)

53Eastern Connecticut State University · Willimantic, CT$48,418$21,067$17,65483.0%
A public university in Willimantic, Eastern Connecticut State University reports an average net price of $21,067 and a six-year completion rate of 58%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (48 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($48,418)

54Sarah Lawrence College · Bronxville, NY$48,225$41,437$29,87661.7%
Sarah Lawrence College, a private nonprofit college in Bronxville, shows median earnings of $48,225 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 62%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (318 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($48,225)

55SUNY at Purchase College · Purchase, NY$47,922$18,913$11,83574.1%
SUNY at Purchase College ranks 55th on this list, with its Liberal Arts graduates earning a median of $47,922 four years after completing and an average net price of $18,913.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (33 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($47,922)

56SUNY Buffalo State University · Buffalo, NY$46,705$11,346$7,40573.0%
With an admission rate of 73%, SUNY Buffalo State University reports median earnings of $46,705 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (109 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($46,705)

57Mercy University · Dobbs Ferry, NYNo published median$14,072$11,97485.8%
Mercy University admits 86% of applicants and graduates 46% of its students within six years, while its average net price is $14,072.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (76 graduates)

58Cornell University · Ithaca, NYNo published median$28,690$1,7768.8%
Cornell University holds an admission rate of 9% and a six-year completion rate of 95%, alongside an average net price of $28,690.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (18 graduates)

59Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania · Bloomsburg, PA$46,030$15,699$11,37493.1%
Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania reports median earnings of $46,030 for its Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 54%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (43 graduates)

60Lesley University · Cambridge, MA$45,293$31,152$24,79996.9%
Lesley University admits 97% of applicants, and its Liberal Arts graduates earn a median of $45,293 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (49 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($45,293)

61University of Maine · Orono, ME$45,094$17,510$12,64296.6%
University of Maine reports $45,094 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $17,510.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (39 graduates)

62State University of New York at Cortland · Cortland, NY$44,687$22,345$12,55059.8%
With a six-year completion rate of 68%, State University of New York at Cortland ranks 62nd on this list.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (38 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($44,687)

63Pennsylvania Western University · California, PA$44,180$18,256$13,94494.3%
Pennsylvania Western University, a public university in California, admits 94% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 52%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (220 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($44,180)

64Hobart William Smith Colleges · Geneva, NY$42,682$31,563$14,65064.0%
Hobart William Smith Colleges posts median earnings of $42,682 for its Liberal Arts graduates two years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (10 graduates)

65Centenary University · Hackettstown, NJ$42,424$20,503$13,32983.1%
Centenary University reports $42,424 in median earnings of Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $13,329 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (11 graduates)

66Roberts Wesleyan University · Rochester, NY$40,527$23,130$22,92270.6%
Roberts Wesleyan University ranks 1015th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and has a 67% six-year completion rate.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (6 graduates)

67Misericordia University · Dallas, PA$38,289$37,485$36,75970.9%
Misericordia University reports median earnings of $38,289 for its Liberal Arts graduates two years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (6 graduates)

68Bay Path University · Longmeadow, MA$37,411$14,271$11,94885.2%
Bay Path University admits 85% of applicants and reports an average net price of $14,271.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (19 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($37,411)

69CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice · New York, NY$34,704$3,203$1,07357.1%
CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice reports median earnings of $34,704 for its Liberal Arts graduates two years after completing and an average net price of $1,073 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (13 graduates)

70University of Scranton · Scranton, PA$32,029$32,568$23,89681.2%
University of Scranton has an 80% six-year completion rate and an average net price of $32,568.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (8 graduates)

71University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus · Pittsburgh, PA$31,305$30,434$14,70958.1%
Graduating 86% of its students within six years, University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus reports median earnings of $31,305 for its Liberal Arts graduates two years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (18 graduates)

72Mitchell College · New London, CT$31,133$30,260$26,48594.7%
Mitchell College admits 95% of applicants and reports an average net price of $26,485 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (8 graduates)

73West Chester University of Pennsylvania · West Chester, PA$30,771$23,331$17,01878.4%
West Chester University of Pennsylvania reports $30,771 in median earnings for its Liberal Arts graduates two years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 71%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (126 graduates)

74Salem State University · Salem, MA$28,236$15,996$10,51695.9%
Salem State University admits 96% of applicants and carries an average net price of $15,996.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (9 graduates)

75Daemen University · Amherst, NY$28,236$18,693$10,77368.3%
A private nonprofit university in Amherst, Daemen University ranks 492nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (46 graduates)

76Mercyhurst University · Erie, PA$27,439$19,444$22,62681.0%
Mercyhurst University posts a six-year completion rate of 60% and an average net price of $22,626 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (7 graduates)

77Dean College · Franklin, MA$26,933$30,684$26,99673.7%
Dean College reports $26,933 in median earnings for its Liberal Arts graduates two years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 74%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (5 graduates)

78Utica University · Utica, NY$23,649$19,108$13,29092.0%
Utica University reports a six-year completion rate of 56% and an average net price of $19,108.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (11 graduates)

79Fordham University · Bronx, NY$21,894$44,338$32,47459.3%
Fordham University reports $21,894 in median earnings for its Liberal Arts graduates two years after completing, and its six-year completion rate reaches 82%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (17 graduates)

80State University of New York at New Paltz · New Paltz, NY$21,052$18,809$10,54161.6%
A public university in New Paltz, State University of New York at New Paltz ranks 462nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (14 graduates)

* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Liberal Arts graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Liberal Arts earnings cohort in the Northeast appear. The figure captures federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after finishing. For 14 of the 80 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 78 schools with a published figure. The gap between first-ranked Massachusetts Institute of Technology and second-ranked Yale University is $34,210.