Top Computer and Information Sciences Programs in the South
Updated
Part of Best Computer Science Colleges in the South
This page ranks 138 Computer and Information Sciences programs in the South by median earnings of Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. Johns Hopkins University ranks 1st on this list, reporting median earnings of $196,467 for its graduates four years after completing.
Across the 137 schools with a published figure, median earnings range from $196,467 to $26,353, with a median of $82,116. For 13 of the listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
Public institutions account for 82% of the list, with 113 public and 25 private nonprofit schools represented. The University of Texas at Austin ranks 9th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. Berea College posts the lowest average net price, at $6,106.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Johns Hopkins University · Baltimore, MD | $196,467 | $18,809 | $428 | 6.4% |
| Johns Hopkins University reports median earnings of $196,467 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, the highest figure on this list. | |||||
| 2 | Rice University · Houston, TX | $182,443 | $13,370 | $5,827 | 8.0% |
| Rice University admits 8% of applicants and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $182,443 four years after completing. | |||||
| 3 | The University of Texas at Austin · Austin, TX | $155,168 | $19,857 | $12,553 | 26.6% |
| The University of Texas at Austin ranks 9th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $155,168 four years after completing. | |||||
| 4 | Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus · Atlanta, GA | $150,628 | $12,116 | $7,666 | 14.1% |
| Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus posts a median of $150,628 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $12,116. | |||||
| 5 | Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University · Blacksburg, VA | $144,103 | $24,953 | $11,689 | 54.8% |
| Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University graduates in the earnings cohort number 366, and the program's median earnings four years after completing reach $144,103. | |||||
| 6 | University of Virginia-Main Campus · Charlottesville, VA | $142,041 | $21,565 | $8,174 | 16.8% |
| University of Virginia-Main Campus carries a median federal debt of $16,547 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed, and its graduates earn a median of $142,041 four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | University of Florida · Gainesville, FL | $126,268 | $6,541 | $1,982 | 24.2% |
| With an average net price of $6,541, University of Florida reports median earnings of $126,268 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 8 | Virginia Commonwealth University · Richmond, VA | $118,521 | $23,433 | $17,512 | 92.6% |
| Virginia Commonwealth University admits 93% of applicants, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $118,521 four years after completing. | |||||
| 9 | Rollins College · Winter Park, FL | $118,277 | $34,732 | $27,177 | 47.5% |
| Rollins College, a private nonprofit college in Winter Park, reports median earnings of $118,277 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 10 | The University of Alabama · Tuscaloosa, AL | $115,980 | $22,420 | $19,169 | 76.7% |
| The University of Alabama ranks 10th on this list, with median earnings of $115,980 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 11 | Texas Tech University · Lubbock, TX | $113,062 | $19,070 | $12,457 | 72.7% |
| Texas Tech University posts a median of $113,062 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $19,070. | |||||
| 12 | University of Richmond · University Of Richmond, VA | $112,621 | $31,309 | $12,808 | 22.2% |
| University of Richmond carries a median federal debt of $24,500 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $112,621 four years after completing. | |||||
| 13 | University of Delaware · Newark, DE | $111,520 | $17,799 | $10,901 | 70.6% |
| Reporting median earnings of $111,520 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, University of Delaware posts an average net price of $17,799. | |||||
| 14 | George Mason University · Fairfax, VA | $110,754 | $17,915 | $11,942 | 87.5% |
| An admission rate of 87% at George Mason University coincides with median earnings of $110,754 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 15 | The University of Texas at San Antonio · San Antonio, TX | $106,358 | $10,836 | $7,870 | 86.8% |
| Median federal debt of $20,892 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed is reported by The University of Texas at San Antonio, alongside median earnings of $106,358 four years after completing. | |||||
| 16 | James Madison University · Harrisonburg, VA | $104,806 | $23,322 | $11,444 | 71.5% |
| James Madison University sits 213th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $104,806 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | University of Alabama at Birmingham · Birmingham, AL | $104,654 | $18,749 | $16,172 | 88.2% |
| An average net price of $16,172 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median earnings of $104,654 for Computer and Information Sciences graduates of University of Alabama at Birmingham four years after completing. | |||||
| 18 | University of North Texas · Denton, TX | $104,024 | $15,649 | $12,311 | 72.2% |
| University of North Texas ranks 18th on this list and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates, a cohort of 384, earned a median of $104,024 four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | The University of Texas at Dallas · Richardson, TX | $103,603 | $18,267 | $12,814 | 65.1% |
| The University of Texas at Dallas reports median federal debt of $17,500 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed and median earnings of $103,603 four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | The University of Texas at El Paso · El Paso, TX | $103,286 | $9,403 | $7,863 | 99.9% |
| With an admission rate of 100%, The University of Texas at El Paso reports median earnings of $103,286 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | University of Arkansas · Fayetteville, AR | $102,747 | $18,209 | $14,319 | 74.3% |
| University of Arkansas ranks 218th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $102,747 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 22 | Athens State University · Athens, AL | $102,639 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Median federal debt of $22,750 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed and median earnings of $102,639 four years after completing are reported by Athens State University. | |||||
| 23 | Clemson University · Clemson, SC | $101,301 | $22,253 | $13,607 | 38.3% |
| Clemson University admits 38% of applicants and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates, a cohort of 177, earned a median of $101,301 four years after completing. | |||||
| 24 | East Texas A&M University · Commerce, TX | $100,394 | $11,841 | $9,709 | 92.2% |
| An average net price of $9,709 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median earnings of $100,394 for Computer and Information Sciences graduates of East Texas A&M University four years after completing. | |||||
| 25 | University of Kentucky · Lexington, KY | $99,535 | $18,851 | $12,182 | 92.9% |
| University of Kentucky reports median earnings of $99,535 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $18,851. | |||||
| 26 | University of Houston · Houston, TX | $98,790 | $14,276 | $10,929 | 73.9% |
| Admitting 74% of applicants, University of Houston ranks 13th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 27 | Trinity University · San Antonio, TX | $98,708 | $23,464 | $10,356 | 25.9% |
| A private nonprofit university in San Antonio, Trinity University shows a median federal debt of $24,059 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 28 | University of Central Florida · Orlando, FL | $98,526 | $10,411 | $5,816 | 40.1% |
| University of Central Florida ranks 28th on this list and posts an average net price of $5,816 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 29 | College of Charleston · Charleston, SC | $98,059 | $18,960 | $12,133 | 60.0% |
| College of Charleston reports median earnings of $98,059 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, with 47 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 30 | Salisbury University · Salisbury, MD | $97,414 | $17,743 | $6,743 | 87.5% |
| Salisbury University admits 87% of applicants and carries a median federal debt of $24,313 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 31 | Bowie State University · Bowie, MD | No published median | $19,298 | $17,071 | 72.4% |
| Bowie State University ranks 31st on this list, with an average net price of $17,071 for families earning under $30,000 and 81 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 32 | Sam Houston State University · Huntsville, TX | $96,727 | $16,404 | $12,474 | 90.3% |
| Sam Houston State University reports median earnings of $96,727 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, and ranks 117th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 33 | Southeastern Oklahoma State University · Durant, OK | $95,825 | $8,039 | $5,193 | 76.4% |
| Southeastern Oklahoma State University shows an average net price of $8,039, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $17,000 in federal loans. | |||||
| 34 | Old Dominion University · Norfolk, VA | $95,485 | $14,638 | $9,739 | 90.4% |
| Old Dominion University admits 90% of applicants and reports median earnings of $95,485 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 35 | University of Mary Washington · Fredericksburg, VA | $95,461 | $20,667 | $10,304 | 79.8% |
| University of Mary Washington ranks 35th on this list, with a median federal debt of $19,783 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 36 | University of Alabama in Huntsville · Huntsville, AL | $95,076 | $18,796 | $16,192 | 68.6% |
| With an average net price of $16,192 for families earning under $30,000, University of Alabama in Huntsville reports median earnings of $95,076 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 37 | St. Mary's College of Maryland · St. Mary's City, MD | $94,101 | $18,441 | $2,889 | 68.6% |
| St. Mary's College of Maryland reports median earnings of $94,101 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $2,889 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 38 | University of West Georgia · Carrollton, GA | $93,769 | $12,786 | $10,339 | 51.6% |
| University of West Georgia ranks 38th on this list and shows a median federal debt of $26,911 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 39 | Florida State University · Tallahassee, FL | $93,727 | $11,297 | $5,938 | 24.2% |
| With 367 graduates in the earnings cohort, Florida State University posts median earnings of $93,727 four years after completing and an admission rate of 24%. | |||||
| 40 | George Washington University · Washington, DC | $93,692 | $36,586 | $17,440 | 47.1% |
| George Washington University, a private nonprofit university, reports median earnings of $93,692 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $36,586. | |||||
| 41 | Southeastern Louisiana University · Hammond, LA | $92,615 | $13,154 | $10,507 | 99.3% |
| Southeastern Louisiana University admits 99% of applicants and reports median earnings of $92,615 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 42 | Georgia Southern University · Statesboro, GA | $92,026 | $15,267 | $12,162 | 87.9% |
| Georgia Southern University ranks 124th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $92,026 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 43 | Auburn University · Auburn, AL | $91,087 | $24,323 | $16,681 | 45.9% |
| Auburn University reports median earnings of $91,087 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing and a median federal debt of $25,000 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 44 | University of South Florida · Tampa, FL | $90,953 | $9,812 | $4,122 | 43.2% |
| University of South Florida lists an average net price of $4,122 for families earning under $30,000, combined with median earnings of $90,953 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 45 | University of North Georgia · Dahlonega, GA | $90,765 | $9,823 | $6,981 | 67.9% |
| An average net price of $6,981 for families earning under $30,000 accompanies median earnings of $90,765 for Computer and Information Sciences graduates at University of North Georgia, four years after completing. | |||||
| 46 | Florida International University · Miami, FL | $90,397 | $9,288 | $7,003 | 54.7% |
| Florida International University posts median earnings of $90,397 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, with 665 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 47 | East Carolina University · Greenville, NC | $90,197 | $15,739 | $10,046 | 89.2% |
| East Carolina University reports a median federal debt of $26,853 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed and an admission rate of 89%. | |||||
| 48 | University of Maryland Eastern Shore · Princess Anne, MD | $89,918 | $13,338 | $9,914 | 96.4% |
| University of Maryland Eastern Shore ranks 572nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $89,918 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 49 | Florida Atlantic University · Boca Raton, FL | $89,476 | $8,752 | $3,022 | 66.1% |
| Florida Atlantic University reports median earnings of $89,476 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $8,752. | |||||
| 50 | Alabama A & M University · Normal, AL | $88,490 | $17,621 | $16,500 | 58.0% |
| Alabama A & M University admits 58% of applicants and its Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed left with a median of $30,100 in federal loans. | |||||
| 51 | North Carolina Central University · Durham, NC | $88,053 | $15,359 | $13,032 | 87.0% |
| North Carolina Central University ranks 51st on this list, with $88,053 in median earnings for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 52 | University of Mississippi · University, MS | $87,958 | $13,314 | $8,945 | 96.6% |
| University of Mississippi posts an average net price of $13,314 and an admission rate of 97%. | |||||
| 53 | University of Central Oklahoma · Edmond, OK | $87,792 | $18,309 | $15,275 | 78.1% |
| With 79 graduates in the earnings cohort, University of Central Oklahoma reports median earnings of $87,792 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 54 | Mount St. Mary's University · Emmitsburg, MD | $87,360 | $22,655 | $11,603 | 73.8% |
| A private nonprofit university in Emmitsburg, Mount St. Mary's University shows median federal debt of $22,870 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 55 | Georgia State University · Atlanta, GA | $87,020 | $15,931 | $13,787 | 55.4% |
| Georgia State University ranks 44th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports $87,020 in median earnings for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 56 | Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi · Corpus Christi, TX | $86,698 | $15,225 | $11,445 | 88.6% |
| Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi has an admission rate of 89% and an average net price of $15,225. | |||||
| 57 | Lamar University · Beaumont, TX | $85,680 | $9,366 | $7,568 | 86.4% |
| Lamar University reports median earnings of $85,680 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, with 45 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 58 | Oklahoma State University-Main Campus · Stillwater, OK | $85,641 | $17,447 | $12,243 | 75.0% |
| Oklahoma State University-Main Campus ranks 138th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts an average net price of $17,447. | |||||
| 59 | University of South Carolina-Columbia · Columbia, SC | $84,720 | $22,811 | $12,634 | 60.2% |
| University of South Carolina-Columbia shows median federal debt of $23,250 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed and reports $84,720 in median earnings four years after completing. | |||||
| 60 | University of North Florida · Jacksonville, FL | $84,034 | $10,154 | $6,647 | 53.2% |
| An average net price of $10,154 coincides with median earnings of $84,034 for Computer and Information Sciences graduates of University of North Florida four years after completing. | |||||
| 61 | Kennesaw State University · Kennesaw, GA | $83,249 | $15,048 | $12,235 | 69.2% |
| Kennesaw State University reports median earnings of $83,249 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $15,048. | |||||
| 62 | Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University · Tallahassee, FL | $83,041 | $13,739 | $13,299 | 20.6% |
| Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University admits 21% of applicants and its Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed left with a median of $23,125 in federal loans. | |||||
| 63 | University of North Carolina at Charlotte · Charlotte, NC | $83,018 | $15,435 | $10,357 | 79.6% |
| University of North Carolina at Charlotte ranks 98th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with 79 graduates in the earnings cohort for its Computer and Information Sciences program. | |||||
| 64 | Augusta University · Augusta, GA | $83,000 | $13,787 | $11,064 | 86.4% |
| Augusta University posts median earnings of $83,000 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $11,064 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 65 | Northern Kentucky University · Highland Heights, KY | $82,982 | $8,191 | $2,603 | 67.7% |
| Northern Kentucky University ranks 65th on this list, with median federal debt of $22,925 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 66 | Mississippi State University · Mississippi State, MS | $82,852 | $17,595 | $14,332 | 77.6% |
| Mississippi State University reports median earnings of $82,852 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, and an admission rate of 78%. | |||||
| 67 | Marymount University · Arlington, VA | $82,795 | $29,137 | $27,413 | 93.2% |
| Marymount University, a private nonprofit university in Arlington, shows an average net price of $29,137 and median earnings of $82,795 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 68 | Berea College · Berea, KY | $82,491 | $6,106 | $5,428 | 19.3% |
| Berea College carries the lowest average net price on the page at $6,106, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $82,491 four years after completing. | |||||
| 69 | Bob Jones University · Greenville, SC | $82,391 | $16,641 | $14,287 | Not reported |
| Bob Jones University reports median earnings of $82,391 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, with a school-wide median federal debt of $16,585 across all borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 70 | Liberty University · Lynchburg, VA | $82,116 | $29,357 | $30,667 | 99.0% |
| Liberty University admits 99% of applicants and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing earn a median of $82,116. | |||||
| 71 | East Tennessee State University · Johnson City, TN | $82,073 | $15,983 | $12,433 | 86.2% |
| East Tennessee State University ranks 469th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed left with a median of $23,370 in federal loans. | |||||
| 72 | University of Southern Mississippi · Hattiesburg, MS | $81,740 | $21,708 | $19,867 | 99.1% |
| University of Southern Mississippi reports median earnings of $81,740 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $19,867 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 73 | Saint Leo University · Saint Leo, FL | $81,025 | $21,293 | $19,602 | 78.4% |
| Saint Leo University reports median earnings of $81,025 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside a median federal debt of $33,626 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 74 | Mercer University · Macon, GA | $80,937 | $23,847 | $19,817 | 68.9% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Mercer University left with a median of $24,199 in federal loans, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earned a median of $80,937 four years after completing. | |||||
| 75 | Columbus State University · Columbus, GA | $80,694 | $13,115 | $11,271 | 99.1% |
| Columbus State University admits 99% of applicants and posts median earnings of $80,694 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 76 | University of North Alabama · Florence, AL | $80,423 | $12,170 | $9,741 | 87.3% |
| University of North Alabama ranks 76th on this list, with an average net price of $12,170 and median earnings of $80,423 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 77 | The University of Texas at Tyler · Tyler, TX | $79,754 | $13,323 | $10,307 | 94.0% |
| The University of Texas at Tyler sits at 161st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $79,754 four years after completing. | |||||
| 78 | University of West Florida · Pensacola, FL | $79,520 | $9,364 | $4,815 | 58.2% |
| With an average net price of $9,364, University of West Florida reports median earnings of $79,520 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 79 | Troy University · Troy, AL | $79,492 | $16,527 | $12,656 | 96.0% |
| Troy University shows a median federal debt of $25,000 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed, and its graduates in the field earned a median of $79,492 four years after completing. | |||||
| 80 | Arkansas State University · Jonesboro, AR | $79,309 | $12,366 | $10,098 | 82.3% |
| Arkansas State University ranks 300th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $79,309 four years after completing. | |||||
| 81 | Jacksonville State University · Jacksonville, AL | $79,129 | $14,279 | $12,472 | 77.7% |
| Jacksonville State University admits 78% of applicants and posts median earnings of $79,129 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 82 | Texas A&M University-Victoria · Victoria, TX | $79,123 | $8,109 | $5,317 | 95.9% |
| Texas A&M University-Victoria reports an average net price of $8,109, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $79,123 four years after completing. | |||||
| 83 | Texas State University · San Marcos, TX | $77,701 | $16,805 | $12,715 | 89.3% |
| In San Marcos, Texas State University sits at 40th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $77,701 four years after completing. | |||||
| 84 | Austin Peay State University · Clarksville, TN | $77,125 | $9,735 | $7,588 | 96.4% |
| Austin Peay State University shows a median federal debt of $22,246 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed, and its graduates in the field earned a median of $77,125 four years after completing. | |||||
| 85 | University of Louisiana at Lafayette · Lafayette, LA | $77,087 | $13,530 | $11,157 | 87.0% |
| University of Louisiana at Lafayette reports median earnings of $77,087 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $13,530. | |||||
| 86 | Tarleton State University · Stephenville, TX | $76,980 | $20,783 | $15,574 | 89.6% |
| Tarleton State University admits 90% of applicants and its Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed left with a median of $20,500 in federal loans. | |||||
| 87 | Texas Woman's University · Denton, TX | $76,555 | $11,963 | $9,948 | 96.1% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Texas Woman's University left with a median of $19,218 in federal loans, and the school ranks 118th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 88 | University of Central Arkansas · Conway, AR | $75,893 | $16,511 | $14,656 | 89.5% |
| University of Central Arkansas ranks 88th on this list, with median earnings of $75,893 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 89 | Towson University · Towson, MD | $75,785 | $17,413 | $6,962 | 82.0% |
| Towson University posts an average net price of $6,962 for families earning under $30,000, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing earned a median of $75,785. | |||||
| 90 | Prairie View A & M University · Prairie View, TX | $75,631 | $13,570 | $12,120 | 79.3% |
| Prairie View A & M University's Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed left with a median of $27,392 in federal loans, and the school ranks 115th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 91 | University of Houston-Clear Lake · Houston, TX | $75,617 | $15,563 | $7,330 | 90.5% |
| University of Houston-Clear Lake reports median earnings of $75,617 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 91%. | |||||
| 92 | King University · Bristol, TN | $75,435 | $22,347 | $22,696 | 99.7% |
| A private nonprofit university in Bristol, King University shows an average net price of $22,347 and median earnings of $75,435 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 93 | Valdosta State University · Valdosta, GA | $75,310 | $10,945 | $9,378 | 72.3% |
| Valdosta State University's Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans, and the school reports an average net price of $9,378 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 94 | Stephen F Austin State University · Nacogdoches, TX | $75,271 | $14,260 | $10,318 | 94.0% |
| Stephen F Austin State University ranks 94th on this list, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing earned a median of $75,271. | |||||
| 95 | Shepherd University · Shepherdstown, WV | $74,218 | $11,363 | $7,906 | 96.8% |
| Shepherd University admits 97% of applicants and reports median earnings of $74,218 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 96 | Western Kentucky University · Bowling Green, KY | $73,300 | $10,990 | $7,087 | 93.9% |
| Western Kentucky University's Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed left with a median of $18,836 in federal loans, alongside an average net price of $10,990. | |||||
| 97 | University of Houston-Downtown · Houston, TX | $72,528 | $10,542 | $9,439 | 90.0% |
| University of Houston-Downtown reports $72,528 in median earnings of Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $9,439 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 98 | University of North Carolina Wilmington · Wilmington, NC | $71,964 | $20,109 | $10,778 | 64.2% |
| With an admission rate of 64%, University of North Carolina Wilmington shows median federal debt of $26,000 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 99 | Campbell University · Buies Creek, NC | $71,497 | $24,516 | $20,751 | 87.2% |
| A private nonprofit university in Buies Creek, Campbell University ranks 862nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 100 | University of Arkansas at Little Rock · Little Rock, AR | $70,696 | $17,248 | $15,195 | 58.8% |
| University of Arkansas at Little Rock shows $70,696 in median earnings of Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing alongside an admission rate of 59%. | |||||
| 101 | Frostburg State University · Frostburg, MD | $70,144 | $16,715 | $12,129 | 89.2% |
| Frostburg State University reports an average net price of $16,715, and its Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed left with a median of $29,750 in federal loans. | |||||
| 102 | Marshall University · Huntington, WV | $69,565 | $7,502 | $4,648 | 95.7% |
| Marshall University ranks 102nd on this list and carries an average net price of $4,648 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 103 | Eastern Kentucky University · Richmond, KY | $68,774 | $11,040 | $8,591 | 77.6% |
| Eastern Kentucky University posts $68,774 in median earnings of Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing and ranks 382nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 104 | Texas Christian University · Fort Worth, TX | $68,666 | $36,660 | $17,956 | 44.5% |
| With an admission rate of 44%, Texas Christian University reports $68,666 in median earnings of Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 105 | Clayton State University · Morrow, GA | $67,899 | $8,365 | $7,405 | 68.5% |
| Clayton State University shows an average net price of $7,405 for families earning under $30,000 and median federal debt of $34,000 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 106 | East Central University · Ada, OK | $67,666 | $8,683 | $8,151 | 58.2% |
| East Central University reports $67,666 in median earnings of Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $17,671 in federal loans. | |||||
| 107 | University of South Carolina-Upstate · Spartanburg, SC | $67,286 | $13,557 | $11,618 | 67.3% |
| University of South Carolina-Upstate ranks 107th on this list and its Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed left with a median of $27,500 in federal loans. | |||||
| 108 | South Carolina State University · Orangeburg, SC | $66,821 | $18,097 | $16,846 | 82.6% |
| South Carolina State University reports $66,821 in median earnings of Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $16,846 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 109 | Barry University · Miami, FL | $65,951 | $22,613 | $20,804 | 77.2% |
| Barry University reports median earnings of $65,951 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $22,613. | |||||
| 110 | Guilford College · Greensboro, NC | $65,823 | $22,270 | $18,367 | 80.0% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left Guilford College with a median of $26,000 in federal loans, and the school's Computer and Information Sciences completers earned a median of $65,823 four years after completing. | |||||
| 111 | University of the Incarnate Word · San Antonio, TX | $65,405 | $22,775 | $19,260 | 98.1% |
| University of the Incarnate Word admits 98% of applicants and shows median federal debt of $28,986 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 112 | Winston-Salem State University · Winston-Salem, NC | $63,562 | $13,479 | $11,463 | 78.3% |
| Winston-Salem State University ranks 223rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earned a median of $63,562 four years after completing. | |||||
| 113 | Coastal Carolina University · Conway, SC | $63,247 | $13,966 | $9,563 | 75.3% |
| Coastal Carolina University posts median earnings of $63,247 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $9,563 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 114 | Middle Georgia State University · Macon, GA | $62,734 | $12,361 | $10,668 | 99.7% |
| Middle Georgia State University reports median federal debt of $21,422 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed, and its graduates earned a median of $62,734 four years after completing. | |||||
| 115 | Southern Arkansas University Main Campus · Magnolia, AR | $60,952 | $14,027 | $13,187 | 75.3% |
| Southern Arkansas University Main Campus shows an average net price of $14,027, while its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earned a median of $60,952 four years after completing. | |||||
| 116 | Georgia Gwinnett College · Lawrenceville, GA | $60,320 | $15,844 | $14,356 | 95.5% |
| Georgia Gwinnett College admits 96% of applicants and reports median earnings of $60,320 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 117 | University of South Alabama · Mobile, AL | $59,602 | $17,648 | $12,657 | 71.0% |
| University of South Alabama ranks 329th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside median federal debt of $26,328 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 118 | University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff · Pine Bluff, AR | $59,597 | $12,653 | $12,302 | 41.2% |
| In Pine Bluff, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff reports median earnings of $59,597 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 119 | Citadel Military College of South Carolina · Charleston, SC | $59,124 | $20,723 | $15,430 | 22.7% |
| Citadel Military College of South Carolina admits 23% of applicants and shows an average net price of $15,430 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 120 | Angelo State University · San Angelo, TX | $57,583 | $15,091 | $12,008 | 83.0% |
| Angelo State University posts median earnings of $57,583 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $20,000 in federal loans. | |||||
| 121 | Morgan State University · Baltimore, MD | $57,318 | $14,985 | $9,585 | 82.2% |
| Morgan State University reports median earnings of $57,318 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $14,985. | |||||
| 122 | Georgia Southwestern State University · Americus, GA | $57,043 | $12,019 | $10,477 | 75.2% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed from Georgia Southwestern State University left with a median of $18,851 in federal loans, and the school ranks 122nd on this list. | |||||
| 123 | The University of Texas Permian Basin · Odessa, TX | $56,415 | $12,723 | $11,930 | 94.9% |
| The University of Texas Permian Basin admits 95% of applicants and posts median earnings of $56,415 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 124 | Trevecca Nazarene University · Nashville, TN | $55,964 | $16,813 | $14,532 | 69.4% |
| A private nonprofit university in Nashville, Trevecca Nazarene University ranks 634th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 125 | Auburn University at Montgomery · Montgomery, AL | $55,184 | $13,224 | $11,706 | 91.6% |
| Auburn University at Montgomery shows median federal debt of $31,250 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed, with median earnings of $55,184 four years after completing. | |||||
| 126 | North Carolina Wesleyan University · Rocky Mount, NC | $53,598 | $17,432 | $16,114 | 80.2% |
| With an admission rate of 80%, North Carolina Wesleyan University reports median earnings of $53,598 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 127 | University of North Carolina at Pembroke · Pembroke, NC | $53,022 | $10,260 | $7,919 | 93.3% |
| University of North Carolina at Pembroke carries an average net price of $10,260 and median federal debt of $24,447 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 128 | Harding University · Searcy, AR | $52,733 | $22,130 | $15,418 | 70.5% |
| Harding University ranks 1206th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $52,733 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 129 | Midwestern State University · Wichita Falls, TX | $52,107 | $11,656 | $8,856 | 93.5% |
| Midwestern State University posts an average net price of $8,856 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 129th on this list. | |||||
| 130 | Regent University · Virginia Beach, VA | $51,972 | $19,923 | $20,064 | 38.1% |
| Regent University admits 38% of applicants, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $51,972 four years after completing. | |||||
| 131 | Morehead State University · Morehead, KY | $51,805 | $9,793 | $7,150 | 77.2% |
| Morehead State University reports median federal debt of $22,250 across all of its borrowers who completed, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing earned a median of $51,805. | |||||
| 132 | Cameron University · Lawton, OK | $49,021 | $10,912 | $8,752 | Not reported |
| Cameron University shows median federal debt of $21,500 across all of the school's borrowers who completed, alongside median earnings of $49,021 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 133 | Fort Valley State University · Fort Valley, GA | $44,881 | $10,338 | $9,017 | 65.9% |
| Fort Valley State University reports median earnings of $44,881 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $10,338. | |||||
| 134 | Livingstone College · Salisbury, NC | $41,458 | $13,479 | $13,860 | 59.3% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Salisbury, Livingstone College admits 59% of applicants and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earned a median of $41,458 four years after completing. | |||||
| 135 | Johnson C Smith University · Charlotte, NC | $39,741 | $20,894 | $19,940 | 45.2% |
| Johnson C Smith University ranks 135th on this list, with an average net price of $19,940 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 136 | Lander University · Greenwood, SC | $37,568 | $15,363 | $11,450 | 81.3% |
| Lander University posts a median of $37,568 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 81%. | |||||
| 137 | Texas Southern University · Houston, TX | $37,208 | $16,590 | $16,437 | 96.9% |
| Texas Southern University ranks 222nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earned a median of $37,208 four years after completing. | |||||
| 138 | Kentucky State University · Frankfort, KY | $26,353 | $8,040 | $10,225 | 96.1% |
| Kentucky State University reports an average net price of $8,040 and median earnings of $26,353 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the South appear. The figure is the median for federally aided completers of the program who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 13 of the 138 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 137 schools with a published figure. Johns Hopkins University leads Rice University by $14,024 in median earnings.
Related rankings
- Best Colleges in the South
- Best Computer Science Colleges in the South
- Computer Science Colleges in the South for Social Mobility