Best Communication and Media Studies Programs in the Midwest
Updated
This page ranks the 173 Communication and Media Studies programs in the Midwest by the median earnings of Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, highest first. Northwestern University leads the list at 1st with median earnings of $93,541 for its graduates after completing.
Across the listed programs, earnings range from $93,541 to $21,508, with a median of $52,248. For 20 of the 173 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
The list splits almost evenly between public and private institutions, with 86 public and 87 private nonprofit programs. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor ranks 16th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally, the strongest showing on the page.
Indiana University-Kokomo posts the lowest average net price at $3,968, while Loras College reports the highest admission rate, admitting 100% of applicants.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Northwestern University · Evanston, IL | $93,541 | $29,167 | $1,764 | 7.7% |
| Northwestern University reports $93,541 in median earnings of Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 8%. | |||||
| 2 | University of Michigan-Ann Arbor · Ann Arbor, MI | $79,648 | $13,138 | $1,043 | 15.6% |
| University of Michigan-Ann Arbor ranks 2nd on this list, with median earnings of $79,648 four years after completing and an average net price of $13,138. | |||||
| 3 | University of Minnesota-Twin Cities · Minneapolis, MN | $74,597 | $16,778 | $6,642 | 79.8% |
| Admitting 80% of applicants, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities ranks 107th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 4 | Gustavus Adolphus College · Saint Peter, MN | $69,423 | $22,900 | $12,015 | 61.0% |
| Gustavus Adolphus College posts median federal debt of $27,000 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed, alongside earnings of $69,423 four years after completing. | |||||
| 5 | DePauw University · Greencastle, IN | $69,228 | $22,264 | $11,820 | 57.2% |
| DePauw University shows an average net price of $11,820 for families earning under $30,000 and a cohort of 50 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 6 | Southern Illinois University-Carbondale · Carbondale, IL | $69,034 | $13,297 | $9,415 | 86.9% |
| Southern Illinois University-Carbondale reports median earnings of $69,034 four years after completing and an admission rate of 87%. | |||||
| 7 | University of Dayton · Dayton, OH | $67,231 | $29,533 | $21,736 | 65.5% |
| University of Dayton ranks 7th on this list, with a cohort of 141 graduates in the earnings cohort and an average net price of $29,533. | |||||
| 8 | Denison University · Granville, OH | $66,730 | $40,007 | $16,656 | 17.4% |
| Denison University admits 17% of applicants and reports median federal debt of $25,000 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 9 | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · Champaign, IL | $66,439 | $14,355 | $2,038 | 42.4% |
| University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign posts median earnings of $66,439 four years after completing and ranks 35th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 10 | Saint Mary's College · Notre Dame, IN | $66,335 | $25,292 | $16,760 | 76.0% |
| Saint Mary's College shows an average net price of $16,760 for families earning under $30,000 and a cohort of 20 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 11 | Purdue University-Main Campus · West Lafayette, IN | $65,517 | $14,600 | $5,098 | 49.9% |
| Purdue University-Main Campus reports median federal debt of $17,375 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed, alongside earnings of $65,517 four years after completing. | |||||
| 12 | University of St Thomas · Saint Paul, MN | $64,917 | $29,155 | $28,131 | 85.4% |
| University of St Thomas ranks 12th on this list, with an admission rate of 85% and an average net price of $29,155. | |||||
| 13 | Lake Forest College · Lake Forest, IL | $64,580 | $28,673 | $19,605 | 56.8% |
| Lake Forest College reports median earnings of $64,580 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $28,673. | |||||
| 14 | College of Saint Benedict · Saint Joseph, MN | $64,430 | $26,640 | $12,981 | 91.5% |
| With an admission rate of 92%, College of Saint Benedict ranks 14th on this list and its Communication and Media Studies graduates earn a median of $64,430 four years after completing. | |||||
| 15 | University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh · Oshkosh, WI | $64,103 | $14,305 | $9,236 | 86.5% |
| University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh posts median federal debt of $26,000 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed, and its graduates earn a median of $64,103 four years after completing. | |||||
| 16 | Indiana University-Bloomington · Bloomington, IN | $63,855 | $16,264 | $6,324 | 78.2% |
| Indiana University-Bloomington ranks 96th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Communication and Media Studies graduates earn a median of $63,855 four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | Augsburg University · Minneapolis, MN | $63,850 | $23,873 | $21,318 | 82.0% |
| Augsburg University reports an average net price of $21,318 for families earning under $30,000, while its Communication and Media Studies graduates earn a median of $63,850 four years after completing. | |||||
| 18 | Augustana College · Rock Island, IL | $63,730 | $22,736 | $15,787 | 62.7% |
| Augustana College admits 63% of applicants and its Communication and Media Studies graduates earn a median of $63,730 four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | John Carroll University · University Heights, OH | $62,270 | $28,746 | $19,945 | 80.9% |
| John Carroll University reports median federal debt of $27,000 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $62,270 four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | Ohio State University-Main Campus · Columbus, OH | $62,096 | $17,339 | $4,885 | 60.6% |
| Ohio State University-Main Campus ranks 90th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Communication and Media Studies graduates earn a median of $62,096 four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | University of Wisconsin-Madison · Madison, WI | $61,270 | $17,354 | $4,200 | 45.2% |
| University of Wisconsin-Madison reports an average net price of $4,200 for families earning under $30,000, while its Communication and Media Studies graduates earn a median of $61,270 four years after completing. | |||||
| 22 | University of Nebraska at Omaha · Omaha, NE | $61,220 | $13,441 | $10,534 | 87.0% |
| Median federal debt among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed is $17,936 at University of Nebraska at Omaha, and its graduates earn a median of $61,220 four years after completing. | |||||
| 23 | University of Missouri-Columbia · Columbia, MO | $61,007 | $20,268 | $13,841 | 78.5% |
| University of Missouri-Columbia admits 78% of applicants and its Communication and Media Studies graduates earn a median of $61,007 four years after completing. | |||||
| 24 | The College of Wooster · Wooster, OH | $60,884 | $23,458 | $12,512 | 59.5% |
| The College of Wooster reports an average net price of $23,458 and median earnings of $60,884 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 25 | Michigan State University · East Lansing, MI | $60,807 | $19,680 | $7,068 | 84.8% |
| Michigan State University reports $60,807 in median earnings for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $19,680. | |||||
| 26 | University of Iowa · Iowa City, IA | $60,737 | $22,531 | $15,316 | 83.6% |
| With an admission rate of 84%, University of Iowa ranks 26th on this list and posts median earnings of $60,737 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 27 | Wheaton College · Wheaton, IL | $60,695 | $26,975 | $20,001 | 87.4% |
| Wheaton College, a private nonprofit institution in Wheaton, shows median federal debt of $23,250 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed and median earnings of $60,695 four years after completing. | |||||
| 28 | Marquette University · Milwaukee, WI | $60,482 | $31,487 | $22,269 | 81.3% |
| Marquette University ranks 450th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $60,482 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 29 | Illinois State University · Normal, IL | $60,414 | $19,398 | $11,568 | 88.2% |
| Illinois State University posts an average net price of $11,568 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $60,414 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 30 | University of Kansas · Lawrence, KS | $60,258 | $18,059 | $12,544 | 93.5% |
| University of Kansas admits 93% of applicants and reports median earnings of $60,258 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 120 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 31 | University of Minnesota-Duluth · Duluth, MN | $60,023 | $18,743 | $7,256 | 88.8% |
| Median earnings of $60,023 four years after completing place University of Minnesota-Duluth 31st on this list, alongside an average net price of $18,743. | |||||
| 32 | Hamline University · Saint Paul, MN | $59,557 | $20,744 | $15,371 | 87.6% |
| Hamline University shows median federal debt of $24,672 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed and median earnings of $59,557 four years after completing. | |||||
| 33 | Ottawa University-Ottawa · Ottawa, KS | $59,445 | $27,963 | $22,449 | 83.0% |
| Ottawa University-Ottawa ranks 908th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $59,445 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 34 | University of Nebraska-Lincoln · Lincoln, NE | $59,017 | $17,747 | $12,751 | 87.5% |
| University of Nebraska-Lincoln posts an average net price of $12,751 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $59,017 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 35 | Loyola University Chicago · Chicago, IL | $58,256 | $36,079 | $28,992 | 81.6% |
| Loyola University Chicago admits 82% of applicants and reports median earnings of $58,256 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 33 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 36 | Hanover College · Hanover, IN | $58,227 | $21,829 | $16,832 | 83.7% |
| Hanover College reports $58,227 in median earnings for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing and median federal debt of $27,000 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 37 | University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire · Eau Claire, WI | $58,043 | $16,550 | $10,270 | 82.3% |
| University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire reports median earnings of $58,043 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, from a cohort of 31 graduates. | |||||
| 38 | Nebraska Wesleyan University · Lincoln, NE | $57,937 | $18,327 | $14,925 | 79.8% |
| A private nonprofit university in Lincoln, Nebraska Wesleyan University ranks 38th on this list and shows an admission rate of 80%. | |||||
| 39 | Eastern Illinois University · Charleston, IL | $57,887 | $12,786 | $9,828 | 65.4% |
| Eastern Illinois University posts an average net price of $12,786, while its Communication and Media Studies graduates earned a median of $57,887 four years after completing. | |||||
| 40 | Saint Louis University · Saint Louis, MO | $57,787 | $24,398 | $22,501 | 75.0% |
| Saint Louis University carries a median federal debt of $21,500 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $57,787 four years after completing. | |||||
| 41 | Wayne State University · Detroit, MI | $57,335 | $12,766 | $11,090 | 81.2% |
| Wayne State University ranks 80th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $57,335 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 42 | Iowa State University · Ames, IA | $57,110 | $18,589 | $10,582 | 88.7% |
| With an admission rate of 89%, Iowa State University lists median earnings of $57,110 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 43 | University of Illinois Chicago · Chicago, IL | $56,845 | $10,974 | $7,529 | 77.4% |
| University of Illinois Chicago reports an average net price of $7,529 for families earning under $30,000, and its Communication and Media Studies graduates earned a median of $56,845 four years after completing. | |||||
| 44 | University of Cincinnati-Main Campus · Cincinnati, OH | $56,818 | $25,648 | $17,974 | 85.3% |
| Median earnings of $56,818 four years after completing place University of Cincinnati-Main Campus 44th on this list, with a cohort of 198 graduates. | |||||
| 45 | Mount Mary University · Milwaukee, WI | $56,763 | $20,144 | $18,155 | 62.3% |
| Mount Mary University shows a median federal debt of $25,288 across all of the school's borrowers who completed, and its Communication and Media Studies graduates earned a median of $56,763 four years after completing. | |||||
| 46 | Wittenberg University · Springfield, OH | $56,711 | $18,649 | $17,609 | 72.4% |
| Wittenberg University reports an admission rate of 72% and median earnings of $56,711 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 47 | University of Wisconsin-La Crosse · La Crosse, WI | $56,470 | $16,210 | $8,224 | 75.5% |
| University of Wisconsin-La Crosse posts an average net price of $8,224 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $56,470 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 48 | Saint Cloud State University · Saint Cloud, MN | $56,388 | $13,529 | $8,909 | 94.8% |
| Saint Cloud State University ranks 619th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Communication and Media Studies graduates earned a median of $56,388 four years after completing. | |||||
| 49 | Indiana University-East · Richmond, IN | $56,141 | $8,134 | $5,154 | 67.2% |
| Indiana University-East reports median earnings of $56,141 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $8,134. | |||||
| 50 | Minnesota State University-Mankato · Mankato, MN | $56,119 | $19,139 | $12,339 | 88.4% |
| Minnesota State University-Mankato posts median earnings of $56,119 four years after completing, with a cohort of 100 graduates and a median federal debt of $22,779 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 51 | University of North Dakota · Grand Forks, ND | $56,065 | $18,551 | $13,126 | 76.9% |
| University of North Dakota ranks 51st on this list and shows an admission rate of 77%, with median earnings of $56,065 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 52 | DePaul University · Chicago, IL | $56,014 | $30,902 | $27,359 | 75.9% |
| A private nonprofit university in Chicago, DePaul University reports median earnings of $56,014 four years after completing and an average net price of $27,359 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 53 | Miami University-Oxford · Oxford, OH | $55,919 | $28,384 | $16,015 | 75.4% |
| Miami University-Oxford posts median earnings of $55,919 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, and its Azimuth composite rank sits at 626th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 54 | University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee · Milwaukee, WI | $55,697 | $15,014 | $10,329 | 90.7% |
| With an admission rate of 91%, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee reports median earnings of $55,697 four years after completing and an average net price of $15,014. | |||||
| 55 | Oakland University · Rochester Hills, MI | $55,662 | $9,120 | $4,422 | 87.8% |
| Oakland University ranks 55th on this list, with median earnings of $55,662 four years after completing and a median federal debt of $22,000 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 56 | Carthage College · Kenosha, WI | $55,654 | $26,565 | $23,293 | 87.1% |
| Carthage College reports median earnings of $55,654 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $23,293 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 57 | Central Michigan University · Mount Pleasant, MI | $55,353 | $17,597 | $12,185 | 89.8% |
| Central Michigan University posts median earnings of $55,353 four years after completing and an admission rate of 90%, with a cohort of 54 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 58 | South Dakota State University · Brookings, SD | $55,345 | $19,841 | $14,266 | 98.3% |
| South Dakota State University ranks 58th on this list and reports median earnings of $55,345 four years after completing, with an average net price of $19,841. | |||||
| 59 | Hope College · Holland, MI | $55,166 | $27,182 | $17,606 | 79.2% |
| A private nonprofit university in Holland, Hope College reports median earnings of $55,166 four years after completing and a median federal debt of $27,000 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 60 | University of Wisconsin-Whitewater · Whitewater, WI | $55,152 | $14,158 | $8,440 | 85.7% |
| University of Wisconsin-Whitewater posts median earnings of $55,152 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, and its Azimuth composite rank sits at 385th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 61 | Northern Illinois University · Dekalb, IL | $55,109 | $13,391 | $10,126 | 69.8% |
| Northern Illinois University reports median earnings of $55,109 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $13,391. | |||||
| 62 | Missouri Western State University · Saint Joseph, MO | $55,059 | $13,251 | $11,243 | Not reported |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Missouri Western State University left with a median of $19,968 in federal loans, and the program's earnings cohort numbered 15 graduates. | |||||
| 63 | St Catherine University · Saint Paul, MN | $55,058 | $19,764 | $17,890 | 91.9% |
| A private nonprofit university in Saint Paul, St Catherine University admits 92% of applicants and shows median federal debt of $27,918 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 64 | Crown College · Saint Bonifacius, MN | $54,958 | $26,672 | $24,270 | 22.8% |
| Crown College ranks 64th on this list and posts an admission rate of 23%, with median earnings of $54,958 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 65 | Lindenwood University · Saint Charles, MO | $54,917 | $19,638 | $15,678 | 56.8% |
| Lindenwood University reports median earnings of $54,917 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $15,678 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 66 | Ohio University-Main Campus · Athens, OH | $54,695 | $21,637 | $15,673 | 85.0% |
| With a cohort of 164 graduates in the earnings data, Ohio University-Main Campus reports median federal debt of $21,500 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 67 | Albion College · Albion, MI | $54,300 | $14,301 | $10,036 | 80.7% |
| Albion College ranks 746th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $54,300 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 68 | Edgewood University · Madison, WI | $54,257 | $26,113 | $22,291 | 75.7% |
| Edgewood University admits 76% of applicants and reports an average net price of $22,291 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 69 | Alma College · Alma, MI | $53,947 | $20,694 | $17,162 | 57.0% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Alma College left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans, and the program's median earnings four years after completing are $53,947. | |||||
| 70 | University of Wisconsin-Parkside · Kenosha, WI | $53,923 | $11,772 | $7,425 | 75.4% |
| University of Wisconsin-Parkside reports median earnings of $53,923 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $7,425 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 71 | Bethel University · Saint Paul, MN | $53,868 | $28,556 | $22,218 | 87.8% |
| Bethel University ranks 71st on this list and reports median federal debt of $23,702 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 72 | Saginaw Valley State University · University Center, MI | $53,825 | $10,775 | $9,844 | 72.1% |
| Saginaw Valley State University admits 72% of applicants and reports median earnings of $53,825 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 73 | Xavier University · Cincinnati, OH | $53,800 | $32,997 | $26,728 | 86.4% |
| Xavier University reports median earnings of $53,800 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $32,997. | |||||
| 74 | Elmhurst University · Elmhurst, IL | $53,618 | $24,185 | $17,892 | 73.6% |
| Elmhurst University shows a median federal debt of $20,489 across all of its borrowers who completed, and ranks 614th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 75 | University of Northern Iowa · Cedar Falls, IA | $53,506 | $15,901 | $10,863 | 92.7% |
| University of Northern Iowa admits 93% of applicants and shows median federal debt of $16,562 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 76 | Winona State University · Winona, MN | $53,456 | $17,503 | $10,224 | 75.5% |
| Ranking 76th on this list, Winona State University posts median earnings of $53,456 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $10,224 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 77 | Saint Norbert College · De Pere, WI | $52,927 | $26,172 | $19,721 | 85.7% |
| Saint Norbert College reports median earnings of $52,927 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 42 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 78 | Luther College · Decorah, IA | $52,905 | $23,097 | $12,517 | 71.5% |
| Luther College ranks 1262nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows an average net price of $23,097. | |||||
| 79 | Minnesota State University Moorhead · Moorhead, MN | $52,838 | $17,997 | $11,129 | 58.8% |
| Minnesota State University Moorhead reports median federal debt of $20,000 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed and median earnings of $52,838 four years after completing. | |||||
| 80 | Eastern Michigan University · Ypsilanti, MI | $52,805 | $15,407 | $13,250 | 79.6% |
| With an admission rate of 80%, Eastern Michigan University reports median earnings of $52,805 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 81 | University of Michigan-Dearborn · Dearborn, MI | $52,703 | $9,492 | $7,211 | 55.6% |
| University of Michigan-Dearborn ranks 88th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows an average net price of $7,211 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 82 | Kansas State University · Manhattan, KS | $52,603 | $19,406 | $13,178 | 81.7% |
| Kansas State University reports median earnings of $52,603 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, with median federal debt of $22,681 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 83 | University of Illinois Springfield · Springfield, IL | $52,588 | $9,833 | $5,778 | 85.9% |
| Ranking 83rd on this list, University of Illinois Springfield shows an average net price of $9,833 and median earnings of $52,588 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 84 | Southern Illinois University Edwardsville · Edwardsville, IL | $52,466 | $14,889 | $8,483 | 97.5% |
| Southern Illinois University Edwardsville admits 98% of applicants and reports median federal debt of $20,500 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 85 | University of Central Missouri · Warrensburg, MO | $52,463 | $14,462 | $10,965 | 63.8% |
| University of Central Missouri reports median earnings of $52,463 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, with 30 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 86 | Adrian College · Adrian, MI | $52,309 | $25,368 | $19,542 | 72.5% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Adrian College left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans, and the school's Communication and Media Studies graduates earn $52,309 four years after completing. | |||||
| 87 | Concordia College at Moorhead · Moorhead, MN | $52,248 | $24,902 | $20,950 | 62.7% |
| Concordia College at Moorhead admits 63% of applicants and its Communication and Media Studies graduates earn a median of $52,248 four years after completing. | |||||
| 88 | University of South Dakota · Vermillion, SD | $52,100 | $19,858 | $14,921 | 98.8% |
| University of South Dakota reports median earnings of $52,100 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 99%. | |||||
| 89 | Indiana University-Northwest · Gary, IN | $51,863 | $5,130 | $1,419 | 73.4% |
| A public university in Gary, Indiana University-Northwest carries an average net price of $5,130 alongside median earnings of $51,863 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 90 | Rochester Christian University · Rochester Hills, MI | $51,856 | $21,456 | $18,463 | 97.7% |
| Rochester Christian University reports median federal debt of $22,376 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed, with earnings of $51,856 four years after completing. | |||||
| 91 | Baldwin Wallace University · Berea, OH | $51,698 | $27,603 | $21,296 | 75.7% |
| Baldwin Wallace University ranks 1059th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and its Communication and Media Studies graduates earn $51,698 four years after completing. | |||||
| 92 | Central College · Pella, IA | $51,671 | $23,377 | $16,231 | 86.2% |
| Central College reports an average net price of $16,231 for families earning under $30,000, and its Communication and Media Studies graduates earn a median of $51,671 four years after completing. | |||||
| 93 | Western Michigan University · Kalamazoo, MI | $51,446 | $15,273 | $5,263 | 84.6% |
| With 39 graduates in the earnings cohort, Western Michigan University posts median earnings of $51,446 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 94 | Indiana University-Indianapolis · Indianapolis, IN | $51,397 | $11,668 | $5,701 | 76.4% |
| Indiana University-Indianapolis admits 76% of applicants and reports median federal debt of $18,443 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 95 | Western Illinois University · Macomb, IL | $51,203 | $12,937 | $6,941 | 71.2% |
| Western Illinois University ranks 95th on this list, with median earnings of $51,203 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 96 | Ball State University · Muncie, IN | $51,186 | $14,940 | $7,834 | 85.5% |
| Ball State University reports an average net price of $7,834 for families earning under $30,000, and its Communication and Media Studies graduates earn a median of $51,186 four years after completing. | |||||
| 97 | University of Wisconsin-River Falls · River Falls, WI | $51,148 | $14,054 | $8,472 | 81.7% |
| University of Wisconsin-River Falls reports median earnings of $51,148 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside a median federal debt of $19,500 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 98 | Otterbein University · Westerville, OH | $51,006 | $19,237 | $12,458 | 84.5% |
| A private nonprofit university in Westerville, Otterbein University ranks 98th on this list and shows an average net price of $19,237. | |||||
| 99 | Creighton University · Omaha, NE | $50,856 | $31,568 | $20,472 | 79.8% |
| Creighton University admits 80% of applicants and posts median earnings of $50,856 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 100 | Truman State University · Kirksville, MO | $50,785 | $12,780 | $6,046 | 83.8% |
| Truman State University ranks 678th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $6,046 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 101 | Wichita State University · Wichita, KS | $50,773 | $13,194 | $9,734 | 94.0% |
| Wichita State University reports median earnings of $50,773 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, with a median federal debt of $22,698 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 102 | Heidelberg University · Tiffin, OH | $50,626 | $20,556 | $18,217 | 85.8% |
| Heidelberg University ranks 102nd on this list and shows an average net price of $20,556. | |||||
| 103 | Valparaiso University · Valparaiso, IN | $50,325 | $18,578 | $11,043 | 89.4% |
| Valparaiso University admits 89% of applicants and reports median earnings of $50,325 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 104 | Aurora University · Aurora, IL | $50,079 | $18,838 | $14,525 | 80.9% |
| Aurora University ranks 340th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows an average net price of $14,525 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 105 | Missouri State University-Springfield · Springfield, MO | $50,065 | $17,613 | $13,718 | 90.5% |
| Missouri State University-Springfield reports median earnings of $50,065 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, with a median federal debt of $22,563 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 106 | Northwest Missouri State University · Maryville, MO | $50,012 | $16,244 | $13,176 | 86.1% |
| Northwest Missouri State University ranks 106th on this list and shows an average net price of $16,244. | |||||
| 107 | Kent State University at Kent · Kent, OH | $49,375 | $20,787 | $15,280 | 86.3% |
| Kent State University at Kent admits 86% of applicants and reports median earnings of $49,375 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 108 | Purdue University Northwest · Hammond, IN | $49,326 | $6,079 | $1,432 | 72.4% |
| Purdue University Northwest ranks 203rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows an average net price of $1,432 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 109 | Malone University · Canton, OH | $49,148 | $20,948 | $13,290 | 75.9% |
| Malone University admits 76% of applicants and carries an average net price of $20,948. | |||||
| 110 | University of Missouri-Kansas City · Kansas City, MO | $49,135 | $13,310 | $10,576 | 72.2% |
| University of Missouri-Kansas City reports median earnings of $49,135 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $13,310. | |||||
| 111 | University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point · Stevens Point, WI | $48,982 | $14,559 | $8,833 | 91.8% |
| A median federal debt of $23,776 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed and an earnings cohort of 48 graduates are reported by University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point. | |||||
| 112 | Indiana University-Southeast · New Albany, IN | $48,931 | $7,888 | $3,782 | 84.5% |
| Indiana University-Southeast ranks 112th on this list and posts an average net price of $7,888. | |||||
| 113 | Cornerstone University · Grand Rapids, MI | $48,923 | $20,301 | $20,177 | 77.8% |
| Cornerstone University, a private nonprofit university in Grand Rapids, shows median earnings of $48,923 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 114 | Bemidji State University · Bemidji, MN | $48,877 | $15,261 | $10,073 | 56.0% |
| Bemidji State University carries an admission rate of 56% and a median federal debt of $17,749 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 115 | University of Indianapolis · Indianapolis, IN | $48,711 | $21,602 | $15,346 | 66.5% |
| University of Indianapolis reports median earnings of $48,711 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $21,602. | |||||
| 116 | Cleveland State University · Cleveland, OH | $48,688 | $14,764 | $11,958 | 91.3% |
| Cleveland State University ranks 211th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 91% of applicants. | |||||
| 117 | University of Wisconsin-Green Bay · Green Bay, WI | $48,550 | $13,369 | $9,144 | 88.6% |
| University of Wisconsin-Green Bay posts median earnings of $48,550 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $9,144 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 118 | University of Dubuque · Dubuque, IA | $48,537 | $23,386 | $18,106 | 88.6% |
| An admission rate of 89% and a median federal debt of $25,750 across all of the school's borrowers who completed are reported by University of Dubuque. | |||||
| 119 | Wartburg College · Waverly, IA | $48,433 | $32,908 | $21,688 | 75.8% |
| Wartburg College reports median earnings of $48,433 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $32,908. | |||||
| 120 | Northeastern Illinois University · Chicago, IL | $48,247 | $14,109 | $13,709 | 74.6% |
| Northeastern Illinois University carries a median federal debt of $15,000 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed, and an admission rate of 75%. | |||||
| 121 | Indiana State University · Terre Haute, IN | $48,185 | $10,873 | $6,455 | 80.8% |
| Indiana State University reports median earnings of $48,185 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 59 graduates. | |||||
| 122 | Avila University · Kansas City, MO | $48,148 | $16,053 | $15,694 | 87.8% |
| Avila University, a private nonprofit institution in Kansas City, ranks 122nd on this list and shows an admission rate of 88%. | |||||
| 123 | Aquinas College · Grand Rapids, MI | $48,075 | $16,626 | $10,725 | 89.9% |
| Aquinas College posts median earnings of $48,075 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, and its completers who borrowed left with a median federal debt of $20,457. | |||||
| 124 | University of Missouri-St Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $48,059 | $15,071 | $13,031 | 62.7% |
| University of Missouri-St Louis posts an average net price of $15,071 and median earnings of $48,059 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 125 | University of Michigan-Flint · Flint, MI | $47,959 | $7,007 | $1,517 | 70.5% |
| With an average net price of $1,517 for families earning under $30,000, University of Michigan-Flint ranks 125th on this list. | |||||
| 126 | Northern Michigan University · Marquette, MI | $47,875 | $14,085 | $7,697 | 84.0% |
| Northern Michigan University ranks 674th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $47,875 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 127 | Southeast Missouri State University · Cape Girardeau, MO | $47,813 | $15,882 | $12,704 | 73.5% |
| Southeast Missouri State University admits 74% of applicants and its Communication and Media Studies graduates, a cohort of 78, earned a median of $47,813 four years after completing. | |||||
| 128 | Benedictine University · Lisle, IL | $47,664 | $22,313 | $20,168 | 95.2% |
| Benedictine University reports median federal debt of $25,000 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $47,664 four years after completing. | |||||
| 129 | University of Toledo · Toledo, OH | $47,659 | $17,249 | $13,524 | 92.0% |
| University of Toledo ranks 129th on this list, with median earnings of $47,659 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 130 | Governors State University · University Park, IL | $47,475 | $12,329 | $9,563 | 48.3% |
| Governors State University shows an admission rate of 48% and an average net price of $12,329. | |||||
| 131 | Grand Valley State University · Allendale, MI | $46,938 | $16,317 | $12,272 | 83.0% |
| Grand Valley State University ranks 210th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and its Communication and Media Studies graduates earned a median of $46,938 four years after completing. | |||||
| 132 | Purdue University Fort Wayne · Fort Wayne, IN | $46,619 | $13,171 | $8,306 | 83.9% |
| Purdue University Fort Wayne reports median federal debt of $22,068 among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed, and its graduates earned a median of $46,619 four years after completing. | |||||
| 133 | Washburn University · Topeka, KS | $46,497 | $15,280 | $20,310 | Not reported |
| Washburn University reports median earnings of $46,497 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 44 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 134 | Monmouth College · Monmouth, IL | $46,462 | $17,133 | $12,483 | 90.9% |
| Monmouth College, a private nonprofit institution, admits 91% of applicants and shows an average net price of $17,133. | |||||
| 135 | Walsh University · North Canton, OH | $46,374 | $20,493 | $20,458 | 70.7% |
| Walsh University ranks 135th on this list and its Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans. | |||||
| 136 | Indiana University-Kokomo · Kokomo, IN | $46,136 | $3,968 | -$583* | 86.5% |
| Indiana University-Kokomo posts an average net price of $3,968, the lowest on the page, and ranks 486th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 137 | University of Minnesota-Crookston · Crookston, MN | $45,916 | $12,212 | $5,758 | 87.9% |
| University of Minnesota-Crookston reports median earnings of $45,916 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $12,212. | |||||
| 138 | Black Hills State University · Spearfish, SD | $45,537 | $15,911 | $11,863 | 96.3% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed from Black Hills State University left with a median of $26,000 in federal loans, and the school admits 96% of applicants. | |||||
| 139 | Millikin University · Decatur, IL | $45,444 | $21,989 | $18,659 | 66.7% |
| Millikin University ranks 1120th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports a Communication and Media Studies earnings cohort of 6 graduates. | |||||
| 140 | University of Mary · Bismarck, ND | $45,394 | $17,770 | $11,593 | 75.3% |
| University of Mary shows median earnings of $45,394 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $17,770. | |||||
| 141 | University of Wisconsin-Superior · Superior, WI | $45,014 | $12,220 | $9,679 | 93.0% |
| At University of Wisconsin-Superior, the median federal debt among Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed is $22,500, and the school ranks 141st on this list. | |||||
| 142 | Webster University · Saint Louis, MO | $45,012 | $27,047 | $22,359 | 86.2% |
| Webster University admits 86% of applicants and reports median earnings of $45,012 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 143 | Emporia State University · Emporia, KS | $45,003 | $16,261 | $11,452 | 97.7% |
| Emporia State University ranks 660th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed left with a median of $24,426 in federal loans. | |||||
| 144 | Loras College · Dubuque, IA | $44,741 | $20,716 | $20,479 | 99.9% |
| Loras College admits 100% of applicants and reports an average net price of $20,716. | |||||
| 145 | Indiana University-South Bend · South Bend, IN | $44,703 | $8,653 | $4,637 | 83.8% |
| Indiana University-South Bend reports median earnings of $44,703 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $8,653. | |||||
| 146 | Saint Xavier University · Chicago, IL | $44,312 | $10,970 | $7,572 | 84.3% |
| Saint Xavier University admits 84% of applicants, and its Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed left with a median of $21,662 in federal loans. | |||||
| 147 | Calvin University · Grand Rapids, MI | $43,138 | $22,992 | $19,281 | 70.9% |
| Calvin University ranks 1140th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing earned a median of $43,138. | |||||
| 148 | Concordia University-Chicago · River Forest, IL | $43,071 | $18,436 | $16,795 | 92.8% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Concordia University-Chicago left with a median of $23,000 in federal loans, while the school's Communication and Media Studies graduates earned a median of $43,071 four years after completing. | |||||
| 149 | University of Sioux Falls · Sioux Falls, SD | $42,847 | $21,383 | $18,145 | 82.9% |
| University of Sioux Falls posts an average net price of $21,383 and its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing earned a median of $42,847. | |||||
| 150 | Lakeland University · Plymouth, WI | $42,682 | $24,212 | $22,453 | 86.3% |
| Lakeland University reports median earnings of $42,682 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 86%. | |||||
| 151 | Olivet Nazarene University · Bourbonnais, IL | $42,321 | $20,729 | $17,232 | 55.9% |
| Olivet Nazarene University ranks 151st on this list, and its Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans. | |||||
| 152 | Franciscan University of Steubenville · Steubenville, OH | $42,188 | $23,589 | $19,696 | 58.4% |
| Franciscan University of Steubenville admits 58% of applicants and reports median earnings of $42,188 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 153 | Missouri Southern State University · Joplin, MO | $41,771 | $12,007 | $9,759 | 97.0% |
| Missouri Southern State University ranks 631st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Communication and Media Studies completers who borrowed left with a median of $18,686 in federal loans. | |||||
| 154 | Wright State University-Main Campus · Dayton, OH | $40,908 | $15,415 | $11,952 | 96.3% |
| Wright State University-Main Campus reports median earnings of $40,908 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $15,415. | |||||
| 155 | Wisconsin Lutheran College · Milwaukee, WI | $39,009 | $23,245 | $18,190 | 78.2% |
| Wisconsin Lutheran College posts an average net price of $23,245 and its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing earned a median of $39,009. | |||||
| 156 | William Jewell College · Liberty, MO | $38,337 | $17,562 | $12,909 | 38.4% |
| William Jewell College admits 38% of applicants and reports median earnings of $38,337 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 157 | Concordia University-Saint Paul · Saint Paul, MN | $38,289 | $18,462 | $16,406 | 78.9% |
| Concordia University-Saint Paul reports median earnings of $38,289 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $18,462. | |||||
| 158 | Carroll University · Waukesha, WI | $36,488 | $15,193 | $15,718 | 66.8% |
| Carroll University admits 67% of applicants and posts an average net price of $15,718 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 159 | The College of Saint Scholastica · Duluth, MN | $36,312 | $27,846 | $14,433 | 93.0% |
| The College of Saint Scholastica ranks 680th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a 93% admission rate. | |||||
| 160 | Baker University · Baldwin City, KS | $35,060 | $25,301 | $21,057 | 94.2% |
| Baker University shows median earnings of $35,060 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, from a cohort of 11 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 161 | University of Northwestern-St Paul · Saint Paul, MN | $35,060 | $27,705 | $26,696 | 93.5% |
| University of Northwestern-St Paul has an average net price of $26,696 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 161st on this list. | |||||
| 162 | Cedarville University · Cedarville, OH | $34,958 | $24,468 | $18,987 | 65.3% |
| Cedarville University reports median earnings of $34,958 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $20,937 in federal loans. | |||||
| 163 | Maryville University of Saint Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $33,993 | $22,066 | $16,528 | 95.1% |
| Maryville University of Saint Louis ranks 221st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $22,066. | |||||
| 164 | Wilmington College · Wilmington, OH | $33,993 | $24,153 | $19,820 | 92.4% |
| Wilmington College admits 92% of applicants, and its Communication and Media Studies graduates earn a median of $33,993 four years after completing. | |||||
| 165 | Mount St. Joseph University · Cincinnati, OH | $33,281 | $16,530 | $11,689 | 59.1% |
| Mount St. Joseph University posts an average net price of $11,689 for families earning under $30,000 and a 59% admission rate. | |||||
| 166 | Lawrence Technological University · Southfield, MI | $30,771 | $32,918 | $25,980 | 55.9% |
| Lawrence Technological University reports median earnings of $30,771 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $32,918. | |||||
| 167 | Hiram College · Hiram, OH | $30,119 | $21,058 | $16,550 | 93.5% |
| Hiram College ranks 1340th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 94% of applicants. | |||||
| 168 | Eureka College · Eureka, IL | $29,685 | $17,349 | $13,711 | 85.0% |
| Eureka College shows median earnings of $29,685 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, from a cohort of 5 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 169 | Bethany Lutheran College · Mankato, MN | $27,488 | $20,148 | $12,571 | 39.0% |
| Bethany Lutheran College reports median earnings of $27,488 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, with 10 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 170 | Capital University · Columbus, OH | $25,194 | $22,576 | $19,062 | 70.2% |
| Capital University admits 70% of applicants and posts an average net price of $22,576. | |||||
| 171 | Quincy University · Quincy, IL | $23,538 | $20,359 | $16,502 | 50.9% |
| Quincy University ranks 1137th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $20,359. | |||||
| 172 | North Park University · Chicago, IL | $23,182 | $16,948 | $14,845 | 68.5% |
| North Park University shows an average net price of $14,845 for families earning under $30,000, alongside a 69% admission rate. | |||||
| 173 | Macalester College · Saint Paul, MN | $21,508 | $32,149 | $13,772 | 28.5% |
| Macalester College ranks 173rd on this list, with median earnings of $21,508 for its Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Communication and Media Studies graduates four years after completing, or two years for programs that report only a two-year figure, highest first. The median covers federally aided completers of the program who were working and not enrolled after completing. For 20 of the 173 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. Northwestern University leads University of Michigan-Ann Arbor by a gap of $13,893.
Related rankings
- Best Colleges in the Midwest
- Communication Colleges in the Midwest