Best Social Work Colleges in the Midwest (2026)
Updated
Part of Best Public Administration Colleges in the Midwest
This page ranks the 140 Social Work schools in the Midwest by the median earnings of Social Work graduates four years after completing. St Catherine University leads the list with $62,227, just $398 ahead of Creighton University at $61,829.
Across the 127 schools with a published figure, median earnings reach $50,789 and span from $62,227 to $20,140, a spread of $42,087. For 16 of the listed schools the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
The list splits almost evenly between 72 public and 68 private nonprofit institutions. University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign holds the strongest Azimuth composite rank in the group, placing 35th among nonprofit four-year institutions.
Indiana University-Northwest posts the lowest average net price on the page at $5,130, while University of Wisconsin-Madison reports the highest six-year completion rate, graduating 90% of its students within six years.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median Social Work Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | St Catherine University · Saint Paul, MN | $62,227 | $19,764 | $17,890 | 91.9% |
| St Catherine University reports $62,227 in median earnings of Social Work graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $19,764. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (32 graduates), Public Policy Analysis (7 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($62,227) | |||||
| 2 | Creighton University · Omaha, NE | $61,829 | $31,568 | $20,472 | 79.8% |
| Creighton University ranks 2nd on this list with $61,829 four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 83%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (17 graduates) | |||||
| 3 | Augsburg University · Minneapolis, MN | $60,546 | $23,873 | $21,318 | 82.0% |
| With an admission rate of 82%, Augsburg University posts $60,546 in median earnings for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (20 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($60,546) | |||||
| 4 | Loyola University Chicago · Chicago, IL | $59,206 | $36,079 | $28,992 | 81.6% |
| Loyola University Chicago shows a six-year completion rate of 73% alongside median earnings of $59,206 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (67 graduates), Human Services, General (6 graduates) | |||||
| 5 | Madonna University · Livonia, MI | $58,037 | $17,755 | $14,759 | 63.4% |
| Madonna University carries an average net price of $17,755 and reports $58,037 in median earnings of Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (15 graduates) | |||||
| 6 | Valparaiso University · Valparaiso, IN | $57,609 | $18,578 | $11,043 | 89.4% |
| Valparaiso University ranks 6th on this list, with an average net price of $11,043 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (6 graduates) | |||||
| 7 | Michigan State University · East Lansing, MI | $57,321 | $19,680 | $7,068 | 84.8% |
| Michigan State University ranks 69th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports a six-year completion rate of 81%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (54 graduates), Public Policy Analysis (22 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($57,321) | |||||
| 8 | Viterbo University · La Crosse, WI | $57,159 | $21,260 | $13,657 | 72.4% |
| Viterbo University admits 72% of applicants and reports $57,159 in median earnings of Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (11 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($57,159) | |||||
| 9 | Saginaw Valley State University · University Center, MI | $56,961 | $10,775 | $9,844 | 72.1% |
| Saginaw Valley State University, a public university in University Center, reports an average net price of $10,775 and median earnings of $56,961 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (77 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($56,961) | |||||
| 10 | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · Champaign, IL | $56,917 | $14,355 | $2,038 | 42.4% |
| University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign ranks 35th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $2,038 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (76 graduates) | |||||
| 11 | Minnesota State University-Mankato · Mankato, MN | $56,858 | $19,139 | $12,339 | 88.4% |
| Minnesota State University-Mankato reports $56,858 in median earnings of Social Work graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 54%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (73 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($56,858) | |||||
| 12 | Bemidji State University · Bemidji, MN | $56,345 | $15,261 | $10,073 | 56.0% |
| Bemidji State University admits 56% of applicants and reports an average net price of $15,261. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (21 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($56,345) | |||||
| 13 | Saint Louis University · Saint Louis, MO | $56,306 | $24,398 | $22,501 | 75.0% |
| Saint Louis University reports median earnings of $56,306 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, and its Azimuth composite rank sits at 498th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (22 graduates) | |||||
| 14 | University of St Francis · Joliet, IL | $56,259 | $13,006 | $8,547 | 65.3% |
| With an average net price of $13,006, University of St Francis ranks 14th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 67%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (13 graduates) | |||||
| 15 | University of Missouri-Columbia · Columbia, MO | $56,157 | $20,268 | $13,841 | 78.5% |
| University of Missouri-Columbia, a public university in Columbia, admits 78% of applicants and shows median earnings of $56,157 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (17 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($56,157) | |||||
| 16 | Wayne State University · Detroit, MI | $56,152 | $12,766 | $11,090 | 81.2% |
| Wayne State University ranks 16th on this list and carries an average net price of $12,766, alongside an admission rate of 81%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (96 graduates), Public Administration (6 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($56,152) | |||||
| 17 | Governors State University · University Park, IL | $56,123 | $12,329 | $9,563 | 48.3% |
| Graduates of Governors State University earn a median of $56,123 four years after completing their Social Work degree, and the school reports an average net price of $12,329. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (22 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($56,123) | |||||
| 18 | University of North Dakota · Grand Forks, ND | $56,001 | $18,551 | $13,126 | 76.9% |
| University of North Dakota ranks 18th on this list with median earnings of $56,001 four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate stands at 60%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (72 graduates), Public Administration (8 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($56,001) | |||||
| 19 | Oakland University · Rochester Hills, MI | $55,754 | $9,120 | $4,422 | 87.8% |
| An average net price of $9,120 and an admission rate of 88% accompany Oakland University's 19th position on this list. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (91 graduates), Public Administration (9 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($55,754) | |||||
| 20 | The College of Saint Scholastica · Duluth, MN | $55,743 | $27,846 | $14,433 | 93.0% |
| The College of Saint Scholastica reports median earnings of $55,743 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, and its Azimuth composite rank sits at 680th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (60 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($55,743) | |||||
| 21 | Concordia University-Wisconsin · Mequon, WI | $55,600 | $36,201 | $34,991 | 78.2% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 68%, Concordia University-Wisconsin ranks 21st on this list and reports an average net price of $36,201. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (10 graduates) | |||||
| 22 | University of Kansas · Lawrence, KS | $55,582 | $18,059 | $12,544 | 93.5% |
| University of Kansas admits 93% of applicants and shows median earnings of $55,582 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, ranking 22nd on this list. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (65 graduates), Public Administration (12 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($55,582) | |||||
| 23 | Aurora University · Aurora, IL | $55,546 | $18,838 | $14,525 | 80.9% |
| Aurora University reports median earnings of $55,546 four years after completing a Social Work degree, and its average net price is $18,838. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (203 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($55,546) | |||||
| 24 | Illinois State University · Normal, IL | $55,089 | $19,398 | $11,568 | 88.2% |
| Ranking 24th on this list, Illinois State University posts a six-year completion rate of 65% and an average net price of $19,398. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (57 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($55,089) | |||||
| 25 | Capital University · Columbus, OH | $55,078 | $22,576 | $19,062 | 70.2% |
| Capital University reports median earnings of $55,078 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate stands at 60%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (28 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($55,078) | |||||
| 26 | Bluffton University · Bluffton, OH | $55,073 | $19,943 | $16,363 | 67.2% |
| With an average net price of $19,943, Bluffton University ranks 26th on this list and posts a 67% admission rate. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (7 graduates) | |||||
| 27 | Carthage College · Kenosha, WI | $54,975 | $26,565 | $23,293 | 87.1% |
| Carthage College admits 87% of applicants and shows median earnings of $54,975 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (10 graduates) | |||||
| 28 | Northern Michigan University · Marquette, MI | $54,836 | $14,085 | $7,697 | 84.0% |
| A public university in Marquette, Northern Michigan University reports an average net price of $14,085 and ranks 674th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (21 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($54,836) | |||||
| 29 | Bethel University · Saint Paul, MN | $54,448 | $28,556 | $22,218 | 87.8% |
| Bethel University graduates 71% of its students within six years, alongside median earnings of $54,448 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (17 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($54,448) | |||||
| 30 | University of Wisconsin-Madison · Madison, WI | $54,375 | $17,354 | $4,200 | 45.2% |
| Ranking 30th on this list, University of Wisconsin-Madison reports an average net price of $17,354 and a six-year completion rate of 90%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (71 graduates) | |||||
| 31 | Adrian College · Adrian, MI | $54,277 | $25,368 | $19,542 | 72.5% |
| Adrian College shows median earnings of $54,277 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate is 73%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (11 graduates) | |||||
| 32 | University of Wisconsin-Green Bay · Green Bay, WI | $54,252 | $13,369 | $9,144 | 88.6% |
| With an average net price of $13,369, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay ranks 32nd on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 48%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (35 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($54,252) | |||||
| 33 | University of Minnesota-Duluth · Duluth, MN | $54,226 | $18,743 | $7,256 | 88.8% |
| University of Minnesota-Duluth admits 89% of applicants and posts median earnings of $54,226 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (38 graduates) | |||||
| 34 | University of Wisconsin-Superior · Superior, WI | $54,195 | $12,220 | $9,679 | 93.0% |
| A public university in Superior, University of Wisconsin-Superior reports an average net price of $12,220 and ranks 1025th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (27 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($54,195) | |||||
| 35 | Western Illinois University · Macomb, IL | $54,063 | $12,937 | $6,941 | 71.2% |
| Western Illinois University graduates 45% of its students within six years, alongside median earnings of $54,063 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (22 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($54,063) | |||||
| 36 | Winona State University · Winona, MN | $54,056 | $17,503 | $10,224 | 75.5% |
| Ranking 36th on this list, Winona State University reports an average net price of $17,503 and an admission rate of 75%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (85 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($54,056) | |||||
| 37 | Northeastern Illinois University · Chicago, IL | $53,848 | $14,109 | $13,709 | 74.6% |
| Northeastern Illinois University reports median earnings of $53,848 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $14,109. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (96 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($53,848) | |||||
| 38 | Bradley University · Peoria, IL | $53,715 | $22,719 | $17,269 | 76.8% |
| A private nonprofit university in Peoria, Bradley University admits 77% of applicants and graduates 76% of its students within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (22 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($53,715) | |||||
| 39 | Fort Hays State University · Hays, KS | $53,549 | $12,569 | $7,661 | 90.3% |
| Fort Hays State University ranks 39th on this list, with Social Work graduates earning a median of $53,549 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (33 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($53,549) | |||||
| 40 | Lindenwood University · Saint Charles, MO | $53,359 | $19,638 | $15,678 | 56.8% |
| Lindenwood University posts a six-year completion rate of 49% and an average net price of $15,678 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (9 graduates) | |||||
| 41 | Ferris State University · Big Rapids, MI | $53,351 | $8,624 | $2,556 | 91.4% |
| With an average net price of $8,624, Ferris State University ranks 198th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (45 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($53,351) | |||||
| 42 | Central Michigan University · Mount Pleasant, MI | $53,279 | $17,597 | $12,185 | 89.8% |
| Central Michigan University admits 90% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 59%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Community Organization and Advocacy (111 graduates), Social Work (42 graduates), Public Administration (22 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Community Organization and Advocacy ($58,344), Social Work ($53,279) | |||||
| 43 | University of Nebraska at Kearney · Kearney, NE | $53,203 | $16,242 | $13,066 | 89.5% |
| University of Nebraska at Kearney reports median earnings of $53,203 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $16,242. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (38 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($53,203) | |||||
| 44 | Eastern Michigan University · Ypsilanti, MI | $52,962 | $15,407 | $13,250 | 79.6% |
| A public university in Ypsilanti, Eastern Michigan University admits 80% of applicants and graduates 46% of its students within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (138 graduates), Public Administration (12 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($52,962) | |||||
| 45 | University of Wisconsin-Whitewater · Whitewater, WI | $52,888 | $14,158 | $8,440 | 85.7% |
| University of Wisconsin-Whitewater ranks 385th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $14,158. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (62 graduates), Public Administration (8 graduates) | |||||
| 46 | Millikin University · Decatur, IL | $52,870 | $21,989 | $18,659 | 66.7% |
| Millikin University reports median earnings of $52,870 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $21,989. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (8 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($52,870) | |||||
| 47 | Saint Cloud State University · Saint Cloud, MN | $52,765 | $13,529 | $8,909 | 94.8% |
| Saint Cloud State University admits 95% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 40%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (60 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($52,765) | |||||
| 48 | Cornerstone University · Grand Rapids, MI | $52,568 | $20,301 | $20,177 | 77.8% |
| Cornerstone University posts a six-year completion rate of 62% and an average net price of $20,177 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (7 graduates) | |||||
| 49 | Southern Illinois University Edwardsville · Edwardsville, IL | $52,480 | $14,889 | $8,483 | 97.5% |
| Southern Illinois University Edwardsville reports median earnings of $52,480 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $14,889. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (33 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($52,480) | |||||
| 50 | Cedarville University · Cedarville, OH | $52,471 | $24,468 | $18,987 | 65.3% |
| Cedarville University, a private nonprofit university in Cedarville, ranks 50th on this list with a six-year completion rate of 73%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (18 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($52,471) | |||||
| 51 | University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire · Eau Claire, WI | $52,461 | $16,550 | $10,270 | 82.3% |
| University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire admits 82% of applicants and posts median earnings of $52,461 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (61 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($52,461) | |||||
| 52 | University of Iowa · Iowa City, IA | $52,451 | $22,531 | $15,316 | 83.6% |
| Graduates of University of Iowa earn a median of $52,451 four years after completing, and the school ranks 184th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (51 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($52,451) | |||||
| 53 | Trinity Christian College · Palos Heights, IL | $52,382 | $19,125 | $12,891 | 84.9% |
| Trinity Christian College reports an average net price of $12,891 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $52,382 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (10 graduates) | |||||
| 54 | University of Missouri-St Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $52,337 | $15,071 | $13,031 | 62.7% |
| University of Missouri-St Louis graduates 57% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $52,337 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (74 graduates), Public Administration (7 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($52,337) | |||||
| 55 | Olivet Nazarene University · Bourbonnais, IL | $52,114 | $20,729 | $17,232 | 55.9% |
| Olivet Nazarene University ranks 55th on this list, with an admission rate of 56% and an average net price of $20,729. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (23 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($52,114) | |||||
| 56 | Xavier University · Cincinnati, OH | $52,014 | $32,997 | $26,728 | 86.4% |
| Xavier University reports median earnings of $52,014 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $32,997. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (13 graduates) | |||||
| 57 | Marian University · Fond Du Lac, WI | $51,997 | $21,937 | $17,449 | 75.0% |
| Marian University, a private nonprofit university in Fond Du Lac, posts a six-year completion rate of 44% and median earnings of $51,997 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (17 graduates) | |||||
| 58 | Minot State University · Minot, ND | $51,931 | $12,703 | $9,492 | 64.6% |
| Minot State University reports an average net price of $9,492 for families earning under $30,000, and its Social Work graduates earn a median of $51,931 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (45 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($51,931) | |||||
| 59 | Lewis University · Romeoville, IL | $51,859 | $17,028 | $10,382 | 71.3% |
| Lewis University ranks 629th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its admission rate is 71%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (26 graduates) | |||||
| 60 | Mount Vernon Nazarene University · Mount Vernon, OH | $51,766 | $22,421 | $22,358 | 84.2% |
| Mount Vernon Nazarene University reports median earnings of $51,766 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 68%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (31 graduates), Public Administration (7 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($51,766) | |||||
| 61 | Anderson University · Anderson, IN | $51,748 | $25,021 | $23,119 | 79.3% |
| Anderson University, a private nonprofit university in Anderson, reports $51,748 in median earnings for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (8 graduates) | |||||
| 62 | University of Wisconsin-River Falls · River Falls, WI | $51,694 | $14,054 | $8,472 | 81.7% |
| University of Wisconsin-River Falls admits 82% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 57%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (15 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($51,694) | |||||
| 63 | Indiana University-Northwest · Gary, IN | $51,575 | $5,130 | $1,419 | 73.4% |
| With an average net price of $5,130, Indiana University-Northwest ranks 63rd on this list and holds the lowest average net price among the 140 schools. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (27 graduates), Public Administration (11 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($51,575) | |||||
| 64 | University of Central Missouri · Warrensburg, MO | $51,349 | $14,462 | $10,965 | 63.8% |
| University of Central Missouri reports $51,349 in median earnings for its Social Work graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $14,462. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (33 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($51,349) | |||||
| 65 | Bowling Green State University-Main Campus · Bowling Green, OH | $51,267 | $24,022 | $18,396 | 81.0% |
| Bowling Green State University-Main Campus graduates 64% of its students within six years and ranks 740th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (54 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($51,267) | |||||
| 66 | University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh · Oshkosh, WI | $51,044 | $14,305 | $9,236 | 86.5% |
| University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh reports an average net price of $9,236 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 46%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Human Services, General (57 graduates), Social Work (48 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($51,044) | |||||
| 67 | University of Akron Main Campus · Akron, OH | $50,823 | $13,946 | $10,413 | 59.7% |
| An average net price of $13,946 and a six-year completion rate of 52% accompany University of Akron Main Campus's median earnings of $50,823 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (75 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,823) | |||||
| 68 | Loras College · Dubuque, IA | $50,789 | $20,716 | $20,479 | 99.9% |
| Loras College admits 100% of applicants and reports an average net price of $20,716. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (21 graduates) | |||||
| 69 | Defiance College · Defiance, OH | $50,745 | $26,337 | $27,196 | 47.6% |
| Defiance College reports $50,745 in median earnings for its Social Work graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 31%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (7 graduates) | |||||
| 70 | University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point · Stevens Point, WI | $50,710 | $14,559 | $8,833 | 91.8% |
| University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point ranks 519th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $8,833 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (38 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,710) | |||||
| 71 | Grand Valley State University · Allendale, MI | $50,690 | $16,317 | $12,272 | 83.0% |
| Grand Valley State University ranks 210th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and graduates 67% of its students within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (112 graduates), Public Administration (53 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,690), Public Administration ($49,776) | |||||
| 72 | University of Indianapolis · Indianapolis, IN | $50,666 | $21,602 | $15,346 | 66.5% |
| University of Indianapolis reports $50,666 in median earnings for its Social Work graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $15,346 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (26 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,666) | |||||
| 73 | University of Northern Iowa · Cedar Falls, IA | $50,629 | $15,901 | $10,863 | 92.7% |
| A public university in Cedar Falls, University of Northern Iowa ranks 435th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $10,863 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (73 graduates), Public Administration (6 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Administration ($58,307), Social Work ($50,629) | |||||
| 74 | St Olaf College · Northfield, MN | $50,611 | $23,874 | $10,404 | 48.3% |
| St Olaf College reports $50,611 in median earnings for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, and admits 48% of applicants. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (14 graduates) | |||||
| 75 | Ohio State University-Main Campus · Columbus, OH | $50,596 | $17,339 | $4,885 | 60.6% |
| A public university in Columbus, Ohio State University-Main Campus has an average net price of $17,339 and a six-year completion rate of 88%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (143 graduates), Public Administration (95 graduates), Public Policy Analysis (32 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Administration ($60,678), Social Work ($50,596) | |||||
| 76 | Siena Heights University · Adrian, MI | $50,593 | $17,124 | $15,624 | 68.9% |
| Siena Heights University has an admission rate of 69% and an average net price of $15,624 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Community Organization and Advocacy (25 graduates), Social Work (11 graduates) | |||||
| 77 | University of Detroit Mercy · Detroit, MI | $50,535 | $15,232 | $13,088 | 75.4% |
| Graduates of University of Detroit Mercy earn a median of $50,535 four years after completing their Social Work degree, and the school's six-year completion rate stands at 67%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (14 graduates) | |||||
| 78 | University of Illinois Springfield · Springfield, IL | $50,516 | $9,833 | $5,778 | 85.9% |
| University of Illinois Springfield reports an average net price of $9,833 and a six-year completion rate of 53%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (18 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,516) | |||||
| 79 | Kansas State University · Manhattan, KS | $50,480 | $19,406 | $13,178 | 81.7% |
| With median earnings of $50,480 four years after completing, Kansas State University admits 82% of applicants and ranks 342nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (31 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,480) | |||||
| 80 | Minnesota State University Moorhead · Moorhead, MN | $50,419 | $17,997 | $11,129 | 58.8% |
| Minnesota State University Moorhead reports $50,419 in median earnings for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $11,129 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (56 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,419) | |||||
| 81 | University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee · Milwaukee, WI | $50,392 | $15,014 | $10,329 | 90.7% |
| University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee admits 91% of applicants and reports median earnings of $50,392 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (75 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,392) | |||||
| 82 | Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion · Marion, IN | $50,351 | $22,866 | $19,793 | 88.9% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Marion, Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion reports an average net price of $22,866 and a six-year completion rate of 67%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (32 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,351) | |||||
| 83 | Ball State University · Muncie, IN | $50,321 | $14,940 | $7,834 | 85.5% |
| Ball State University reports median earnings of $50,321 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $7,834 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (54 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,321) | |||||
| 84 | Briar Cliff University · Sioux City, IA | $50,315 | $23,907 | $17,764 | Not reported |
| Briar Cliff University reports $50,315 in median earnings four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 48%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (16 graduates) | |||||
| 85 | Indiana University-Indianapolis · Indianapolis, IN | $50,246 | $11,668 | $5,701 | 76.4% |
| Indiana University-Indianapolis, a public university in Indianapolis, ranks 85th on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 54%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (147 graduates), Public Administration (64 graduates), Community Organization and Advocacy (7 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Administration ($60,564), Social Work ($50,246) | |||||
| 86 | University of Nebraska at Omaha · Omaha, NE | $50,169 | $13,441 | $10,534 | 87.0% |
| University of Nebraska at Omaha posts median earnings of $50,169 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $13,441. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (45 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,169) | |||||
| 87 | Washburn University · Topeka, KS | $50,122 | $15,280 | $20,310 | Not reported |
| With an average net price of $20,310 for families earning under $30,000, Washburn University ranks 87th on this page and reports a six-year completion rate of 53%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (23 graduates), Public Administration (5 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,122) | |||||
| 88 | Southern Illinois University-Carbondale · Carbondale, IL | $49,952 | $13,297 | $9,415 | 86.9% |
| Southern Illinois University-Carbondale admits 87% of applicants and its Social Work graduates earn a median of $49,952 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (31 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($49,952) | |||||
| 89 | Missouri Southern State University · Joplin, MO | $49,855 | $12,007 | $9,759 | 97.0% |
| Ranking 89th on this list, Missouri Southern State University reports median earnings of $49,855 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 42%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (21 graduates), Public Policy Analysis (7 graduates) | |||||
| 90 | Western Michigan University · Kalamazoo, MI | $49,850 | $15,273 | $5,263 | 84.6% |
| Western Michigan University carries an average net price of $5,263 for families earning under $30,000 and its Social Work graduates earn a median of $49,850 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (73 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($49,850) | |||||
| 91 | Calvin University · Grand Rapids, MI | $49,811 | $22,992 | $19,281 | 70.9% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Grand Rapids, Calvin University ranks 91st on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 74%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (16 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($49,811) | |||||
| 92 | Ohio University-Main Campus · Athens, OH | $49,690 | $21,637 | $15,673 | 85.0% |
| Ohio University-Main Campus posts median earnings of $49,690 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 85%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (35 graduates), Human Services, General (18 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($49,690) | |||||
| 93 | Wichita State University · Wichita, KS | $49,670 | $13,194 | $9,734 | 94.0% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 51%, Wichita State University ranks 93rd on this page and reports an average net price of $13,194. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (71 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($49,670) | |||||
| 94 | Spring Arbor University · Spring Arbor, MI | $49,642 | $19,353 | $14,530 | 51.5% |
| Spring Arbor University admits 52% of applicants and its Social Work graduates earn a median of $49,642 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (63 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($49,642) | |||||
| 95 | Hope College · Holland, MI | $49,587 | $27,182 | $17,606 | 79.2% |
| Ranking 95th on this list, Hope College reports an average net price of $17,606 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 80%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (33 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($49,587) | |||||
| 96 | Miami University-Oxford · Oxford, OH | $49,572 | $28,384 | $16,015 | 75.4% |
| Miami University-Oxford posts median earnings of $49,572 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $28,384. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (38 graduates), Public Administration (24 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($49,572) | |||||
| 97 | Saint Mary's College · Notre Dame, IN | $49,555 | $25,292 | $16,760 | 76.0% |
| Saint Mary's College, a private nonprofit university in Notre Dame, reports median earnings of $49,555 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (18 graduates) | |||||
| 98 | Mount Mercy University · Cedar Rapids, IA | $49,542 | $20,168 | $17,070 | 82.5% |
| Mount Mercy University admits 83% of applicants and its Social Work graduates earn a median of $49,542 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (17 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($49,542) | |||||
| 99 | University of Cincinnati-Main Campus · Cincinnati, OH | $49,465 | $25,648 | $17,974 | 85.3% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 75%, University of Cincinnati-Main Campus posts median earnings of $49,465 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (73 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($49,465) | |||||
| 100 | Youngstown State University · Youngstown, OH | $49,361 | $12,767 | $9,328 | 84.5% |
| Youngstown State University carries an average net price of $12,767 and its Social Work graduates earn a median of $49,361 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (81 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($49,361) | |||||
| 101 | University of Michigan-Flint · Flint, MI | $49,165 | $7,007 | $1,517 | 70.5% |
| University of Michigan-Flint reports an average net price of $1,517 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $49,165 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (37 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($49,165) | |||||
| 102 | Nebraska Wesleyan University · Lincoln, NE | $48,785 | $18,327 | $14,925 | 79.8% |
| Nebraska Wesleyan University ranks 824th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $48,785 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (28 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($48,785) | |||||
| 103 | Cleveland State University · Cleveland, OH | $48,571 | $14,764 | $11,958 | 91.3% |
| Cleveland State University admits 91% of applicants and its Social Work graduates earn a median of $48,571 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (70 graduates), Public Administration (11 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($48,571) | |||||
| 104 | Indiana University-South Bend · South Bend, IN | $48,344 | $8,653 | $4,637 | 83.8% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 40%, Indiana University-South Bend reports median earnings of $48,344 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (32 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($48,344) | |||||
| 105 | Central State University · Wilberforce, OH | $47,853 | $13,096 | $19,581 | 98.6% |
| Central State University carries an average net price of $13,096 and its Social Work graduates earn a median of $47,853 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (14 graduates) | |||||
| 106 | Luther College · Decorah, IA | $47,660 | $23,097 | $12,517 | 71.5% |
| Luther College reports an average net price of $12,517 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $47,660 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (15 graduates) | |||||
| 107 | Wright State University-Main Campus · Dayton, OH | $47,235 | $15,415 | $11,952 | 96.3% |
| Wright State University-Main Campus ranks 377th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $47,235 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (45 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($47,235) | |||||
| 108 | Ashland University · Ashland, OH | $47,094 | $21,988 | $16,489 | 76.4% |
| Ashland University admits 76% of applicants and its Social Work graduates earn a median of $47,094 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (8 graduates) | |||||
| 109 | Indiana State University · Terre Haute, IN | $46,548 | $10,873 | $6,455 | 80.8% |
| Indiana State University reports median earnings of $46,548 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $10,873. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (31 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($46,548) | |||||
| 110 | University of Sioux Falls · Sioux Falls, SD | $46,451 | $21,383 | $18,145 | 82.9% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 63%, University of Sioux Falls ranks 110th on this list and shows median earnings of $46,451 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (13 graduates) | |||||
| 111 | Missouri State University-Springfield · Springfield, MO | $46,403 | $17,613 | $13,718 | 90.5% |
| Missouri State University-Springfield admits 91% of applicants and posts median earnings of $46,403 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (38 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($46,403) | |||||
| 112 | Malone University · Canton, OH | $46,238 | $20,948 | $13,290 | 75.9% |
| Malone University has an average net price of $13,290 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $46,238 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (17 graduates) | |||||
| 113 | Missouri Western State University · Saint Joseph, MO | $46,187 | $13,251 | $11,243 | Not reported |
| Graduates of Missouri Western State University earn a median of $46,187 four years after completing, and the school reports a six-year completion rate of 39%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (16 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($46,187) | |||||
| 114 | University of Toledo · Toledo, OH | $45,476 | $17,249 | $13,524 | 92.0% |
| University of Toledo ranks 380th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Social Work graduates earn a median of $45,476 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (46 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($45,476) | |||||
| 115 | Southwest Minnesota State University · Marshall, MN | $45,467 | $15,291 | $10,559 | 62.2% |
| Southwest Minnesota State University reports an average net price of $15,291 and median earnings of $45,467 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (15 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($45,467) | |||||
| 116 | Franciscan University of Steubenville · Steubenville, OH | $44,867 | $23,589 | $19,696 | 58.4% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 75%, Franciscan University of Steubenville shows median earnings of $44,867 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (25 graduates) | |||||
| 117 | Concordia College at Moorhead · Moorhead, MN | $44,170 | $24,902 | $20,950 | 62.7% |
| Concordia College at Moorhead reports median earnings of $44,170 two years after completing, and its average net price is $24,902. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (13 graduates) | |||||
| 118 | University of Saint Francis-Fort Wayne · Fort Wayne, IN | $43,989 | $18,196 | $12,720 | 96.0% |
| University of Saint Francis-Fort Wayne admits 96% of applicants and posts median earnings of $43,989 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (6 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($43,989) | |||||
| 119 | Indiana University-East · Richmond, IN | $43,470 | $8,134 | $5,154 | 67.2% |
| Indiana University-East has an average net price of $5,154 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $43,470 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (17 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($43,470) | |||||
| 120 | Southeast Missouri State University · Cape Girardeau, MO | $43,260 | $15,882 | $12,704 | 73.5% |
| Southeast Missouri State University ranks 632nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Social Work graduates earn a median of $43,260 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (28 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($43,260) | |||||
| 121 | Grand View University · Des Moines, IA | $41,210 | $21,774 | $18,512 | 99.1% |
| Grand View University, a private nonprofit university in Des Moines, ranks 121st on this list and 727th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (16 graduates), Human Services, General (12 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Human Services, General ($44,106) | |||||
| 122 | Goshen College · Goshen, IN | $39,176 | $14,493 | $12,761 | 84.1% |
| Goshen College reports median earnings of $39,176 for its Social Work graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 65%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (9 graduates) | |||||
| 123 | National Louis University · Chicago, IL | No published median | $12,641 | $12,462 | 95.1% |
| National Louis University posts an average net price of $12,462 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 123rd on this list. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Administration and Social Service Professions, Other (47 graduates), Social Work (16 graduates) | |||||
| 124 | Lourdes University · Sylvania, OH | $37,088 | $23,206 | $22,220 | 74.1% |
| Lourdes University shows median earnings of $37,088 for its Social Work graduates two years after completing, and its admission rate is 74%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (10 graduates) | |||||
| 125 | University of St Thomas · Saint Paul, MN | $36,275 | $29,155 | $28,131 | 85.4% |
| University of St Thomas admits 85% of applicants and graduates 76% of its students within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (17 graduates) | |||||
| 126 | Mount Mary University · Milwaukee, WI | $34,526 | $20,144 | $18,155 | 62.3% |
| Mount Mary University reports median earnings of $34,526 for its Social Work graduates two years after completing, with an average net price of $20,144. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (9 graduates) | |||||
| 127 | Bethel College-North Newton · North Newton, KS | $33,993 | $32,917 | $35,147 | 93.5% |
| Bethel College-North Newton graduates 41% within six years and ranks 1373rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (6 graduates) | |||||
| 128 | North Central University · Minneapolis, MN | $33,565 | $25,817 | $20,450 | 99.0% |
| North Central University reports median earnings of $33,565 for its Social Work graduates two years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 66%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (13 graduates) | |||||
| 129 | Lincoln University · Jefferson City, MO | No published median | $19,092 | $20,070 | Not reported |
| Lincoln University, a public university in Jefferson City, ranks 129th on this list and 859th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (13 graduates) | |||||
| 130 | College of the Ozarks · Point Lookout, MO | No published median | $6,100 | $6,381 | 12.0% |
| College of the Ozarks posts an average net price of $6,100, admits 12% of applicants, and ranks 130th on this list. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (10 graduates) | |||||
| 131 | Marquette University · Milwaukee, WI | $32,569 | $31,487 | $22,269 | 81.3% |
| Marquette University reports median earnings of $32,569 for its Social Work graduates two years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 83%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (14 graduates) | |||||
| 132 | Huntington University · Huntington, IN | $32,569 | $19,310 | $10,796 | 75.6% |
| Huntington University admits 76% of applicants and reports median earnings of $32,569 for its Social Work graduates two years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (12 graduates) | |||||
| 133 | Taylor University · Upland, IN | $31,133 | $24,865 | $16,143 | 73.5% |
| Taylor University reports median earnings of $31,133 for its Social Work graduates two years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 74%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (9 graduates) | |||||
| 134 | Buena Vista University · Storm Lake, IA | $28,598 | $18,846 | $12,901 | 77.6% |
| Buena Vista University admits 78% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 62%, with an average net price of $18,846. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Human Services, General (60 graduates), Social Work (5 graduates) | |||||
| 135 | The University of Findlay · Findlay, OH | $28,598 | $27,221 | $22,052 | 83.4% |
| With an average net price of $27,221, The University of Findlay reports median earnings of $28,598 for its Social Work graduates two years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (8 graduates) | |||||
| 136 | Dordt University · Sioux Center, IA | $28,381 | $25,807 | $22,597 | 68.5% |
| Dordt University graduates 70% within six years and reports median earnings of $28,381 for its Social Work graduates two years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (13 graduates) | |||||
| 137 | Concordia University-Chicago · River Forest, IL | $26,739 | $18,436 | $16,795 | 92.8% |
| Concordia University-Chicago ranks 520th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an admission rate of 93%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (9 graduates) | |||||
| 138 | Purdue University Northwest · Hammond, IN | $26,715 | $6,079 | $1,432 | 72.4% |
| A public university in Hammond, Purdue University Northwest posts an average net price of $6,079 and a six-year completion rate of 43%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (12 graduates) | |||||
| 139 | Wartburg College · Waverly, IA | $26,121 | $32,908 | $21,688 | 75.8% |
| Wartburg College reports median earnings of $26,121 for its Social Work graduates two years after completing, alongside an average net price of $32,908. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (13 graduates) | |||||
| 140 | Evangel University · Springfield, MO | $20,140 | $18,669 | $16,198 | 71.6% |
| Evangel University admits 72% of applicants and reports median earnings of $20,140 for its Social Work graduates two years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (12 graduates) | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Social Work graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Social Work earnings cohort in the Midwest appear. The figure captures federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after finishing the program. For 16 of the 140 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 127 schools with a published figure. The gap between first-ranked St Catherine University and second-ranked Creighton University is $398.
Job market context in the Midwest
Social Work graduates in the Midwest enter occupations such as Social and Human Service Assistants, Child, Family, and School Social Workers, and Healthcare Social Workers. Across those occupations the median annual wage is $58,430, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $47,730. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 6.2% higher, with 132,600 projected openings a year and about 1,566 openings a year for every hundred graduates, more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses graduate earnings four years after completing, not the occupation-wide wages shown here.
Related rankings
- Public Administration Colleges in the United States
- Best Colleges in the Midwest
- Best Public Administration Colleges in the Midwest
- Best Public Administration Colleges in the Northeast
- Best Public Administration Colleges in the South
- Best Public Administration Colleges in the West
- Public Administration Colleges in the Midwest for Social Mobility
- Best Social Work Colleges for Social Mobility in the Midwest