College research / Rankings

Subject-Specific Teacher Education Programs in the Midwest

Updated

Part of Best Education Colleges in the Midwest

Regional list from Best Subject-Specific Teacher Education Programs by Earnings

This page ranks 156 Subject-Specific Teacher Education programs in the Midwest by the median earnings of Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, highest first. Southern Illinois University-Carbondale leads the list with median earnings of $67,961 for its graduates four years after completing.

Across the listed programs, the figure ranges from $67,961 to $25,194, with a median of $48,444. For 36 of the 156 programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.

Public institutions account for 89 of the listed programs and private nonprofits for 67. University of Illinois Chicago ranks 17th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, the best on this page. College of the Ozarks posts the lowest average net price at $6,100.

The ranked list

156 schools in list order
RankSchoolProgram EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Southern Illinois University-Carbondale · Carbondale, IL$67,961$13,297$9,41586.9%
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale ranks 1st on this list, with median earnings of $67,961 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
2University of Illinois Chicago · Chicago, IL$63,233$10,974$7,52977.4%
University of Illinois Chicago reports an admission rate of 77% and a median of $63,233 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
3Wayne State University · Detroit, MI$58,743$12,766$11,09081.2%
Wayne State University's Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $21,250 in federal loans, and the program's graduates earned a median of $58,743 four years after completing.
4Indiana University-Bloomington · Bloomington, IN$58,390$16,264$6,32478.2%
Indiana University-Bloomington ranks 96th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $58,390 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
5DePaul University · Chicago, IL$57,957$30,902$27,35975.9%
A private nonprofit university in Chicago, DePaul University has an average net price of $30,902 and median earnings of $57,957 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
6University of Wisconsin-Stout · Menomonie, WI$56,563$17,490$10,96687.7%
University of Wisconsin-Stout's Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing earned a median of $56,563, and median federal debt among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed was $22,963.
7Elmhurst University · Elmhurst, IL$56,411$24,185$17,89273.6%
Elmhurst University reports median earnings of $56,411 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $17,892 for families earning under $30,000.
8Morningside University · Sioux City, IA$56,166$31,320$33,73871.0%
Morningside University ranks 8th on this list and reports a median of $56,166 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
9Concordia University-Chicago · River Forest, IL$55,212$18,436$16,79592.8%
Concordia University-Chicago admits 93% of applicants and reports median earnings of $55,212 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
10Valparaiso University · Valparaiso, IN$54,933$18,578$11,04389.4%
Valparaiso University's Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $26,755 in federal loans, and the program's graduates earned a median of $54,933 four years after completing.
11University of Minnesota-Twin Cities · Minneapolis, MN$54,799$16,778$6,64279.8%
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities reports median earnings of $54,799 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, and a median federal debt of $19,500 across all of the school's borrowers who completed.
12Indiana State University · Terre Haute, IN$54,610$10,873$6,45580.8%
Indiana State University has an average net price of $6,455 for families earning under $30,000 and reports median earnings of $54,610 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
13Purdue University-Main Campus · West Lafayette, IN$54,559$14,600$5,09849.9%
Purdue University-Main Campus reports median earnings of $54,559 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $14,600.
14Eastern Illinois University · Charleston, IL$54,548$12,786$9,82865.4%
Eastern Illinois University ranks 14th on this list and shows a median federal debt of $27,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed.
15Illinois State University · Normal, IL$54,452$19,398$11,56888.2%
With an admission rate of 88%, Illinois State University posts median earnings of $54,452 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
16University of Wisconsin-River Falls · River Falls, WI$54,043$14,054$8,47281.7%
University of Wisconsin-River Falls sits 16th on this page and carries an average net price of $8,472 for families earning under $30,000.
17Fort Hays State University · Hays, KS$53,945$12,569$7,66190.3%
Fort Hays State University reports median earnings of $53,945 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with a median federal debt of $19,124 among those completers who borrowed.
18Saint Xavier University · Chicago, IL$53,898$10,970$7,57284.3%
A private nonprofit university in Chicago, Saint Xavier University ranks 176th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
19Northern Illinois University · Dekalb, IL$53,672$13,391$10,12669.8%
Northern Illinois University admits 70% of applicants and reports median earnings of $53,672 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
20University of Dubuque · Dubuque, IA$53,514$23,386$18,10688.6%
University of Dubuque shows an average net price of $23,386 and a school-wide median federal debt of $25,750 across all of its borrowers who completed.
21University of Wisconsin-La Crosse · La Crosse, WI$53,218$16,210$8,22475.5%
Median earnings of $53,218 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing place University of Wisconsin-La Crosse 21st on this list.
22Albion College · Albion, MI$53,210$14,301$10,03680.7%
Albion College carries a median federal debt of $26,047 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed and an average net price of $10,036 for families earning under $30,000.
23Bethel University · Mishawaka, IN$53,186$18,610$17,58097.7%
Bethel University reports median earnings of $53,186 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside a school-wide median federal debt of $25,000 across all of its borrowers who completed.
24Millikin University · Decatur, IL$52,910$21,989$18,65966.7%
Millikin University admits 67% of applicants and shows an average net price of $21,989.
25Black Hills State University · Spearfish, SD$52,883$15,911$11,86396.3%
Black Hills State University ranks 25th on this list, with median earnings of $52,883 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $15,911.
26Indiana University-Indianapolis · Indianapolis, IN$52,841$11,668$5,70176.4%
Indiana University-Indianapolis shows median federal debt of $19,894 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed, alongside an average net price of $5,701 for families earning under $30,000.
27VanderCook College of Music · Chicago, IL$52,671$19,780$16,30889.5%
VanderCook College of Music, a private nonprofit college in Chicago, reports median earnings of $52,671 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
28Iowa State University · Ames, IA$52,622$18,589$10,58288.7%
With 71 graduates in the earnings cohort, Iowa State University posts median earnings of $52,622 and an average net price of $18,589.
29Valley City State University · Valley City, ND$52,500$11,890$7,87999.1%
Valley City State University ranks 29th on this list, with an average net price of $7,879 for families earning under $30,000 and a 99% admission rate.
30Ohio State University-Main Campus · Columbus, OH$52,459$17,339$4,88560.6%
Ohio State University-Main Campus reports median earnings of $52,459 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 212 graduates in the earnings cohort.
31University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · Champaign, IL$52,409$14,355$2,03842.4%
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign admits 42% of applicants and ranks 35th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
32North Dakota State University-Main Campus · Fargo, ND$52,339$15,543$9,37095.0%
North Dakota State University-Main Campus shows median federal debt of $24,791 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed, and its graduates four years after completing earned a median of $52,339.
33University of Kansas · Lawrence, KS$52,106$18,059$12,54493.5%
University of Kansas ranks 33rd on this list, with an average net price of $18,059 and a 93% admission rate.
34Augustana College · Rock Island, IL$52,092$22,736$15,78762.7%
Augustana College, a private nonprofit college in Rock Island, reports median earnings of $52,092 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
35St Olaf College · Northfield, MN$51,909$23,874$10,40448.3%
St Olaf College posts an average net price of $10,404 for families earning under $30,000, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans.
36Bethel University · Saint Paul, MN$51,866$28,556$22,21887.8%
Bethel University admits 88% of applicants and reports median earnings of $51,866 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
37Capital University · Columbus, OH$51,851$22,576$19,06270.2%
Capital University reports $51,851 in median earnings for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $22,576.
38Concordia College at Moorhead · Moorhead, MN$51,840$24,902$20,95062.7%
Concordia College at Moorhead posts an average net price of $24,902, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with median federal debt of $27,000.
39University of Indianapolis · Indianapolis, IN$51,742$21,602$15,34666.5%
University of Indianapolis ranks 39th on this list and sits 776th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
40Wichita State University · Wichita, KS$51,728$13,194$9,73494.0%
A public university in Wichita, Wichita State University posts an admission rate of 94% and median earnings of $51,728 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
41Ferris State University · Big Rapids, MI$51,484$8,624$2,55691.4%
Ferris State University shows an average net price of $2,556 for families earning under $30,000, with median earnings of $51,484 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
42University of Nebraska-Lincoln · Lincoln, NE$51,293$17,747$12,75187.5%
With 139 graduates in the earnings cohort, University of Nebraska-Lincoln reports $51,293 in median earnings for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
43Western Illinois University · Macomb, IL$51,255$12,937$6,94171.2%
Western Illinois University carries a school-wide median federal debt of $25,251 across all of its borrowers who completed, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earned a median of $51,255 four years after completing.
44University of North Dakota · Grand Forks, ND$51,253$18,551$13,12676.9%
University of North Dakota admits 77% of applicants and reports median earnings of $51,253 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
45North Central College · Naperville, IL$51,247$21,044$12,50777.3%
Ranking 45th on this list, North Central College shows median federal debt of $27,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed.
46University of Wisconsin-Whitewater · Whitewater, WI$50,827$14,158$8,44085.7%
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater posts an average net price of $14,158 and median earnings of $50,827 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
47Chadron State College · Chadron, NE$50,643$12,549$10,047Not reported
Chadron State College reports median federal debt of $21,975 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $50,643 four years after completing.
48Emporia State University · Emporia, KS$50,458$16,261$11,45297.7%
With an admission rate of 98%, Emporia State University reports $50,458 in median earnings for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
49Minnesota State University-Mankato · Mankato, MN$50,337$19,139$12,33988.4%
Minnesota State University-Mankato reports median earnings of $50,337 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 70 graduates in the earnings cohort.
50University of South Dakota · Vermillion, SD$50,270$19,858$14,92198.8%
University of South Dakota admits 99% of applicants and carries a median federal debt of $25,500 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed.
51Ball State University · Muncie, IN$50,260$14,940$7,83485.5%
Ball State University ranks 51st on this list and carries an average net price of $14,940.
52University of Northern Iowa · Cedar Falls, IA$50,144$15,901$10,86392.7%
University of Northern Iowa sits on Azimuth's composite ranking at 435th among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside median earnings of $50,144 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
53Michigan State University · East Lansing, MI$50,127$19,680$7,06884.8%
Michigan State University posts an average net price of $7,068 for families earning under $30,000 and a median federal debt of $25,375 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed.
54Northeastern Illinois University · Chicago, IL$50,105$14,109$13,70974.6%
Northeastern Illinois University reports median earnings of $50,105 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 75%.
55Minot State University · Minot, ND$50,105$12,703$9,49264.6%
Minot State University ranks 55th on this list and carries a median federal debt of $23,125 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed.
56South Dakota State University · Brookings, SD$50,076$19,841$14,26698.3%
South Dakota State University admits 98% of applicants and reports median earnings of $50,076 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
57Saginaw Valley State University · University Center, MI$49,761$10,775$9,84472.1%
Saginaw Valley State University carries an average net price of $9,844 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 360th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
58Minnesota State University Moorhead · Moorhead, MN$49,685$17,997$11,12958.8%
Minnesota State University Moorhead reports median earnings of $49,685 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 36 graduates in the earnings cohort.
59University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh · Oshkosh, WI$49,676$14,305$9,23686.5%
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh ranks 59th on this list and carries a median federal debt of $25,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed.
60Hope College · Holland, MI$49,627$27,182$17,60679.2%
Hope College, a private nonprofit institution, reports median earnings of $49,627 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 79%.
61Grand Valley State University · Allendale, MI$49,612$16,317$12,27283.0%
Grand Valley State University reports median earnings of $49,612 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 100 graduates in the earnings cohort.
62University of Mary · Bismarck, ND$49,612$17,770$11,59375.3%
A private nonprofit institution in Bismarck, University of Mary shows an average net price of $17,770 and median program earnings of $49,612 four years after completing.
63Central Michigan University · Mount Pleasant, MI$49,588$17,597$12,18589.8%
Central Michigan University ranks 63rd on this list and posts a median of $28,987 in federal debt among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed.
64Western Michigan University · Kalamazoo, MI$49,340$15,273$5,26384.6%
With an admission rate of 85%, Western Michigan University reports median earnings of $49,340 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
65University of Michigan-Dearborn · Dearborn, MI$49,236$9,492$7,21155.6%
University of Michigan-Dearborn sits 65th on this page and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 88th among nonprofit four-year institutions.
66Miami University-Oxford · Oxford, OH$49,054$28,384$16,01575.4%
Miami University-Oxford reports an average net price of $16,015 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $49,054 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
67Eastern Michigan University · Ypsilanti, MI$48,994$15,407$13,25079.6%
Eastern Michigan University shows median earnings of $48,994 four years after completing and an average net price of $15,407.
68Carroll University · Waukesha, WI$48,979$15,193$15,71866.8%
Graduates across all fields who borrowed left Carroll University with a median of $27,000 in federal loans, while the program's median earnings reach $48,979 four years after completing.
69Saint Cloud State University · Saint Cloud, MN$48,923$13,529$8,90994.8%
Saint Cloud State University admits 95% of applicants and reports median earnings of $48,923 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
70Gustavus Adolphus College · Saint Peter, MN$48,822$22,900$12,01561.0%
Gustavus Adolphus College ranks 70th on this list and carries an Azimuth composite rank of 1038th among nonprofit four-year institutions.
71Kansas State University · Manhattan, KS$48,801$19,406$13,17881.7%
Kansas State University reports median earnings of $48,801 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with a median of $21,500 in federal debt among program completers who borrowed.
72Winona State University · Winona, MN$48,767$17,503$10,22475.5%
Winona State University shows an average net price of $10,224 for families earning under $30,000 and an admission rate of 75%.
73Wright State University-Main Campus · Dayton, OH$48,724$15,415$11,95296.3%
Wright State University-Main Campus reports median earnings of $48,724 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 42 graduates in the earnings cohort.
74University of Minnesota-Duluth · Duluth, MN$48,669$18,743$7,25688.8%
University of Minnesota-Duluth carries an average net price of $7,256 for families earning under $30,000, and median federal debt of $26,077 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed.
75Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion · Marion, IN$48,661$22,866$19,79388.9%
Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion, a private nonprofit university in Marion, ranks 75th on this list and shows an admission rate of 89%.
76Wayne State College · Wayne, NE$48,581$15,360$12,844Not reported
Wayne State College ranks 624th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside median earnings of $48,581 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
77University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire · Eau Claire, WI$48,458$16,550$10,27082.3%
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire posts an admission rate of 82% and median federal debt of $19,445 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed.
78Adrian College · Adrian, MI$48,453$25,368$19,54272.5%
Adrian College reports median earnings of $48,453 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $25,368.
79University of Wisconsin-Madison · Madison, WI$48,435$17,354$4,20045.2%
University of Wisconsin-Madison admits 45% of applicants, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $20,484 in federal loans.
80Bradley University · Peoria, IL$48,325$22,719$17,26976.8%
Bradley University ranks 80th on this list, with median earnings of $48,325 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
81Cleveland State University · Cleveland, OH$48,254$14,764$11,95891.3%
Cleveland State University carries an average net price of $11,958 for families earning under $30,000, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $21,797 in federal loans.
82University of Jamestown · Jamestown, ND$48,203$19,567$14,78888.1%
University of Jamestown reports median earnings of $48,203 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 11 graduates in the earnings cohort.
83University of Northwestern-St Paul · Saint Paul, MN$48,082$27,705$26,69693.5%
An admission rate of 93% and median federal debt of $27,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed accompany University of Northwestern-St Paul's rank of 83rd on this list.
84Wartburg College · Waverly, IA$48,074$32,908$21,68875.8%
Wartburg College ranks 1329th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside an admission rate of 76%.
85Buena Vista University · Storm Lake, IA$48,048$18,846$12,90177.6%
Buena Vista University reports median earnings of $48,048 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $18,846.
86Olivet Nazarene University · Bourbonnais, IL$48,009$20,729$17,23255.9%
Olivet Nazarene University ranks 86th on this list and shows a median federal debt of $27,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed.
87Indiana University-South Bend · South Bend, IN$47,977$8,653$4,63783.8%
A public university in South Bend, Indiana University-South Bend admits 84% of applicants and posts median earnings of $47,977 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
88Washburn University · Topeka, KS$47,948$15,280$20,310Not reported
Washburn University reports median earnings of $47,948 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $18,127 in federal loans.
89Bowling Green State University-Main Campus · Bowling Green, OH$47,937$24,022$18,39681.0%
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus ranks 89th on this list, with an average net price of $24,022 and a median federal debt of $26,994 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed.
90Saint Norbert College · De Pere, WI$47,861$26,172$19,72185.7%
Saint Norbert College reports median earnings of $47,861 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $19,721 for families earning under $30,000.
91Upper Iowa University · Fayette, IA$47,790$20,942$17,71596.5%
Upper Iowa University admits 96% of applicants and reports median earnings of $47,790 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
92University of Michigan-Flint · Flint, MI$47,731$7,007$1,51770.5%
University of Michigan-Flint ranks 92nd on this list, with an average net price of $1,517 for families earning under $30,000 and a median federal debt of $25,847 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed.
93University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point · Stevens Point, WI$47,537$14,559$8,83391.8%
With an admission rate of 92%, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point posts median earnings of $47,537 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
94Spring Arbor University · Spring Arbor, MI$47,270$19,353$14,53051.5%
Spring Arbor University ranks 94th on this list and shows a median federal debt of $28,360 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed.
95Southwest Minnesota State University · Marshall, MN$47,219$15,291$10,55962.2%
Southwest Minnesota State University reports median earnings of $47,219 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $10,559 for families earning under $30,000.
96Bemidji State University · Bemidji, MN$47,137$15,261$10,07356.0%
Bemidji State University admits 56% of applicants and reports median earnings of $47,137 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
97Indiana University-Southeast · New Albany, IN$47,064$7,888$3,78284.5%
Indiana University-Southeast reports median earnings of $47,064 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $7,888.
98Purdue University Fort Wayne · Fort Wayne, IN$46,723$13,171$8,30683.9%
Purdue University Fort Wayne admits 84% of applicants and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $28,371 in federal loans.
99Northwest Missouri State University · Maryville, MO$46,501$16,244$13,17686.1%
Northwest Missouri State University ranks 99th on this list, with median earnings of $46,501 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
100University of Cincinnati-Main Campus · Cincinnati, OH$46,483$25,648$17,97485.3%
Graduates across all fields who borrowed from University of Cincinnati-Main Campus left with a median of $21,250 in federal loans, and the school ranks 250th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
101Concordia University-Saint Paul · Saint Paul, MN$46,478$18,462$16,40678.9%
Concordia University-Saint Paul reports an average net price of $16,406 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $46,478 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
102Northern Michigan University · Marquette, MI$46,002$14,085$7,69784.0%
Northern Michigan University posts median earnings of $46,002 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 42 graduates in the earnings cohort.
103Cornerstone University · Grand Rapids, MI$45,673$20,301$20,17777.8%
Cornerstone University admits 78% of applicants and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $28,000 in federal loans.
104Calvin University · Grand Rapids, MI$45,579$22,992$19,28170.9%
Calvin University reports median earnings of $45,579 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $19,281 for families earning under $30,000.
105University of Missouri-Columbia · Columbia, MO$45,263$20,268$13,84178.5%
University of Missouri-Columbia ranks 144th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $16,250 in federal loans.
106Ashland University · Ashland, OH$45,115$21,988$16,48976.4%
Ashland University posts median earnings of $45,115 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $21,988.
107Taylor University · Upland, IN$45,105$24,865$16,14373.5%
Taylor University admits 74% of applicants and reports median earnings of $45,105 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
108Drake University · Des Moines, IA$44,835$29,127$25,82463.9%
Drake University reports an average net price of $25,824 for families earning under $30,000, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing earn a median of $44,835.
109University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee · Milwaukee, WI$44,776$15,014$10,32990.7%
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee reports median earnings of $44,776 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $15,014.
110University of Nebraska at Kearney · Kearney, NE$44,687$16,242$13,06689.5%
Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed at University of Nebraska at Kearney left with a median of $19,113 in federal loans, and the school admits 89% of applicants.
111Cedarville University · Cedarville, OH$44,668$24,468$18,98765.3%
Cedarville University, a private nonprofit university in Cedarville, ranks 1143rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
112Missouri State University-Springfield · Springfield, MO$44,417$17,613$13,71890.5%
Missouri State University-Springfield shows an average net price of $13,718 for families earning under $30,000, with a Subject-Specific Teacher Education earnings cohort of 22 graduates.
113Kent State University at Kent · Kent, OH$44,283$20,787$15,28086.3%
Kent State University at Kent ranks 113th on this list and reports median earnings of $44,283 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
114University of Akron Main Campus · Akron, OH$44,100$13,946$10,41359.7%
University of Akron Main Campus posts a median federal debt of $25,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed, and its admission rate is 60%.
115Evangel University · Springfield, MO$43,968$18,669$16,19871.6%
Evangel University reports median earnings of $43,968 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $18,669.
116Augustana University · Sioux Falls, SD$43,426$23,894$18,74667.8%
Augustana University admits 68% of applicants and carries an average net price of $18,746 for families earning under $30,000.
117Concordia University-Wisconsin · Mequon, WI$42,923$36,201$34,99178.2%
Concordia University-Wisconsin ranks 1309th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $28,000 in federal loans.
118Youngstown State University · Youngstown, OH$42,737$12,767$9,32884.5%
Youngstown State University reports median earnings of $42,737 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $12,767.
119Dickinson State University · Dickinson, ND$42,682$14,092$10,47937.0%
Dickinson State University admits 37% of applicants and shows an average net price of $10,479 for families earning under $30,000.
120Trinity Christian College · Palos Heights, IL$42,682$19,125$12,89184.9%
Trinity Christian College ranks 120th on this list, with median earnings of $42,682 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
121Dakota State University · Madison, SD$42,682$21,057$17,31788.1%
Dakota State University reports median earnings of $42,682 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 10 graduates in the earnings cohort.
122Mayville State University · Mayville, ND$41,725$11,456$5,971Not reported
Mayville State University, a public institution in Mayville, carries an average net price of $11,456.
123Southwest Baptist University · Bolivar, MO$41,618$21,677$21,97868.4%
Southwest Baptist University ranks 123rd on this list and shows a median federal debt of $25,762 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed.
124Huntington University · Huntington, IN$41,565$19,310$10,79675.6%
Huntington University admits 76% of applicants and posts median earnings of $41,565 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
125Grand View University · Des Moines, IA$41,007$21,774$18,51299.1%
Grand View University sits 727th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside an admission rate of 99%.
126University of Central Missouri · Warrensburg, MO$40,486$14,462$10,96563.8%
With 35 graduates in the earnings cohort, University of Central Missouri reports median earnings of $40,486 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
127Culver-Stockton College · Canton, MO$39,884$21,983$17,71299.1%
Culver-Stockton College carries an average net price of $21,983 and a median federal debt of $27,750 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed.
128University of St Thomas · Saint Paul, MN$39,369$29,155$28,13185.4%
University of St Thomas ranks 526th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $39,369 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
129Northern State University · Aberdeen, SD$38,289$15,812$10,76293.0%
A public university in Aberdeen, Northern State University admits 93% of applicants and carries an average net price of $15,812.
130Bethany College · Lindsborg, KS$38,289$27,686$22,56156.0%
Bethany College reports median earnings of $38,289 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 6 graduates in the earnings cohort.
131Mount Vernon Nazarene University · Mount Vernon, OH$38,069$22,421$22,35884.2%
Mount Vernon Nazarene University shows a median federal debt of $25,559 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed and an average net price of $22,358 for families earning under $30,000.
132University of Wisconsin-Platteville · Platteville, WI$37,980$16,032$9,00989.4%
University of Wisconsin-Platteville ranks 412th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $9,009 for families earning under $30,000.
133MidAmerica Nazarene University · Olathe, KS$37,856$32,165$28,84278.8%
MidAmerica Nazarene University reports median earnings of $37,856 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 8 graduates in the earnings cohort.
134Hastings College · Hastings, NE$37,568$24,452$21,64671.7%
A private nonprofit institution in Hastings, Hastings College carries an average net price of $24,452 and ranks 1374th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
135Oakland University · Rochester Hills, MI$37,424$9,120$4,42287.8%
Oakland University admits 88% of applicants and posts an average net price of $9,120, alongside median earnings of $37,424 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
136Baldwin Wallace University · Berea, OH$37,208$27,603$21,29675.7%
Baldwin Wallace University ranks 136th on this list and shows an average net price of $21,296 for families earning under $30,000.
137Southeast Missouri State University · Cape Girardeau, MO$37,112$15,882$12,70473.5%
Southeast Missouri State University reports median federal debt of $21,500 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed, with median earnings of $37,112 four years after completing.
138Friends University · Wichita, KS$36,992$27,715$21,71455.2%
Friends University posts median earnings of $36,992 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing and ranks 1075th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
139University of Missouri-Kansas City · Kansas City, MO$35,772$13,310$10,57672.2%
University of Missouri-Kansas City carries an average net price of $13,310 and reports 9 graduates in the earnings cohort for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education program.
140Trine University · Angola, IN$35,701$25,355$19,66185.5%
Trine University admits 85% of applicants and reports median earnings of $35,701 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
141Lindenwood University · Saint Charles, MO$35,420$19,638$15,67856.8%
Lindenwood University ranks 141st on this list, with an average net price of $15,678 for families earning under $30,000.
142University of Missouri-St Louis · Saint Louis, MO$33,993$15,071$13,03162.7%
University of Missouri-St Louis reports median earnings of $33,993 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing and ranks 483rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
143University of Wisconsin-Superior · Superior, WI$33,993$12,220$9,67993.0%
An average net price of $12,220 and an admission rate of 93% accompany University of Wisconsin-Superior's median earnings of $33,993 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
144Muskingum University · New Concord, OH$33,993$19,532$14,68481.8%
Muskingum University reports median earnings of $33,993 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $14,684 for families earning under $30,000.
145Grace College and Theological Seminary · Winona Lake, IN$33,637$19,932$10,99882.2%
Grace College and Theological Seminary reports median earnings of $33,637 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 7 graduates in the earnings cohort.
146Wheaton College · Wheaton, IL$32,925$26,975$20,00187.4%
Wheaton College admits 87% of applicants and shows an average net price of $26,975.
147Otterbein University · Westerville, OH$32,925$19,237$12,45884.5%
Otterbein University ranks 147th on this list and carries an average net price of $12,458 for families earning under $30,000.
148The University of Findlay · Findlay, OH$32,925$27,221$22,05283.4%
The University of Findlay sits at 1247th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earned a median of $32,925 four years after completing.
149College of the Ozarks · Point Lookout, MO$32,583$6,100$6,38112.0%
College of the Ozarks posts the lowest admission rate on the page at 12%, alongside an average net price of $6,100.
150Walsh University · North Canton, OH$32,569$20,493$20,45870.7%
Walsh University reports median earnings of $32,569 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 8 graduates in the earnings cohort.
151Malone University · Canton, OH$31,423$20,948$13,29075.9%
Malone University ranks 151st on this list and shows an average net price of $13,290 for families earning under $30,000.
152Lincoln University · Jefferson City, MO$30,650$19,092$20,070Not reported
Lincoln University, a public university in Jefferson City, reports median earnings of $30,650 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
153Missouri Western State University · Saint Joseph, MO$30,409$13,251$11,243Not reported
Missouri Western State University sits at 662nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $13,251.
154Aurora University · Aurora, IL$29,685$18,838$14,52580.9%
Aurora University admits 81% of applicants and reports median earnings of $29,685 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing.
155Peru State College · Peru, NE$26,739$11,632$9,986Not reported
Peru State College ranks 155th on this list, with an average net price of $9,986 for families earning under $30,000.
156Defiance College · Defiance, OH$25,194$26,337$27,19647.6%
Defiance College reports median earnings of $25,194 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $26,337.

How this list is ordered

Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the Midwest appear. The figure is the median earnings of federally aided completers of the program who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 36 of the 156 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The spread from Southern Illinois University-Carbondale to the bottom of the list is $42,767, and the gap between Southern Illinois University-Carbondale and University of Illinois Chicago is $4,728.