Best Political Science and Government Programs in the South
Updated
This page ranks the 188 Political Science and Government programs in the South by median earnings of Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, highest first. Johns Hopkins University leads the list at 1st with median earnings of $121,729 for its graduates four years after completing.
Across the listed programs, the figure ranges from $121,729 to $20,140, with a median of $58,127. For 21 of the 188 programs the earnings figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
Public institutions account for 65% of the list, with 123 schools alongside 65 private nonprofits. Texas A & M International University posts the lowest average net price at $3,637.
The University of Texas at Arlington ranks 8th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Johns Hopkins University · Baltimore, MD | $121,729 | $18,809 | $428 | 6.4% |
| Johns Hopkins University reports median earnings of $121,729 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, the highest on this list. | |||||
| 2 | Vanderbilt University · Nashville, TN | $102,789 | $15,846 | $3,414 | 5.9% |
| Vanderbilt University admits 6% of applicants and its Political Science and Government graduates earn a median of $102,789 four years after completing. | |||||
| 3 | Washington and Lee University · Lexington, VA | $95,190 | $23,781 | -$1,777* | 14.0% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Washington and Lee University left with a median of $19,500 in federal loans, and the school ranks 3rd on this list. | |||||
| 4 | Emory University · Atlanta, GA | $94,001 | $22,585 | $7,363 | 10.7% |
| Emory University posts an average net price of $22,585 alongside median earnings of $94,001 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 5 | Elon University · Elon, NC | $89,685 | $41,555 | $26,523 | 66.4% |
| Elon University ranks 5th on this list, with a cohort of 89 Political Science and Government graduates and median earnings of $89,685 four years after completing. | |||||
| 6 | Duke University · Durham, NC | $88,459 | $29,612 | $735 | 5.7% |
| Duke University carries an admission rate of 6% and has a median federal debt of $14,016 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 7 | Rice University · Houston, TX | $87,804 | $13,370 | $5,827 | 8.0% |
| Rice University reports median earnings of $87,804 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $13,370. | |||||
| 8 | Wake Forest University · Winston-Salem, NC | $85,668 | $28,719 | $6,525 | 21.7% |
| Wake Forest University ranks 8th on this list, and has a median federal debt of $22,500 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 9 | Loyola University Maryland · Baltimore, MD | $81,575 | $30,574 | $20,549 | 75.5% |
| Loyola University Maryland admits 75% of applicants and reports median earnings of $81,575 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 10 | George Washington University · Washington, DC | $79,692 | $36,586 | $17,440 | 47.1% |
| George Washington University posts an average net price of $36,586, and its Political Science and Government graduates earn a median of $79,692 four years after completing. | |||||
| 11 | Georgetown University · Washington, DC | $79,502 | $40,815 | $5,064 | 12.9% |
| Georgetown University ranks 11th on this list, with a cohort of 270 Political Science and Government graduates and median earnings of $79,502 four years after completing. | |||||
| 12 | University of Virginia-Main Campus · Charlottesville, VA | $78,310 | $21,565 | $8,174 | 16.8% |
| University of Virginia-Main Campus, a public university, reports median earnings of $78,310 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 13 | Rollins College · Winter Park, FL | $76,600 | $34,732 | $27,177 | 47.5% |
| Rollins College reports median earnings of $76,600 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, with 22 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 14 | The University of Texas at Austin · Austin, TX | $75,988 | $19,857 | $12,553 | 26.6% |
| A public university in Austin, The University of Texas at Austin ranks 9th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts a 27% admission rate. | |||||
| 15 | Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University · Blacksburg, VA | $75,687 | $24,953 | $11,689 | 54.8% |
| Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University ranks 15th on this list, with median earnings of $75,687 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 16 | Texas Christian University · Fort Worth, TX | $75,419 | $36,660 | $17,956 | 44.5% |
| Texas Christian University has an average net price of $36,660 and reports median earnings of $75,419 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | Furman University · Greenville, SC | $74,476 | $30,308 | $16,401 | 43.0% |
| Furman University ranks 17th on this list, and its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing earn a median of $74,476. | |||||
| 18 | University of Maryland-College Park · College Park, MD | $74,437 | $15,678 | $2,962 | 44.8% |
| With an average net price of $2,962 for families earning under $30,000, University of Maryland-College Park reports median earnings of $74,437 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | George Mason University · Fairfax, VA | $74,125 | $17,915 | $11,942 | 87.5% |
| George Mason University admits 87% of applicants and reports median earnings of $74,125 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | The Catholic University of America · Washington, DC | $73,917 | $29,561 | $17,358 | 82.8% |
| The Catholic University of America ranks 1029th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing earn a median of $73,917. | |||||
| 21 | American University · Washington, DC | $73,604 | $41,943 | $23,233 | 62.0% |
| American University ranks 21st on this list, and its Political Science and Government graduates earn a median of $73,604 four years after completing. | |||||
| 22 | James Madison University · Harrisonburg, VA | $73,326 | $23,322 | $11,444 | 71.5% |
| James Madison University ranks 22nd on this list, with an average net price of $23,322 and 117 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 23 | The University of the South · Sewanee, TN | $72,682 | $27,872 | $10,485 | 56.9% |
| The University of the South reports median earnings of $72,682 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing and has an average net price of $10,485 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 24 | High Point University · High Point, NC | $72,564 | $38,707 | $32,763 | 75.3% |
| High Point University admits 75% of applicants, and its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing earn a median of $72,564. | |||||
| 25 | St. Mary's College of Maryland · St. Mary's City, MD | $72,397 | $18,441 | $2,889 | 68.6% |
| St. Mary's College of Maryland, a public university in St. Mary's City, ranks 25th on this list with median earnings of $72,397 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 26 | William & Mary · Williamsburg, VA | $72,173 | $19,096 | $3,106 | 34.1% |
| William & Mary admits 34% of applicants and reports median earnings of $72,173 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, ranking 26th on this page. | |||||
| 27 | Rhodes College · Memphis, TN | $72,062 | $28,585 | $15,770 | 50.4% |
| Rhodes College in Memphis posts an average net price of $28,585 and median earnings of $72,062 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 28 | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill · Chapel Hill, NC | $72,001 | $11,655 | $2,004 | 15.3% |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill ranks 50th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $72,001 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 29 | Roanoke College · Salem, VA | $71,604 | $24,503 | $15,204 | 83.1% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans at Roanoke College, which ranks 29th on this list. | |||||
| 30 | Tulane University of Louisiana · New Orleans, LA | $71,160 | $39,949 | $16,126 | 14.0% |
| Tulane University of Louisiana in New Orleans reports an average net price of $39,949 and median federal debt of $19,500 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 31 | Morehouse College · Atlanta, GA | $71,139 | $39,013 | $36,359 | 44.0% |
| Morehouse College ranks 31st on this list, with median earnings of $71,139 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 44%. | |||||
| 32 | Randolph-Macon College · Ashland, VA | $71,111 | $27,866 | $16,601 | 86.6% |
| Randolph-Macon College reports median federal debt of $27,000 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed and median earnings of $71,111 four years after completing. | |||||
| 33 | University of Georgia · Athens, GA | $70,877 | $13,936 | $8,085 | 37.7% |
| University of Georgia ranks 95th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts an average net price of $13,936. | |||||
| 34 | University of Florida · Gainesville, FL | $70,434 | $6,541 | $1,982 | 24.2% |
| An average net price of $6,541 coincides with median earnings of $70,434 for Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing at University of Florida, which ranks 34th on this page. | |||||
| 35 | Texas A&M University-College Station · College Station, TX | $69,375 | $21,315 | $12,784 | 57.4% |
| Texas A&M University-College Station admits 57% of applicants and reports median federal debt of $17,595 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 36 | Washington College · Chestertown, MD | $69,018 | $27,898 | $17,804 | 56.9% |
| Washington College ranks 36th on this list, with median earnings of $69,018 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $27,898. | |||||
| 37 | Trinity University · San Antonio, TX | $68,934 | $23,464 | $10,356 | 25.9% |
| Trinity University ranks 37th on this list, with median earnings of $68,934 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 38 | Hampden-Sydney College · Hampden-Sydney, VA | $68,731 | $22,400 | $13,422 | 40.9% |
| A private nonprofit college in Hampden-Sydney, Hampden-Sydney College posts an admission rate of 41% and median earnings of $68,731 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 39 | Wofford College · Spartanburg, SC | $68,661 | $18,732 | $8,493 | 51.9% |
| Wofford College reports an average net price of $18,732 and median federal debt of $26,825 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 40 | Citadel Military College of South Carolina · Charleston, SC | $68,504 | $20,723 | $15,430 | 22.7% |
| Citadel Military College of South Carolina, a public institution in Charleston, ranks 371st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 41 | University of Richmond · University Of Richmond, VA | $68,339 | $31,309 | $12,808 | 22.2% |
| University of Richmond admits 22% of applicants and reports median earnings of $68,339 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 42 | Florida State University · Tallahassee, FL | $68,059 | $11,297 | $5,938 | 24.2% |
| With an average net price of $11,297, Florida State University ranks 65th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 43 | Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College · Baton Rouge, LA | $67,007 | $19,151 | $13,056 | 73.3% |
| Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College reports median earnings of $67,007 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 73%. | |||||
| 44 | Tuskegee University · Tuskegee, AL | $66,391 | $35,013 | $34,324 | 48.7% |
| Tuskegee University ranks 44th on this list, with median federal debt of $27,000 across all of the school's borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 45 | Bridgewater College · Bridgewater, VA | $66,305 | $17,800 | $13,283 | 91.7% |
| Bridgewater College reports an average net price of $17,800 and median earnings of $66,305 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 46 | University of Delaware · Newark, DE | $66,224 | $17,799 | $10,901 | 70.6% |
| University of Delaware ranks 242nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows median federal debt of $23,250 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 47 | University of Mississippi · University, MS | $65,925 | $13,314 | $8,945 | 96.6% |
| Median earnings of $65,925 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing coincide with an admission rate of 97% at University of Mississippi. | |||||
| 48 | The University of Texas at Dallas · Richardson, TX | $65,869 | $18,267 | $12,814 | 65.1% |
| The University of Texas at Dallas ranks 48th on this list, with an average net price of $18,267 and median earnings of $65,869 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 49 | Howard University · Washington, DC | $65,733 | $50,539 | $46,051 | 41.3% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Washington, Howard University ranks 49th on this list and reports median earnings of $65,733 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 50 | Flagler College · Saint Augustine, FL | $65,513 | $30,525 | $21,733 | 80.8% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Flagler College left with a median of $24,250 in federal loans, while the school's Political Science and Government completers earned $65,513 four years after completing. | |||||
| 51 | University of South Carolina-Columbia · Columbia, SC | $65,464 | $22,811 | $12,634 | 60.2% |
| With a 60% admission rate, University of South Carolina-Columbia ranks 51st on this list and posts median earnings of $65,464 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 52 | Christopher Newport University · Newport News, VA | $65,241 | $23,015 | $12,461 | 86.0% |
| An average net price of $23,015 accompanies Christopher Newport University's 52nd position on this list, where Political Science and Government graduates earned a median of $65,241 four years after completing. | |||||
| 53 | Marymount University · Arlington, VA | $64,917 | $29,137 | $27,413 | 93.2% |
| Marymount University reports median earnings of $64,917 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing and admits 93% of applicants. | |||||
| 54 | Radford University · Radford, VA | $64,901 | $14,578 | $8,965 | 89.5% |
| Radford University's Political Science and Government completers who borrowed left with a median federal debt of $22,375, and the program's graduates earned $64,901 four years after completing. | |||||
| 55 | Clemson University · Clemson, SC | $64,822 | $22,253 | $13,607 | 38.3% |
| Ranking 55th on this list, Clemson University posts median earnings of $64,822 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $22,253. | |||||
| 56 | University of South Florida · Tampa, FL | $64,820 | $9,812 | $4,122 | 43.2% |
| University of South Florida posts an average net price of $4,122 for families earning under $30,000, while its Political Science and Government graduates earned a median of $64,820 four years after completing. | |||||
| 57 | University of Maryland-Baltimore County · Baltimore, MD | $64,756 | $16,467 | $5,087 | 72.4% |
| At University of Maryland-Baltimore County, Political Science and Government completers who borrowed left with a median federal debt of $19,500, and the program's graduates earned $64,756 four years after completing. | |||||
| 58 | Hampton University · Hampton, VA | $64,293 | $25,319 | $32,101 | 62.3% |
| Hampton University ranks 58th on this list with median earnings of $64,293 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $25,319. | |||||
| 59 | University of Central Florida · Orlando, FL | $64,056 | $10,411 | $5,816 | 40.1% |
| With a 40% admission rate, University of Central Florida ranks 59th on this list and posts median earnings of $64,056 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 60 | Oklahoma State University-Main Campus · Stillwater, OK | $63,977 | $17,447 | $12,243 | 75.0% |
| Oklahoma State University-Main Campus reports an average net price of $17,447 and median earnings of $63,977 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, ranking 60th on this list. | |||||
| 61 | The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga · Chattanooga, TN | $63,654 | $14,265 | $9,876 | 81.1% |
| The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga reports median earnings of $63,654 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, with 52 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 62 | Saint Edward's University · Austin, TX | $63,504 | $25,578 | $20,799 | 81.4% |
| A private nonprofit university in Austin, Saint Edward's University ranks 62nd on this list and shows an admission rate of 81%. | |||||
| 63 | Auburn University · Auburn, AL | $63,178 | $24,323 | $16,681 | 45.9% |
| Auburn University carries a median federal debt of $20,500 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $63,178 four years after completing. | |||||
| 64 | North Carolina State University at Raleigh · Raleigh, NC | $62,824 | $17,303 | $6,382 | 41.7% |
| North Carolina State University at Raleigh posts an average net price of $6,382 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 99th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 65 | Agnes Scott College · Decatur, GA | $62,605 | $24,754 | $21,467 | 62.2% |
| Agnes Scott College admits 62% of applicants, and its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing earn a median of $62,605. | |||||
| 66 | Dallas Baptist University · Dallas, TX | $62,372 | $28,516 | $25,326 | 88.8% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left Dallas Baptist University with a median of $21,591 in federal loans, and the school ranks 66th on this list. | |||||
| 67 | University of Miami · Coral Gables, FL | $62,216 | $37,244 | $15,978 | 18.9% |
| University of Miami reports median earnings of $62,216 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 19%. | |||||
| 68 | Virginia Commonwealth University · Richmond, VA | $62,182 | $23,433 | $17,512 | 92.6% |
| Virginia Commonwealth University ranks 68th on this list and shows an average net price of $23,433 alongside a median federal debt of $20,000 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 69 | Kennesaw State University · Kennesaw, GA | $61,971 | $15,048 | $12,235 | 69.2% |
| Kennesaw State University posts median earnings of $61,971 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing and ranks 24th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 70 | Southwestern University · Georgetown, TX | $61,935 | $29,224 | $22,478 | 43.1% |
| A private nonprofit university in Georgetown, Southwestern University carries an average net price of $22,478 for families earning under $30,000 and reports 21 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 71 | The University of Alabama · Tuscaloosa, AL | $61,617 | $22,420 | $19,169 | 76.7% |
| The University of Alabama admits 77% of applicants, and its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing earn a median of $61,617. | |||||
| 72 | Baylor University · Waco, TX | $61,578 | $41,104 | $22,024 | 51.3% |
| Baylor University reports a median federal debt of $25,000 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $61,578 four years after completing. | |||||
| 73 | University of Houston · Houston, TX | $61,533 | $14,276 | $10,929 | 73.9% |
| University of Houston reports median earnings of $61,533 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, with 187 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 74 | University of Dallas · Irving, TX | $61,484 | $22,610 | $12,711 | 53.4% |
| Median federal debt among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed at University of Dallas is $21,500, and the school admits 53% of applicants. | |||||
| 75 | Georgia College & State University · Milledgeville, GA | $61,009 | $20,686 | $15,396 | 78.2% |
| Georgia College & State University ranks 75th on this list and shows an average net price of $15,396 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 76 | University of Mary Washington · Fredericksburg, VA | $60,881 | $20,667 | $10,304 | 79.8% |
| University of Mary Washington posts median earnings of $60,881 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 80%. | |||||
| 77 | University of Arkansas · Fayetteville, AR | $60,441 | $18,209 | $14,319 | 74.3% |
| An average net price of $14,319 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median earnings of $60,441 for Political Science and Government graduates at University of Arkansas four years after completing. | |||||
| 78 | East Carolina University · Greenville, NC | $60,419 | $15,739 | $10,046 | 89.2% |
| East Carolina University has an average net price of $15,739 and its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing earned a median of $60,419. | |||||
| 79 | Towson University · Towson, MD | $60,313 | $17,413 | $6,962 | 82.0% |
| Towson University ranks 79th on this list, with median federal debt of $17,375 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 80 | Salisbury University · Salisbury, MD | $60,089 | $17,743 | $6,743 | 87.5% |
| Salisbury University reports median earnings of $60,089 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $6,743 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 81 | The University of Tennessee-Knoxville · Knoxville, TN | $60,073 | $18,976 | $10,029 | 41.6% |
| The University of Tennessee-Knoxville admits 42% of applicants and its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing earned a median of $60,073. | |||||
| 82 | Mercer University · Macon, GA | $59,997 | $23,847 | $19,817 | 68.9% |
| Mercer University ranks 528th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with 19 graduates in the earnings cohort for Political Science and Government. | |||||
| 83 | University of North Georgia · Dahlonega, GA | $59,993 | $9,823 | $6,981 | 67.9% |
| University of North Georgia shows an average net price of $9,823 and median federal debt of $22,026 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 84 | Old Dominion University · Norfolk, VA | $59,939 | $14,638 | $9,739 | 90.4% |
| Old Dominion University ranks 84th on this list, with median earnings of $59,939 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 85 | Loyola University New Orleans · New Orleans, LA | $59,909 | $23,696 | $20,131 | 93.1% |
| Loyola University New Orleans, a private nonprofit university in New Orleans, reports median earnings of $59,909 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 86 | Texas Tech University · Lubbock, TX | $59,466 | $19,070 | $12,457 | 72.7% |
| Texas Tech University admits 73% of applicants and its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing earn a median of $59,466. | |||||
| 87 | University of Houston-Downtown · Houston, TX | $59,261 | $10,542 | $9,439 | 90.0% |
| With an average net price of $10,542, University of Houston-Downtown posts median earnings of $59,261 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 88 | College of Charleston · Charleston, SC | $58,955 | $18,960 | $12,133 | 60.0% |
| College of Charleston ranks 650th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $58,955 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 89 | Georgia Southern University · Statesboro, GA | $58,949 | $15,267 | $12,162 | 87.9% |
| Georgia Southern University's Political Science and Government completers who borrowed left with a median of $23,750 in federal loans, alongside median earnings of $58,949 four years after completing. | |||||
| 90 | The University of Tampa · Tampa, FL | $58,754 | $36,211 | $30,011 | 40.3% |
| The University of Tampa reports an average net price of $30,011 for families earning under $30,000, and its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing earn a median of $58,754. | |||||
| 91 | University of North Florida · Jacksonville, FL | $58,718 | $10,154 | $6,647 | 53.2% |
| University of North Florida ranks 91st on this list, with median earnings of $58,718 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 92 | Augusta University · Augusta, GA | $58,583 | $13,787 | $11,064 | 86.4% |
| Augusta University admits 86% of applicants and its Political Science and Government completers who borrowed left with a median of $12,857 in federal loans. | |||||
| 93 | Georgia State University · Atlanta, GA | $58,432 | $15,931 | $13,787 | 55.4% |
| Georgia State University reports median earnings of $58,432 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, from a cohort of 207 graduates. | |||||
| 94 | University of North Carolina Wilmington · Wilmington, NC | $58,258 | $20,109 | $10,778 | 64.2% |
| University of North Carolina Wilmington ranks 347th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $10,778 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 95 | Florida International University · Miami, FL | $57,996 | $9,288 | $7,003 | 54.7% |
| Florida International University's Political Science and Government completers who borrowed left with a median of $14,823 in federal loans, and its graduates four years after completing earn a median of $57,996. | |||||
| 96 | University of North Texas · Denton, TX | $57,852 | $15,649 | $12,311 | 72.2% |
| University of North Texas reports an average net price of $15,649, and its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing earn a median of $57,852. | |||||
| 97 | Frostburg State University · Frostburg, MD | $57,770 | $16,715 | $12,129 | 89.2% |
| Frostburg State University reports median earnings of $57,770 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $16,715. | |||||
| 98 | University of Kentucky · Lexington, KY | $57,514 | $18,851 | $12,182 | 92.9% |
| University of Kentucky admits 93% of applicants and its Political Science and Government completers who borrowed left with a median of $20,500 in federal loans. | |||||
| 99 | Troy University · Troy, AL | $57,341 | $16,527 | $12,656 | 96.0% |
| Troy University ranks 99th on this list and posts an average net price of $12,656 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 100 | University of North Carolina at Charlotte · Charlotte, NC | $57,273 | $15,435 | $10,357 | 79.6% |
| University of North Carolina at Charlotte posts an average net price of $10,357 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $57,273 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 101 | Presbyterian College · Clinton, SC | $57,154 | $20,528 | $18,277 | 68.4% |
| Presbyterian College, a private nonprofit university in Clinton, reports a median of $27,000 in federal loans among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 102 | Florida Southern College · Lakeland, FL | $57,128 | $28,551 | $23,624 | 64.4% |
| Florida Southern College shows median earnings of $57,128 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, from a cohort of 19 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 103 | Columbus State University · Columbus, GA | $57,008 | $13,115 | $11,271 | 99.1% |
| Columbus State University has an admission rate of 99% and a school-wide median federal debt of $26,000 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 104 | West Virginia University · Morgantown, WV | $56,969 | $15,634 | $9,450 | 89.0% |
| West Virginia University reports an average net price of $9,450 for families earning under $30,000, while its Political Science and Government graduates earn a median of $56,969 four years after completing. | |||||
| 105 | University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus · Norman, OK | $56,749 | $15,300 | $10,509 | 76.6% |
| University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus ranks 105th on this list and posts an average net price of $15,300. | |||||
| 106 | Texas State University · San Marcos, TX | $56,716 | $16,805 | $12,715 | 89.3% |
| Texas State University posts an average net price of $16,805 and a median of $20,231 in federal loans among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 107 | Liberty University · Lynchburg, VA | $56,550 | $29,357 | $30,667 | 99.0% |
| Liberty University admits 99% of applicants, and its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing report median earnings of $56,550. | |||||
| 108 | Mount St. Mary's University · Emmitsburg, MD | $56,507 | $22,655 | $11,603 | 73.8% |
| Mount St. Mary's University, a private nonprofit university in Emmitsburg, reports an average net price of $11,603 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 109 | Sam Houston State University · Huntsville, TX | $55,894 | $16,404 | $12,474 | 90.3% |
| Sam Houston State University reports median earnings of $55,894 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $16,404. | |||||
| 110 | University of Louisville · Louisville, KY | $55,856 | $17,988 | $15,138 | 79.4% |
| University of Louisville admits 79% of applicants and its Political Science and Government completers who borrowed left with a median of $18,121 in federal loans. | |||||
| 111 | University of North Carolina Asheville · Asheville, NC | $55,698 | $12,250 | $8,219 | 91.9% |
| An average net price of $8,219 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with a median of $55,698 for University of North Carolina Asheville's Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 112 | Clayton State University · Morrow, GA | $55,643 | $8,365 | $7,405 | 68.5% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed from Clayton State University left with a median of $25,706 in federal loans, and the school reports an average net price of $8,365. | |||||
| 113 | North Carolina A & T State University · Greensboro, NC | $55,572 | $10,846 | $8,223 | 49.9% |
| North Carolina A & T State University posts median earnings of $55,572 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 32 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 114 | Longwood University · Farmville, VA | $55,259 | $19,066 | $11,896 | 90.2% |
| Longwood University ranks 1221st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing earn a median of $55,259. | |||||
| 115 | Florida Gulf Coast University · Fort Myers, FL | $54,824 | $12,568 | $8,220 | 63.4% |
| Florida Gulf Coast University reports an average net price of $8,220 for families earning under $30,000, and its Political Science and Government completers who borrowed left with a median of $19,500 in federal loans. | |||||
| 116 | Fairmont State University · Fairmont, WV | $54,360 | $9,032 | $8,434 | 98.6% |
| Fairmont State University admits 99% of applicants and reports median earnings of $54,360 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 117 | Appalachian State University · Boone, NC | $54,344 | $16,836 | $9,325 | 90.1% |
| Appalachian State University ranks 117th on this list, with median earnings of $54,344 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 118 | Western Kentucky University · Bowling Green, KY | $54,333 | $10,990 | $7,087 | 93.9% |
| Western Kentucky University reports an average net price of $10,990, and its Political Science and Government completers who borrowed left with a median of $20,500 in federal loans. | |||||
| 119 | Mississippi State University · Mississippi State, MS | $54,325 | $17,595 | $14,332 | 77.6% |
| Mississippi State University posts median earnings of $54,325 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 75 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 120 | The University of Texas at El Paso · El Paso, TX | $54,069 | $9,403 | $7,863 | 99.9% |
| The University of Texas at El Paso admits 100% of applicants and ranks 39th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 121 | Tennessee State University · Nashville, TN | $54,008 | $15,796 | $15,005 | 70.1% |
| Tennessee State University reports median earnings of $54,008 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $15,796. | |||||
| 122 | Coastal Carolina University · Conway, SC | $53,948 | $13,966 | $9,563 | 75.3% |
| Coastal Carolina University admits 75% of applicants and shows a median federal debt of $24,250 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 123 | Savannah State University · Savannah, GA | $53,906 | $8,172 | $6,739 | Not reported |
| Savannah State University carries an average net price of $6,739 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 123rd on this list. | |||||
| 124 | Florida Atlantic University · Boca Raton, FL | $53,872 | $8,752 | $3,022 | 66.1% |
| Florida Atlantic University posts median earnings of $53,872 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 128 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 125 | Delaware State University · Dover, DE | $53,838 | $13,910 | $11,135 | 46.6% |
| Delaware State University has an admission rate of 47% and ranks 424th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 126 | University of West Georgia · Carrollton, GA | $53,827 | $12,786 | $10,339 | 51.6% |
| University of West Georgia reports median federal debt of $27,375 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed, and its graduates earn a median of $53,827 four years after completing. | |||||
| 127 | University of North Carolina at Pembroke · Pembroke, NC | $53,779 | $10,260 | $7,919 | 93.3% |
| With an admission rate of 93%, University of North Carolina at Pembroke ranks 127th on this list and reports an average net price of $10,260. | |||||
| 128 | The University of Texas at San Antonio · San Antonio, TX | $53,674 | $10,836 | $7,870 | 86.8% |
| The University of Texas at San Antonio shows median earnings of $53,674 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing and ranks 34th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 129 | Southern Methodist University · Dallas, TX | $52,941 | $40,892 | $23,544 | 63.4% |
| Southern Methodist University, a private nonprofit university in Dallas, reports an average net price of $40,892 and median earnings of $52,941 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 130 | University of Central Oklahoma · Edmond, OK | $52,852 | $18,309 | $15,275 | 78.1% |
| University of Central Oklahoma admits 78% of applicants and carries a median federal debt of $25,000 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 131 | Stetson University · Deland, FL | $52,667 | $19,372 | $15,931 | 71.6% |
| Stetson University ranks 131st on this list, with an average net price of $15,931 for families earning under $30,000 and a cohort of 40 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 132 | Bellarmine University · Louisville, KY | $52,228 | $21,499 | $18,430 | 86.1% |
| Bellarmine University posts median earnings of $52,228 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing and reports an average net price of $21,499. | |||||
| 133 | Western Carolina University · Cullowhee, NC | $52,077 | $13,315 | $8,816 | 81.8% |
| Western Carolina University reports median earnings of $52,077 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $13,315. | |||||
| 134 | The University of Tennessee-Martin · Martin, TN | $52,029 | $10,701 | $7,151 | 88.2% |
| The University of Tennessee-Martin admits 88% of applicants and its Political Science and Government graduates earn a median of $52,029 four years after completing. | |||||
| 135 | University of Louisiana at Monroe · Monroe, LA | $51,722 | $13,466 | $11,490 | 84.8% |
| University of Louisiana at Monroe ranks 135th on this list, with median federal debt of $23,467 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 136 | University of North Carolina at Greensboro · Greensboro, NC | $51,657 | $10,965 | $7,305 | 88.5% |
| An average net price of $7,305 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median earnings of $51,657 for University of North Carolina at Greensboro's Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 137 | University of Central Arkansas · Conway, AR | $51,475 | $16,511 | $14,656 | 89.5% |
| University of Central Arkansas reports median federal debt of $22,500 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed and ranks 440th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 138 | Louisiana Tech University · Ruston, LA | $51,222 | $11,864 | $7,676 | 86.4% |
| Louisiana Tech University shows median federal debt of $23,343 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed, with an admission rate of 86%. | |||||
| 139 | Marshall University · Huntington, WV | $50,832 | $7,502 | $4,648 | 95.7% |
| Marshall University reports an average net price of $7,502 and median earnings of $50,832 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 140 | Morgan State University · Baltimore, MD | $50,791 | $14,985 | $9,585 | 82.2% |
| Morgan State University ranks 148th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median federal debt of $27,000 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 141 | Northern Kentucky University · Highland Heights, KY | $50,668 | $8,191 | $2,603 | 67.7% |
| Northern Kentucky University admits 68% of applicants and carries an average net price of $2,603 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 142 | Texas A & M International University · Laredo, TX | $50,544 | $3,637 | $3,097 | 44.4% |
| Texas A & M International University reports median earnings of $50,544 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $3,637. | |||||
| 143 | Middle Tennessee State University · Murfreesboro, TN | $50,169 | $13,359 | $9,289 | 69.1% |
| Middle Tennessee State University ranks 143rd on this list, with median federal debt of $19,875 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 144 | Lander University · Greenwood, SC | $50,079 | $15,363 | $11,450 | 81.3% |
| Lander University shows median federal debt of $25,000 across all of the school's borrowers who completed, and an admission rate of 81%. | |||||
| 145 | University of Memphis · Memphis, TN | $50,070 | $12,397 | $10,607 | 72.0% |
| University of Memphis reports median earnings of $50,070 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $12,397. | |||||
| 146 | The University of Texas at Arlington · Arlington, TX | $50,006 | $13,951 | $11,893 | 79.9% |
| The University of Texas at Arlington ranks 8th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows a median of $19,216 in federal debt among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 147 | Stephen F Austin State University · Nacogdoches, TX | $49,980 | $14,260 | $10,318 | 94.0% |
| Stephen F Austin State University admits 94% of applicants and posts median earnings of $49,980 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 148 | Tennessee Technological University · Cookeville, TN | $49,898 | $14,246 | $9,815 | 76.1% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left Tennessee Technological University with a median of $15,650 in federal loans, and the school reports an average net price of $9,815 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 149 | Arkansas State University · Jonesboro, AR | $49,078 | $12,366 | $10,098 | 82.3% |
| Arkansas State University ranks 300th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $49,078 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 150 | Austin Peay State University · Clarksville, TN | $48,840 | $9,735 | $7,588 | 96.4% |
| Austin Peay State University reports an average net price of $9,735 and a median of $20,500 in federal debt among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 151 | Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University · Tallahassee, FL | $48,733 | $13,739 | $13,299 | 20.6% |
| Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University admits 21% of applicants and reports median earnings of $48,733 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 152 | East Tennessee State University · Johnson City, TN | $48,452 | $15,983 | $12,433 | 86.2% |
| East Tennessee State University shows a median of $21,500 in federal debt among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed, alongside an average net price of $12,433 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 153 | Texas Woman's University · Denton, TX | $48,429 | $11,963 | $9,948 | 96.1% |
| Texas Woman's University ranks 118th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts median earnings of $48,429 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 154 | University of Louisiana at Lafayette · Lafayette, LA | $48,378 | $13,530 | $11,157 | 87.0% |
| University of Louisiana at Lafayette reports an average net price of $13,530 and a median of $22,063 in federal debt among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 155 | University of South Carolina-Upstate · Spartanburg, SC | $47,796 | $13,557 | $11,618 | 67.3% |
| At University of South Carolina-Upstate, median earnings of $47,796 for Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing coincide with a median federal debt of $22,310 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 156 | North Carolina Central University · Durham, NC | $47,317 | $15,359 | $13,032 | 87.0% |
| North Carolina Central University admits 87% of applicants and shows a median of $28,000 in federal debt among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 157 | Valdosta State University · Valdosta, GA | $47,035 | $10,945 | $9,378 | 72.3% |
| Valdosta State University reports median earnings of $47,035 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $10,945. | |||||
| 158 | St. Mary's University · San Antonio, TX | $46,620 | $21,145 | $18,352 | 97.8% |
| A private nonprofit university in San Antonio, St. Mary's University admits 98% of applicants and shows median federal debt of $19,250 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 159 | The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley · Edinburg, TX | $44,895 | $4,831 | $3,785 | 94.2% |
| The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley ranks 11th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $4,831. | |||||
| 160 | Francis Marion University · Florence, SC | $44,803 | $11,386 | $9,723 | 86.4% |
| Francis Marion University lists median earnings of $44,803 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, with 14 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 161 | University of Alabama at Birmingham · Birmingham, AL | $44,493 | $18,749 | $16,172 | 88.2% |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham posts an admission rate of 88% and median federal debt of $19,500 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 162 | Virginia State University · Petersburg, VA | $44,002 | $15,840 | $13,220 | 88.6% |
| Virginia State University reports median earnings of $44,002 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $15,840. | |||||
| 163 | Eastern Kentucky University · Richmond, KY | $43,786 | $11,040 | $8,591 | 77.6% |
| Eastern Kentucky University ranks 382nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median federal debt of $19,000 among Political Science and Government completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 164 | University of North Alabama · Florence, AL | $43,706 | $12,170 | $9,741 | 87.3% |
| University of North Alabama shows an admission rate of 87% and median earnings of $43,706 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 165 | University of Charleston · Charleston, WV | $43,601 | $22,107 | $21,427 | 61.5% |
| Median federal debt across all of University of Charleston's borrowers who completed is $19,500, and the school carries an average net price of $22,107. | |||||
| 166 | Winthrop University · Rock Hill, SC | $43,566 | $15,343 | $12,608 | 79.3% |
| Winthrop University reports median earnings of $43,566 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 79%. | |||||
| 167 | Prairie View A & M University · Prairie View, TX | $41,831 | $13,570 | $12,120 | 79.3% |
| Prairie View A & M University ranks 115th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and lists median earnings of $41,831 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 168 | Centre College · Danville, KY | $41,193 | $20,781 | $11,364 | 54.4% |
| Centre College admits 54% of applicants and shows an average net price of $20,781. | |||||
| 169 | Morehead State University · Morehead, KY | $41,193 | $9,793 | $7,150 | 77.2% |
| Morehead State University reports median earnings of $41,193 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $9,793. | |||||
| 170 | Claflin University · Orangeburg, SC | $40,910 | $17,800 | $16,354 | 64.9% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Orangeburg, Claflin University admits 65% of applicants and its Political Science and Government graduates earn a median of $40,910 four years after completing. | |||||
| 171 | Texas Wesleyan University · Fort Worth, TX | $35,060 | $24,066 | $21,812 | 69.2% |
| Texas Wesleyan University ranks 171st on this list, with an average net price of $21,812 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 172 | The University of Texas at Tyler · Tyler, TX | $33,993 | $13,323 | $10,307 | 94.0% |
| The University of Texas at Tyler posts a 94% admission rate and its Political Science and Government graduates earn a median of $33,993 four years after completing. | |||||
| 173 | University of New Orleans · New Orleans, LA | $32,569 | $12,384 | $11,532 | 74.3% |
| University of New Orleans reports median earnings of $32,569 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $12,384. | |||||
| 174 | Winston-Salem State University · Winston-Salem, NC | $32,391 | $13,479 | $11,463 | 78.3% |
| Winston-Salem State University ranks 223rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Political Science and Government graduates earn a median of $32,391 four years after completing. | |||||
| 175 | Georgetown College · Georgetown, KY | $30,771 | $14,095 | $9,777 | 91.1% |
| Georgetown College reports median earnings of $30,771 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $9,777 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 176 | Texas A&M University-Kingsville · Kingsville, TX | $29,685 | $12,090 | $10,207 | 90.9% |
| A public university in Kingsville, Texas A&M University-Kingsville admits 91% of applicants and reports median earnings of $29,685 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 177 | Mary Baldwin University · Staunton, VA | $29,685 | $12,756 | $12,717 | Not reported |
| Mary Baldwin University ranks 704th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $12,756. | |||||
| 178 | Goucher College · Baltimore, MD | $29,685 | $22,470 | $13,471 | 77.7% |
| Goucher College reports median earnings of $29,685 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $13,471 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 179 | Virginia Wesleyan University · Virginia Beach, VA | $26,353 | $19,676 | $14,080 | 72.9% |
| Virginia Wesleyan University admits 73% of applicants and its Political Science and Government graduates earn a median of $26,353 four years after completing. | |||||
| 180 | University of South Alabama · Mobile, AL | $25,967 | $17,648 | $12,657 | 71.0% |
| University of South Alabama reports median earnings of $25,967 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $12,657 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 181 | Southeastern Louisiana University · Hammond, LA | $25,194 | $13,154 | $10,507 | 99.3% |
| Southeastern Louisiana University reports median earnings of $25,194 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, with 13 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 182 | Hood College · Frederick, MD | $25,194 | $20,873 | $12,424 | 77.8% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Frederick, Hood College has an average net price of $20,873 and an admission rate of 78%. | |||||
| 183 | Guilford College · Greensboro, NC | $25,194 | $22,270 | $18,367 | 80.0% |
| Guilford College ranks 183rd on this list and posts an average net price of $18,367 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 184 | Austin College · Sherman, TX | $24,035 | $21,107 | $16,528 | 47.7% |
| With an admission rate of 48%, Austin College reports median earnings of $24,035 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 185 | Eckerd College · Saint Petersburg, FL | $24,035 | $38,071 | $29,615 | 75.8% |
| Eckerd College sits 185th on this page, with an average net price of $38,071 and 16 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 186 | Albany State University · Albany, GA | $23,456 | $11,898 | $10,693 | Not reported |
| Albany State University reports median earnings of $23,456 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing and ranks 152nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 187 | McDaniel College · Westminster, MD | $21,508 | $21,916 | $12,210 | 77.9% |
| McDaniel College admits 78% of applicants and reports an average net price of $12,210 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 188 | University of Southern Mississippi · Hattiesburg, MS | $20,140 | $21,708 | $19,867 | 99.1% |
| University of Southern Mississippi ranks 188th on this list, with median earnings of $20,140 for its Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 99%. | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Political Science and Government graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the South appear. The figure is the median earnings of federally aided completers of the program who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 21 of the 188 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. Johns Hopkins University leads the list at $121,729, $18,940 ahead of Vanderbilt University at $102,789. The spread from top to bottom is $101,589.