Top History Programs in the Midwest by Earnings (2026)
Updated
This page ranks 132 History programs in the Midwest by the median earnings of History graduates four years after completing, highest first. Northwestern University leads the list with median earnings of $78,966 for its History graduates four years after completing.
Across the listed schools, the median figure is $44,470, and the range stretches from $78,966 to $15,288. For 41 of the 132 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
Public institutions account for 60% of the list, with 79 public and 53 private nonprofit schools represented. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor ranks 16th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, the strongest showing in the group. Purdue University Northwest posts the lowest average net price at $6,079.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Northwestern University · Evanston, IL | $78,966 | $29,167 | $1,764 | 7.7% |
| Northwestern University reports $78,966 in median earnings for its History graduates four years after completing, with 63 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 2 | University of Notre Dame · Notre Dame, IN | $70,423 | $26,780 | $7,244 | 11.3% |
| University of Notre Dame admits 11% of applicants and posts median earnings of $70,423 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 3 | University of Chicago · Chicago, IL | $64,330 | $14,860 | -$1,264* | 4.5% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at University of Chicago left with a median of $15,000 in federal loans, and the school ranks 38th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 4 | University of Michigan-Ann Arbor · Ann Arbor, MI | $62,077 | $13,138 | $1,043 | 15.6% |
| University of Michigan-Ann Arbor carries an average net price of $1,043 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 16th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 5 | Oberlin College · Oberlin, OH | $60,895 | $38,645 | $18,774 | 34.2% |
| Oberlin College shows median federal debt of $25,250 among History completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $60,895 four years after completing. | |||||
| 6 | Marquette University · Milwaukee, WI | $59,529 | $31,487 | $22,269 | 81.3% |
| With an admission rate of 81%, Marquette University reports median earnings of $59,529 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | University of Cincinnati-Main Campus · Cincinnati, OH | $59,290 | $25,648 | $17,974 | 85.3% |
| University of Cincinnati-Main Campus posts median earnings of $59,290 for its History graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate stands at 85%. | |||||
| 8 | Wabash College · Crawfordsville, IN | $59,221 | $24,336 | $16,586 | 63.3% |
| Wabash College reports median federal debt of $27,000 among History completers who borrowed, with 12 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 9 | University of Kansas · Lawrence, KS | $58,936 | $18,059 | $12,544 | 93.5% |
| University of Kansas admits 93% of applicants and reports median earnings of $58,936 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 10 | University of Wisconsin-Madison · Madison, WI | $58,343 | $17,354 | $4,200 | 45.2% |
| An average net price of $4,200 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median earnings of $58,343 for History graduates four years after completing at University of Wisconsin-Madison. | |||||
| 11 | Indiana University-Bloomington · Bloomington, IN | $58,258 | $16,264 | $6,324 | 78.2% |
| Indiana University-Bloomington reports median earnings of $58,258 for its History graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $16,264. | |||||
| 12 | Coe College · Cedar Rapids, IA | $58,240 | $18,745 | $11,479 | 64.0% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Coe College left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans, and the school reports median earnings of $58,240 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 13 | Loyola University Chicago · Chicago, IL | $57,639 | $36,079 | $28,992 | 81.6% |
| Loyola University Chicago reports $57,639 in median earnings for its History graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $28,992 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 14 | University of Dayton · Dayton, OH | $57,218 | $29,533 | $21,736 | 65.5% |
| With an admission rate of 65%, University of Dayton posts median earnings of $57,218 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 15 | University of Missouri-Columbia · Columbia, MO | $56,632 | $20,268 | $13,841 | 78.5% |
| University of Missouri-Columbia ranks 15th on this list and shows a median federal debt of $21,000 among History completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 16 | University of Indianapolis · Indianapolis, IN | $55,878 | $21,602 | $15,346 | 66.5% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at University of Indianapolis left with a median of $26,864 in federal loans, and the school's History program reports median earnings of $55,878 four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | University of Illinois Chicago · Chicago, IL | $55,326 | $10,974 | $7,529 | 77.4% |
| University of Illinois Chicago carries an average net price of $10,974 and ranks 17th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 18 | Grinnell College · Grinnell, IA | $54,703 | $17,648 | $9,970 | 14.5% |
| Grinnell College admits 15% of applicants and reports $54,703 in median earnings for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | University of Minnesota-Twin Cities · Minneapolis, MN | $54,659 | $16,778 | $6,642 | 79.8% |
| University of Minnesota-Twin Cities lists 95 graduates in the earnings cohort, with median earnings of $54,659 four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | Doane University · Crete, NE | $54,475 | $26,364 | $21,129 | 98.0% |
| Doane University ranks 1224th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows a school-wide median federal debt of $25,000 across all borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 21 | Northeastern Illinois University · Chicago, IL | $54,071 | $14,109 | $13,709 | 74.6% |
| Northeastern Illinois University posts median earnings of $54,071 for its History graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $13,709 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 22 | Purdue University-Main Campus · West Lafayette, IN | $53,708 | $14,600 | $5,098 | 49.9% |
| Purdue University-Main Campus admits 50% of applicants and reports a median federal debt of $20,490 among History completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 23 | Iowa State University · Ames, IA | $52,934 | $18,589 | $10,582 | 88.7% |
| Iowa State University ranks 23rd on this list, with median earnings of $52,934 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 24 | Southern Illinois University-Carbondale · Carbondale, IL | $52,900 | $13,297 | $9,415 | 86.9% |
| Southern Illinois University-Carbondale carries an average net price of $13,297 and reports 22 graduates in the earnings cohort for its History program. | |||||
| 25 | Illinois State University · Normal, IL | $52,757 | $19,398 | $11,568 | 88.2% |
| Illinois State University admits 88% of applicants and reports median earnings of $52,757 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 26 | Minnesota State University-Mankato · Mankato, MN | $52,550 | $19,139 | $12,339 | 88.4% |
| Median federal debt among History completers who borrowed is $21,241 at Minnesota State University-Mankato, which reports median earnings of $52,550 four years after completing. | |||||
| 27 | Ball State University · Muncie, IN | $50,838 | $14,940 | $7,834 | 85.5% |
| Ball State University ranks 279th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts an average net price of $14,940. | |||||
| 28 | University of Wisconsin-La Crosse · La Crosse, WI | $50,745 | $16,210 | $8,224 | 75.5% |
| With an admission rate of 76%, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse reports median earnings of $50,745 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 29 | Bowling Green State University-Main Campus · Bowling Green, OH | $50,693 | $24,022 | $18,396 | 81.0% |
| Bowling Green State University-Main Campus shows an average net price of $18,396 for families earning under $30,000 and a median of $25,000 in federal debt among History completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 30 | Wayne State University · Detroit, MI | $50,251 | $12,766 | $11,090 | 81.2% |
| Wayne State University ranks 80th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its History graduates earn a median of $50,251 four years after completing. | |||||
| 31 | Miami University-Oxford · Oxford, OH | $50,199 | $28,384 | $16,015 | 75.4% |
| Median federal debt among History completers who borrowed is $22,353 at Miami University-Oxford, which reports median earnings of $50,199 four years after completing. | |||||
| 32 | Kansas State University · Manhattan, KS | $50,016 | $19,406 | $13,178 | 81.7% |
| Kansas State University admits 82% of applicants and carries an average net price of $13,178 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 33 | Ohio State University-Main Campus · Columbus, OH | $49,986 | $17,339 | $4,885 | 60.6% |
| Ohio State University-Main Campus ranks 90th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $49,986 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 34 | University of Northern Iowa · Cedar Falls, IA | $49,313 | $15,901 | $10,863 | 92.7% |
| An average net price of $15,901 coincides with a median of $19,900 in federal debt among History completers who borrowed at University of Northern Iowa. | |||||
| 35 | University of Missouri-Kansas City · Kansas City, MO | $49,096 | $13,310 | $10,576 | 72.2% |
| University of Missouri-Kansas City reports median earnings of $49,096 for its History graduates four years after completing and ranks 262nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 36 | Oakland University · Rochester Hills, MI | $48,990 | $9,120 | $4,422 | 87.8% |
| Oakland University shows an average net price of $4,422 for families earning under $30,000, and its History graduates earn a median of $48,990 four years after completing. | |||||
| 37 | The College of Wooster · Wooster, OH | $48,903 | $23,458 | $12,512 | 59.5% |
| The College of Wooster reports median earnings of $48,903 for its History graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $23,458. | |||||
| 38 | DePaul University · Chicago, IL | $48,857 | $30,902 | $27,359 | 75.9% |
| With an admission rate of 76%, DePaul University ranks 276th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 39 | University of Wisconsin-Whitewater · Whitewater, WI | $48,693 | $14,158 | $8,440 | 85.7% |
| University of Wisconsin-Whitewater posts median earnings of $48,693 for its History graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $14,158. | |||||
| 40 | University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee · Milwaukee, WI | $48,442 | $15,014 | $10,329 | 90.7% |
| A cohort of 41 graduates in the earnings cohort underpins the median earnings of $48,442 that University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee reports for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 41 | University of Minnesota-Morris · Morris, MN | $48,067 | $8,837 | $1,694 | 74.9% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left University of Minnesota-Morris with a median of $18,995 in federal loans, and the school's History graduates earned a median of $48,067 four years after completing. | |||||
| 42 | University of Nebraska-Lincoln · Lincoln, NE | $47,944 | $17,747 | $12,751 | 87.5% |
| University of Nebraska-Lincoln reports median federal debt of $20,880 among History completers who borrowed, and its graduates earned a median of $47,944 four years after completing. | |||||
| 43 | University of Wisconsin-River Falls · River Falls, WI | $47,891 | $14,054 | $8,472 | 81.7% |
| An average net price of $14,054 coincides with University of Wisconsin-River Falls's rank of 638th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 44 | University of Nebraska at Kearney · Kearney, NE | $47,590 | $16,242 | $13,066 | 89.5% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left University of Nebraska at Kearney with a median of $19,500 in federal loans, while its History graduates earned a median of $47,590 four years after completing. | |||||
| 45 | Michigan State University · East Lansing, MI | $47,224 | $19,680 | $7,068 | 84.8% |
| Michigan State University reports median earnings of $47,224 for its History graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 52 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 46 | Grand Valley State University · Allendale, MI | $47,218 | $16,317 | $12,272 | 83.0% |
| With an admission rate of 83%, Grand Valley State University posts median federal debt of $25,524 among History completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 47 | Western Illinois University · Macomb, IL | $47,084 | $12,937 | $6,941 | 71.2% |
| Western Illinois University ranks 47th on this list and reports an average net price of $12,937. | |||||
| 48 | University of Akron Main Campus · Akron, OH | $46,973 | $13,946 | $10,413 | 59.7% |
| University of Akron Main Campus posts median earnings of $46,973 for its History graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate is 60%. | |||||
| 49 | Western Michigan University · Kalamazoo, MI | $46,909 | $15,273 | $5,263 | 84.6% |
| Western Michigan University reports median earnings of $46,909 for its History graduates four years after completing, alongside a median federal debt of $29,000 among History completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 50 | University of Iowa · Iowa City, IA | $46,819 | $22,531 | $15,316 | 83.6% |
| University of Iowa admits 84% of applicants and posts median earnings of $46,819 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 51 | Southern Illinois University Edwardsville · Edwardsville, IL | $46,814 | $14,889 | $8,483 | 97.5% |
| Southern Illinois University Edwardsville ranks 51st on this list, with an average net price of $8,483 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 52 | Columbia College · Columbia, MO | $46,794 | $22,715 | $23,967 | Not reported |
| Columbia College, a private nonprofit institution in Columbia, shows median earnings of $46,794 for its History graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $22,715. | |||||
| 53 | Kent State University at Kent · Kent, OH | $46,781 | $20,787 | $15,280 | 86.3% |
| Kent State University at Kent carries a median federal debt of $25,125 among History completers who borrowed and ranks 415th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 54 | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · Champaign, IL | $46,718 | $14,355 | $2,038 | 42.4% |
| University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign reports median earnings of $46,718 for its History graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 42%. | |||||
| 55 | South Dakota State University · Brookings, SD | $46,502 | $19,841 | $14,266 | 98.3% |
| South Dakota State University ranks 55th on this list and shows an average net price of $19,841. | |||||
| 56 | University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point · Stevens Point, WI | $46,309 | $14,559 | $8,833 | 91.8% |
| University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point posts median earnings of $46,309 for its History graduates four years after completing, alongside a median federal debt of $20,375 among History completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 57 | Ohio University-Main Campus · Athens, OH | $46,101 | $21,637 | $15,673 | 85.0% |
| Ohio University-Main Campus admits 85% of applicants and ranks 325th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 58 | Wichita State University · Wichita, KS | $46,090 | $13,194 | $9,734 | 94.0% |
| Wichita State University reports median earnings of $46,090 for its History graduates four years after completing, with a school-wide median federal debt of $20,500 across all of the school's borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 59 | Northern Illinois University · Dekalb, IL | $46,086 | $13,391 | $10,126 | 69.8% |
| Northern Illinois University ranks 59th on this list, with an average net price of $10,126 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 60 | Luther College · Decorah, IA | $45,737 | $23,097 | $12,517 | 71.5% |
| Luther College, a private nonprofit institution in Decorah, shows median earnings of $45,737 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 61 | University of Illinois Springfield · Springfield, IL | $45,641 | $9,833 | $5,778 | 85.9% |
| University of Illinois Springfield reports median earnings of $45,641 for its History graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $9,833. | |||||
| 62 | University of South Dakota · Vermillion, SD | $45,096 | $19,858 | $14,921 | 98.8% |
| Admitting 99% of applicants, University of South Dakota shows median federal debt of $25,000 among its History completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 63 | Augustana College · Rock Island, IL | $45,048 | $22,736 | $15,787 | 62.7% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Rock Island, Augustana College ranks 1049th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 64 | University of Wisconsin-Green Bay · Green Bay, WI | $44,899 | $13,369 | $9,144 | 88.6% |
| University of Wisconsin-Green Bay posts median earnings of $44,899 for its History graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 24 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 65 | Indiana University-Indianapolis · Indianapolis, IN | $44,850 | $11,668 | $5,701 | 76.4% |
| Indiana University-Indianapolis carries an average net price of $5,701 for families earning under $30,000, and its History graduates four years after completing earn a median of $44,850. | |||||
| 66 | Ashland University · Ashland, OH | $44,543 | $21,988 | $16,489 | 76.4% |
| Ashland University shows median federal debt of $26,734 among its History completers who borrowed, and its graduates four years after completing earn a median of $44,543. | |||||
| 67 | Wright State University-Main Campus · Dayton, OH | $44,397 | $15,415 | $11,952 | 96.3% |
| Wright State University-Main Campus ranks 67th on this list and reports an average net price of $15,415. | |||||
| 68 | University of Nebraska at Omaha · Omaha, NE | $44,068 | $13,441 | $10,534 | 87.0% |
| With an admission rate of 87%, University of Nebraska at Omaha reports median earnings of $44,068 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 69 | University of Minnesota-Duluth · Duluth, MN | $43,766 | $18,743 | $7,256 | 88.8% |
| An average net price of $7,256 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median federal debt of $22,881 among University of Minnesota-Duluth's History completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 70 | Wittenberg University · Springfield, OH | $43,712 | $18,649 | $17,609 | 72.4% |
| Wittenberg University shows median earnings of $43,712 for its History graduates four years after completing, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans. | |||||
| 71 | University of Michigan-Flint · Flint, MI | $43,537 | $7,007 | $1,517 | 70.5% |
| University of Michigan-Flint ranks 290th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $7,007. | |||||
| 72 | Truman State University · Kirksville, MO | $43,405 | $12,780 | $6,046 | 83.8% |
| Truman State University posts median earnings of $43,405 for its History graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 23 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 73 | Cleveland State University · Cleveland, OH | $42,859 | $14,764 | $11,958 | 91.3% |
| Cleveland State University reports median earnings of $42,859 for its History graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $14,764. | |||||
| 74 | University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire · Eau Claire, WI | $42,806 | $16,550 | $10,270 | 82.3% |
| University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire admits 82% of applicants and carries an average net price of $10,270 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 75 | Saginaw Valley State University · University Center, MI | $42,803 | $10,775 | $9,844 | 72.1% |
| Saginaw Valley State University ranks 75th on this list, with an average net price of $9,844 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 76 | Muskingum University · New Concord, OH | $42,785 | $19,532 | $14,684 | 81.8% |
| Muskingum University, a private nonprofit university in New Concord, posts median earnings of $42,785 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 77 | St Olaf College · Northfield, MN | $42,538 | $23,874 | $10,404 | 48.3% |
| St Olaf College carries an Azimuth composite rank of 978th among nonprofit four-year institutions and an admission rate of 48%. | |||||
| 78 | University of Wisconsin-Parkside · Kenosha, WI | $42,349 | $11,772 | $7,425 | 75.4% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $20,492 in federal loans at University of Wisconsin-Parkside, where the History cohort numbered 11 graduates. | |||||
| 79 | Drake University · Des Moines, IA | $42,256 | $29,127 | $25,824 | 63.9% |
| Drake University reports median earnings of $42,256 for its History graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $29,127. | |||||
| 80 | Drury University · Springfield, MO | $41,996 | $20,831 | $18,759 | 57.6% |
| Drury University ranks 80th on this list and shows median federal debt of $25,125 among History completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 81 | University of Missouri-St Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $41,378 | $15,071 | $13,031 | 62.7% |
| University of Missouri-St Louis admits 63% of applicants and posts median earnings of $41,378 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 82 | Central Michigan University · Mount Pleasant, MI | $40,918 | $17,597 | $12,185 | 89.8% |
| Central Michigan University carries an Azimuth composite rank of 414th among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $12,185 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 83 | Missouri Western State University · Saint Joseph, MO | $40,716 | $13,251 | $11,243 | Not reported |
| Missouri Western State University carries an average net price of $13,251 and shows median federal debt of $19,968 across all of the school's borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 84 | Eastern Illinois University · Charleston, IL | $40,597 | $12,786 | $9,828 | 65.4% |
| Eastern Illinois University reports median earnings of $40,597 for its History graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $12,786. | |||||
| 85 | Baldwin Wallace University · Berea, OH | $39,968 | $27,603 | $21,296 | 75.7% |
| Baldwin Wallace University, a private nonprofit university in Berea, reports median earnings of $39,968 for its History graduates four years after completing, with 11 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 86 | Eastern Michigan University · Ypsilanti, MI | $39,709 | $15,407 | $13,250 | 79.6% |
| Eastern Michigan University ranks 86th on this list and shows an average net price of $13,250 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 87 | Ripon College · Ripon, WI | $38,623 | $20,216 | $15,712 | 79.8% |
| Ripon College admits 80% of applicants and its History completers who borrowed left with a median federal debt of $26,838 among History completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 88 | Missouri State University-Springfield · Springfield, MO | $38,485 | $17,613 | $13,718 | 90.5% |
| Missouri State University-Springfield sits at 589th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside median earnings of $38,485 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 89 | Denison University · Granville, OH | $38,289 | $40,007 | $16,656 | 17.4% |
| Denison University posts an admission rate of 17% and an average net price of $40,007. | |||||
| 90 | University of Toledo · Toledo, OH | $37,964 | $17,249 | $13,524 | 92.0% |
| University of Toledo reports median earnings of $37,964 for its History graduates four years after completing, and a median federal debt of $22,250 among History completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 91 | Franciscan University of Steubenville · Steubenville, OH | $37,605 | $23,589 | $19,696 | 58.4% |
| Franciscan University of Steubenville ranks 91st on this list and carries an average net price of $19,696 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 92 | North Dakota State University-Main Campus · Fargo, ND | $36,848 | $15,543 | $9,370 | 95.0% |
| North Dakota State University-Main Campus admits 95% of applicants, and its History graduates four years after completing earn a median of $36,848. | |||||
| 93 | Augustana University · Sioux Falls, SD | $36,848 | $23,894 | $18,746 | 67.8% |
| Augustana University sits at 943rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $23,894. | |||||
| 94 | Simpson College · Indianola, IA | $36,848 | $21,936 | $17,941 | 86.2% |
| Simpson College reports median earnings of $36,848 for its History graduates four years after completing, with 13 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 95 | Missouri University of Science and Technology · Rolla, MO | $36,132 | $16,298 | $10,912 | 72.6% |
| Missouri University of Science and Technology ranks 95th on this list and shows an average net price of $10,912 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 96 | University of Michigan-Dearborn · Dearborn, MI | $35,060 | $9,492 | $7,211 | 55.6% |
| University of Michigan-Dearborn posts an admission rate of 56% and sits at 88th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 97 | Northern Michigan University · Marquette, MI | $34,318 | $14,085 | $7,697 | 84.0% |
| Northern Michigan University reports median earnings of $34,318 for its History graduates four years after completing, with 15 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 98 | John Carroll University · University Heights, OH | $33,993 | $28,746 | $19,945 | 80.9% |
| A private nonprofit university in University Heights, John Carroll University ranks 98th on this list and carries an average net price of $28,746. | |||||
| 99 | North Central College · Naperville, IL | $32,925 | $21,044 | $12,507 | 77.3% |
| North Central College admits 77% of applicants and shows median earnings of $32,925 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 100 | Carroll University · Waukesha, WI | $32,382 | $15,193 | $15,718 | 66.8% |
| Carroll University ranks 748th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside a History earnings median of $32,382 four years after completing. | |||||
| 101 | Carthage College · Kenosha, WI | $32,382 | $26,565 | $23,293 | 87.1% |
| Carthage College posts an average net price of $23,293 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 101st on this list. | |||||
| 102 | Bradley University · Peoria, IL | $30,771 | $22,719 | $17,269 | 76.8% |
| Bradley University reports median earnings of $30,771 for its History graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 77%. | |||||
| 103 | Hanover College · Hanover, IN | $30,771 | $21,829 | $16,832 | 83.7% |
| Hanover College ranks 863rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $21,829. | |||||
| 104 | Roosevelt University · Chicago, IL | $30,409 | $20,194 | $18,018 | 97.2% |
| Roosevelt University admits 97% of applicants and shows median earnings of $30,409 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 105 | University of Wisconsin-Platteville · Platteville, WI | $29,832 | $16,032 | $9,009 | 89.4% |
| University of Wisconsin-Platteville posts an average net price of $9,009 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 105th on this list. | |||||
| 106 | Purdue University Northwest · Hammond, IN | $29,685 | $6,079 | $1,432 | 72.4% |
| Purdue University Northwest reports median earnings of $29,685 for its History graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $6,079. | |||||
| 107 | University of Central Missouri · Warrensburg, MO | $29,685 | $14,462 | $10,965 | 63.8% |
| University of Central Missouri ranks 593rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 64% of applicants. | |||||
| 108 | Walsh University · North Canton, OH | $29,608 | $20,493 | $20,458 | 70.7% |
| Walsh University shows median earnings of $29,608 for its History graduates four years after completing, with 5 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 109 | Gustavus Adolphus College · Saint Peter, MN | $28,236 | $22,900 | $12,015 | 61.0% |
| Gustavus Adolphus College reports median earnings of $28,236 for its History graduates four years after completing, with 17 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 110 | Lindenwood University · Saint Charles, MO | $28,055 | $19,638 | $15,678 | 56.8% |
| Lindenwood University admits 57% of applicants and posts an average net price of $19,638. | |||||
| 111 | Lawrence University · Appleton, WI | $28,019 | $23,401 | $10,419 | 63.9% |
| Lawrence University ranks 1332nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $10,419 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 112 | Indiana State University · Terre Haute, IN | $27,765 | $10,873 | $6,455 | 80.8% |
| Indiana State University, a public university in Terre Haute, shows median earnings of $27,765 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 113 | Aquinas College · Grand Rapids, MI | $27,476 | $16,626 | $10,725 | 89.9% |
| Aquinas College ranks 113th on this list and reports an average net price of $16,626. | |||||
| 114 | Aurora University · Aurora, IL | $27,048 | $18,838 | $14,525 | 80.9% |
| Aurora University posts median earnings of $27,048 for its History graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 81%. | |||||
| 115 | Saint Norbert College · De Pere, WI | $27,048 | $26,172 | $19,721 | 85.7% |
| Saint Norbert College carries an average net price of $19,721 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 1390th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 116 | North Park University · Chicago, IL | $26,896 | $16,948 | $14,845 | 68.5% |
| North Park University reports median earnings of $26,896 for its History graduates four years after completing, with 6 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 117 | Winona State University · Winona, MN | $26,353 | $17,503 | $10,224 | 75.5% |
| Winona State University admits 75% of applicants and shows an average net price of $17,503. | |||||
| 118 | Beloit College · Beloit, WI | $26,353 | $21,526 | $15,176 | 63.0% |
| Beloit College ranks 1102nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $26,353 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 119 | Washburn University · Topeka, KS | $25,194 | $15,280 | $20,310 | Not reported |
| Washburn University, a public university in Topeka, carries an average net price of $20,310 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 120 | Monmouth College · Monmouth, IL | $25,194 | $17,133 | $12,483 | 90.9% |
| Monmouth College ranks 120th on this list and posts an admission rate of 91%. | |||||
| 121 | Valparaiso University · Valparaiso, IN | $24,035 | $18,578 | $11,043 | 89.4% |
| Valparaiso University reports median earnings of $24,035 for its History graduates four years after completing, with 6 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 122 | Northwest Missouri State University · Maryville, MO | $24,035 | $16,244 | $13,176 | 86.1% |
| Northwest Missouri State University, a public university in Maryville, has an average net price of $16,244 and an admission rate of 86%. | |||||
| 123 | Calvin University · Grand Rapids, MI | $24,035 | $22,992 | $19,281 | 70.9% |
| Calvin University ranks 1140th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows median earnings of $24,035 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 124 | Black Hills State University · Spearfish, SD | $22,824 | $15,911 | $11,863 | 96.3% |
| Black Hills State University admits 96% of applicants and reports an average net price of $11,863 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 125 | Indiana University-South Bend · South Bend, IN | $21,964 | $8,653 | $4,637 | 83.8% |
| Indiana University-South Bend ranks 125th on this list, with median earnings of $21,964 four years after completing and an average net price of $8,653. | |||||
| 126 | Heidelberg University · Tiffin, OH | $21,508 | $20,556 | $18,217 | 85.8% |
| Heidelberg University reports an average net price of $18,217 for families earning under $30,000 and a cohort of 14 History graduates. | |||||
| 127 | Saint Louis University · Saint Louis, MO | $20,140 | $24,398 | $22,501 | 75.0% |
| Saint Louis University ranks 498th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside median earnings of $20,140 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 128 | Youngstown State University · Youngstown, OH | $20,140 | $12,767 | $9,328 | 84.5% |
| Youngstown State University, a public university in Youngstown, shows an admission rate of 84% and an average net price of $12,767. | |||||
| 129 | Wartburg College · Waverly, IA | $18,154 | $32,908 | $21,688 | 75.8% |
| Wartburg College reports median earnings of $18,154 for its History graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $21,688 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 130 | Shawnee State University · Portsmouth, OH | $16,169 | $14,381 | $12,310 | Not reported |
| Shawnee State University ranks 710th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $16,169 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 131 | University of Mount Union · Alliance, OH | $16,169 | $23,280 | $16,786 | 78.2% |
| University of Mount Union reports an average net price of $23,280 and median earnings of $16,169 for its History graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 132 | Augsburg University · Minneapolis, MN | $15,288 | $23,873 | $21,318 | 82.0% |
| Augsburg University ranks 132nd on this list, with median earnings of $15,288 four years after completing and an admission rate of 82%. | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their History graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the Midwest appear. The figures cover federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. For 41 of the 132 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The gap between first-ranked Northwestern University and second-ranked University of Notre Dame is $8,543.
Related rankings
- History Programs
- Best Colleges in the Midwest
- History Programs in the Northeast
- History Programs in the South
- History Programs in the West